We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice in Medora”
Review of Rough Riders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rough Riders Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Medora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Friendly staff meets updated facilities, yields a nice stay. 'Cave' shower was really unique, loved it. My tips, after dinner take a 5 minute ride to the National Park. No fee then, Buffalo are grazing, and if you luck out - some of the best sunsets you'll ever see. Since the hotel is very central, take an early morning stroll when things are quiet and the air crystal clear and cool. Restaurant had a nice menu, but the pork chop 'specialty' was way too salty. Try the local breakfast café just a block from the hotel. Nice menu, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were looking for a place to stay to meet up with family. There were 4 adults, and 3 kids, so we wanted a place with a continental breakfast. This hotel was the top rated hotel in Medora, and its amenities on Tripadvisor listed a free breakfast. That was a main reason for booking here. Needless to say, we were very disappointed. We could have brought our own food for breakfast, had we known, especially with the fridge in the room (that was a bonus).

Other than that, the hotel is very nice, very clean. Nice to have everything within walking distance. I would say it's overpriced, but we expected that, as it is in high season of any tourist town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDboy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is our third stay in the hotel in the past three years and the superior quality has remained steadfast over those years. The desk staff are friendly, with check in/out efficient. We finally stayed in the Theodore Roosevelt 501 room which not only has a strong sense of history. It is a spacious, very clean and neatly appointed corner room. The shower is beautifully tiled and quite large.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Nothing bad to say about this place. The room was beautiful and clean. Loved the shower. The hotel is centrally located to everything and just a block from the entrance to the Theodore Roosevelt National Park, South Unit. If you stay here, be sure to go to the Medora Musical! We loved that, too! No pool here, but my daughters said there's a deal with the Badlands Hotel down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Medora is a lovely Old West town (not too touristy) and the Rough Riders fits right in. It's a historic hotel, with a historic look, but the Tower Wing where we stayed was contemporary and very comfortable. Our Tower King room was good-sized with a large flat screen TV and large bathroom that had a nice tiled shower. Interestingly, there was no desk in the room, but this hotel probably doesn't get much business crowd, so this is no big deal. The room instead had two large chairs (most hotels these days only have one). The lobby area is pretty and fits in with the history. Staff are friendly and overall it's a well managed hotel (run by a foundation, and you should get the history of this unique relationship). The price is very reasonable.

The hotel is right in the center of Medora and you can do a historic walking tour of the town in about 30 minutes. Most people who stay here probably do so because of Theodore Roosevelt National Park, and the entrance to the South part of the park is only a 1/2 mile away. The hotel's restaurant is a solid fine dining experience. For breakfast they don't serve breakfast (at least in May), so you get a voucher for the Chuckwagon across the street which has an ample breakfast buffet. I'm glad we stayed in Medora and glad we stayed at such a good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Tower Wing don't have the history, but are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Rough Rider Hotel was beautiful. We had one of the historical rooms that was renovated recently. Beautiful accommodation, large shower, and large room that was very quiet even though it was on the main street. Great location if you want to wander through the town and basically right at the entrance to Theodore Roosevelt National Park. FANTASTIC RESTAURANT in the hotel. Wonderful, relaxing dinner. Food was outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WH6591246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I regret only booking for one night. There was more to do around town and in the park than I anticipated. In addition, the lobby of this hotel has an extensive collection of older books with an emphasis on Teddy Roosevelt which guests can sit and read. I would have loved to spend more time looking at these interesting books and presidential papers.

I stayed in the new tower. The room was nicely decorated and had an upscale shower and bath amenities. There was a refrigerator in the room but no desk. There was a hair dryer and iron + ironing board. The room was exceptionally clean. I slept well except for the sound of a tremendous thunderstorm during the night.

There is a fitness room with treadmill, elliptical, bike, and universal weight set. Each room has an interesting book about Teddy Roosevelt and historic photos as decorations.

The hotel does not include a breakfast.

Once you park at the hotel you can walk all around the town. You could ride your bicycle to the park entrance - it is just a few blocks from the hotel.

The hotel restaurant was expensive ($65 for just myself), but the food was exceptional. The quality of the food and preparation far surpassed anything else I could find on my Dakotas trip. My server (from Argentina) was very friendlyl and provided great recommendations (Canadian Walleye with asparagus and the toffee dessert).

I will return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rough Riders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Riders Hotel

Address: 301 Third Avenue, Medora, ND 58645
Region: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Medora
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Riders Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations with the feel of the old west. The historic Rough Riders Hotel offers Medora visitors 68 new Tower guest rooms with all the modern comforts and elevator access, as well as 8 fully updated historic rooms in the heart of downtown Medora. Rough Rider guests enjoy one of the most luxurious lodging options in the area and access to multiple outdoor swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with bedfinder AG so you can book your Rough Riders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing