We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for a very basic room”
Review of Amble Inn

Amble Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amble Inn
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Expensive for a very basic room”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The building is all new construction in 2011 with a rustic ambience. Clean but very basic accommodations. Quiet location, except for the trains that roll through at night. Pleasant owners, Mary and Doug. We thought it was expensive for what we got. $125/night with tax, and no breakfast included.
There was a good play area with a fire-pit, which would be good for a family group. But we are a retired couple and didn't use it.

Room Tip: We had Room 4, which was fine because a bit away from the street. There was a door to an adjoining r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williston, North Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Amble Inn and were not very impressed. We assumed that because it was a B & B that we would get breakfast or at the very least coffee but did not get either. The beds were very soft and the pillows were flat & lumpy. The footrests on the couch would not go up. We were told it was fine to bring our small (15 lb) dog, when we got there we were informed that she needed to be in her kennel all the time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bethany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a great Inn at a great price. The rooms are clean the bathrooms are big and it is walking distance from all the shops. The owners of the Inn are very nice and helpful. The office of the Inn is a bookstore that has great books on ND history as well as other great book some written by one of the owners of the Inn. If you are looking for a great room at a very good rate the Amble Inn is the place!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 70158104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Wonderful hosts, but door blew open all night due to poor construction, coffee maker missing parts, not a picture in the place and little decor. Framed pictures of horses, cows, buffalo, barns, cowboys and farms fill thrift shops across the US. Any would be appropriate and add charm. Not enough blankets for the winter. Since it is off-season, I would think they could borrow a blanket from an empty room. Outside our room the grounds were cluttered, but it is the off-season.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caribou1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earlham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Very comfortable and friendly place to stay in Medora. They have a variety of rooms from economical to deluxe. Doug and Mary are great hosts! I enjoy there humor and witty conversation. Doug is a published author and has a wealth of information about the area and the old west. Mary is very accomadating and will help make your stay very enjoyable (1 nite or 1 month) very flexible. The room are quiet and clean I highly reccomend them. Check out the bookstore also.

Room Tip: Check out the suite nice showers full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce_logemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a great place to stay in Medora. Doug and Mary are great hosts! Nice, quiet and very clean.
Highly recommend the Amble Inn. P.s. be sure to spend some time in the bookstore and browse the largest selection of Western books anywhere!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheriffBTJustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,099 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Getting a shower while camping can often be a problem. In Medora, Amble Inn rents out a room for you to use its shower. The water is hot and the room is very clean. You go to the Western Edge Books (an excellent bookstore, by the way) and make arrangements there. The bookstore is in front of the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Amble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble Inn

Property: Amble Inn
Address: 425 4th St., PO Box 466, Medora, ND 58645
Region: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Medora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing