We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish We Lived There!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Scarsdale, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wish We Lived There!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We've stayed at The Mansion three times and are making reservation to stay there again next month. You're assigned a butler, who drives you, makes reservations, and, in general makes you feel well cared for. The breakfasts are delicious, unusual, and healthy.It's set out as a buffet, but with a choice of menu for orders as well. There's stationery and calling cards imprinted with your name waiting for you in your room when you arrive. I love the artwork, a changing collection of local artists, in the hotel.And did I mention the open bar in the living-room? It all feels like home--a dream-home.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel--we've stayed on the fourth floor, but I would think that all the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    79
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
53
256
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and we absolutely loved it. The service was incredible! The front desk arranged for our dinner reservation and the butler drove us to and from the restaurant which was a really nice touch. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webby_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The service was fabulous at the Mansion- attentive, quick and pleasant. There were always people available for questions or requests and they even drove me to dinner one evening in the Land Rover (nice feature). The Mansion butlers were also great about making suggestions for dining in the local area. This place is a gem and is the only place I would consider staying when I visit Buffalo. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CATrvl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our recent stay at the MoDA confirmed our first experience here was not a fluke. From check-in to check-out every aspect of our stay was first class.

The staff was extremely attentive, helping facilitate the sale of our home via fax exchanges which went on through the night. Because of this (and the fact our 15 month old goes to sleep at 7), we could not go out to eat so they offered some menus from local establishments, picked up our dinner and presented it beautifully plated and on a rolling cart which we were able to use as our dining table.

We actually ate in our bathroom so as not to wake our son, which was not an unpleasant experience, as our room had a huge bathroom with massive windows and a seat ledge on the window. The bathroom was impeccably clean which helped make the experience a fun one.

The honor bar is stocked with a very nice selection, and the two drinks offered gratis between 5 and 7 is a very nice added feature. The breakfast included a variety of fresh fruit as well as other wholesome and tasty selections.

We would not hesitate to recommend the MoDA to anyone looking for a top notch place to stay while in Buffalo.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoANTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio, tx
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Gino is the hands on owner who helped us with our reservations. He also made wonderful suggestions for the best local food and it was! The hotel is an old Victorian mansion, that has been refurbished with great taste into a hotel. The art, all of which is for sale, is wonderful and the entire decor is tasteful and elegantly contemporary.
The bed was comfortable, the room was clean but the hanging closet in our room was small typical of that era. There was plenty of places to store your clothes however. The ceilings were high and the bathroom was spacious. A lovely continental breakfast was included and it was of excellent quality and elaborate. The staff was friendly and couldn't be more helpful and attentive. I would go back in a heart beat. it is truly a jewel and lot better than most hotels in Europe for half the price! There is more to do and see in Buffalo making it a very worthwhile destination with a great place to stay. We didn't even need a car as they provide transportation within a 3 mile radius.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texxval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The Mansion is located five minutes from the Peace Bridge. Upon arrival, two staff members immediately approached us and ushered our bags into the hotel--which effortlessly appeared in our room. Check-in was very smooth. The room was a reasonable size, the bathroom was clean and modern. I think the target decorating style is art deco and it suits the mansion well. The key outstanding feature of this hotel is the staff -- they are very attentive and some are referred to as "butlers"--and these people really multi-task. There is a nice buffet breakfast in the morning in the sunny front room. And yes, WiFi is available in the front library/sitting room and is included in the room fee. The hotel has a driving service so the staff with pick you and drop you off at various locations within a reasonable zone. There is a cool restaurant across the street that has vegan options and direct trade coffees (you have to order your meal at the bar at lunchtime). The hotel is located in an area that is somewhat residential, but you can reach key areas of interest within minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara area
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Having enjoyed the Mansion a few years ago, when we were now looking for a quick get away spot to celebrate our 30th Anniversary, I thought of the the Mansion on Delaware. We had a very nice stay in a lovely premium room and a great breakfast with ample fruit, cheese, baked goods etc., reminiscent of what we've had in Europe. The butler who drove us to Hutch's (always Great!) for dinner was very personable and it is wonderful to dine & not worry about driving! Check in was great and quick with the fellow at the desk.
The only problem was that I was continually waking all night since our room faced Edward St. and the windows are not sound proof at all therefore I heard every truck rumbling down the road and every siren on Delaware as though they were in our room! In the morning I seemed to remember the same happening last time when our room faced Delaware! Wish I had remembered when i booked !!
Checkout was no problem but the woman (not the young woman butler who is very nice)sitting at the desk barely looked up from her computer to say thanks!
Everyone else was very kind.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.3 mi away
The Westin Buffalo
The Westin Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Property: The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202-1604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing