We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mansion lives up to its reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012

From the moment my wife and I arrived, we were greeted by name, given a "royal" treatment by Butlers Kent and Marty, and even though we arrived late at 10PM, treated to complimentary cocktails (well made Manhattens!) and Kent arranged for dinner to be picked up and brought to us in the Mansion's Parlor where it was served with china, silverware and white linens. Further, Kent jumped on the phone at our request, despite the late hour, and secured a wonderful full day's tour of Niagara Falls that began and ended at the doorsteps of the Mansion. The following night Kent again arranged for a special dinner served to us in the Mansion's parlor and we were tended to by none other than Gino, the Mansion's owner. At the staff's suggestion we were booked for a excellent tour of the Martin Residence designed a century ago by Frank Lloyd Wright and personally driven to and picked up from the 2 hour tour by very knowledgeable and charming Butler Renee who explained the beautiful boulevards and parks designed by the Olmstead Brothers along the way there and drove us through the fun artsy shopping areas on the way back. Proprietor Gino has selected an excellent staff (that also included Jeff and Josh who were always driving us here and there as well as tending to our needs while relaxing between outings in the Mansion) that seems to intuitively anticipate every need and desire of its guests. We couldn't have been more impressed and appreciative of the constant courtesies extended to us. As Kent would say more than once, "we intend to spoil you at all times". Yes, the Mansion is also very glamorous and beautiful, and the linens divine and the rooms wonderfully unique, but the manner of treatment we received from the staff was the reason we would absolutely return given the ocassion in a heartbeat and look forward to meeting our friends the butlers at the Mansion again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWFredricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

It was our 19th Anniversary and they made us feel welcomed. The cookies in the room were great! They had a nice keurig coffee maker in the room. They have happy hour from 5 to 7 but we missed it because of our plans. The Butler service was awesome! You parked your car and they took you anywhere you want to go and picked you up. This was nice because you didn't have to worry about getting lost. The only way they need to improve is the internet. The DSL did not cut it. High speed Wifi would be a great improvement to this place. Other than that I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photogal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We were in Buffalo last week on business. The Mansion on Delaware is a lovely property (FAR superior to anywhere else there). The common areas are warm and welcoming, the cocktail hour and breakfast set up are all nice additions. The staff is very attentive and very helpful with dining options. The hotel also has a house car that will deliver you and pick you up in a 5 mile area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The charm is in the attention to detail. My whole family stayed here (3 rooms), and we all had a great experience. This was my second time staying at this hotel. We really felt personally looked after. The beds were comfortable, and linens were nice too. You get what you pay for in service and comfort. By far, the nicest place to stay in Buffalo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed there this past weekend and frankly, while I found the staff nice and some of the accoutrement nice, nothing stood out as a "wow" for me. I have heard many people rave about the facility and staff, but saw nothing deserving of the praise being heeped on the place. Frankly, I believe the place is being propped up by the cumulative inferiority complex WNY'ers seem to have instilled as a defense mechanism when someone questions Buffalo and WNY in general as a city that can "compete" with any other. Let's face it - people rave about the chop house, but if you have been around and traveled, you quickly realize it too is an unremarkable experience, fuled by WNY'ers who crave relevence.

Don't get me wrong - the place has it's Victorian charms, quality bedding and a nice staff, but when you have bathroom tile pieced together in haphazard repair work and a certain "funk" lingering in the air on the floor you are sleeping on, you have to really question the validity of the claims propping this place up.

I am not disuading anyone from going there - try it yourself, then make your own decision. For the price, it is simply not the experience promised as, when I think of the other reviews read, I find it neither "magnificent" or "great", just not bad. I am holding out one hope - the staff was perhaps focusing all of it's energies on a large wedding party and perhaps this detracted from a superior experience.

Again, figure it our for yourselves....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecseps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

What a great place to stay if you are looking for class and a quiet night's sleep. Can't hear a thing outside your room. The place was immaculate and clean. Did I mention the Honor System bar? That's a place of class and integrity that attracts class. Oh, the cookies, they should market them! The best chocolate chunk cookies! The service was unbelievable. Your treated as if you were in your own home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is a magnificent hotel with excellent service including a limo ride to wherever you want to go and pick up when you are finished. If you have a rental and know the city then this is not necessary but it is available. The breakfast spread is impressive. The room was very quiet and well appointed including a sauna and modern shower. Location is also excellent if you need access to downtown or the waterfront and the hotel is easy to get to from the airport. There is also a (no charge) bar open during the day and evenings. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: This is not a big establishment so there are not a lot of rooms. Our room was on the top floor and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGTFMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.4 mi away
Curtiss Hotel
Curtiss Hotel
#11 of 25 in Buffalo
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Buffalo
The Westin Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202-1604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: £168 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing