We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stay in Buffalo”
Review of Parkside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkside House
Ranked #1 of 5 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Nice Stay in Buffalo”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B while visiting the Buffalo area. Our room was bright and cheery. The breakfasts were delicious. Chris did a great job catering to my husband's dislike of eggs while I enjoyed every last bite! I would definitely recommend the Parkside House.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ccpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
125
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed two nights in this very charming, comfortable and very clean B&B. We traveled to Buffalo for the annual Garden Walk and were looking for a place that was easily accessible to restaurants and shops along with the neighborhoods to see the gardens. We were very pleased with all aspects - especially the delicious breakfasts that Chris prepares. We definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I go to Buffalo for several days every summer and generally stay with a friend, but after noticing the website for Parkside House, decided to spend a night there. It was fun to be back in my old neighborhood, although it looks a lot better than it did 40 years ago. I spent a couple of hours just walking up and down the streets the day I arrived, looking at the historic homes and getting a good look at the Frank Lloyd Wright complex. Although I was a little sad to miss meeting the owner, Chris, who was away, I was well taken care of by his assistant, Bonnie. She showed me to my chosen room, the Woodward, facing the street with lots of big windows and wonderful light. The huge bed was comfy and luxurious, and the nice-sized seating area a big plus. Coming back to the house after dinner, I decided to sit on the cozy front porch, reflecting on my day and relaxing into the quiet. Next morning, it was just me at breakfast, and Bonnie served the most delicious blueberry pancakes I've ever had, along with fantastic bacon. I don't remember ever doing this, but I actually inquired after the recipe, and Bonnie was perfectly happy to tell me her secret. Besides sitting in a lovely neighborhood, the Parkside House is just down the street from the Darwin-Martin Complex and around the corner from the fabulous Buffalo Zoo. It's an easy drive over to Hertel Avenue, a happening part of town with fun restaurants and shops, or through Delaware Park into Elmwood Village and downtown. I'd recommend this gorgeous B&B to anyone staying in Buffalo and wanting to get a taste of its many charms. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but I loved the Woodward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you want to be 20 minutes or less away from the best of what Buffalo has to offer, the Parkside House is it. The ever-improving zoo is a 5-minute walk away as is one of architect Frank Lloyd Wright's crowning glories, The Darwin Martin House. Art galleries, great restaurants, nice bars and coffee shops and unique boutiques are close at hand with lots of on-street parking. And if you ever wanted to feel like you were staying at friend's lovingly restored Victorian home with a beckoning porch on a shady tree-lined city street, your gracious and smiling host Chris and his warmly tasteful surroundings will make you feel it's mission accomplished. Wonderful breakfasts -- the mascarpone-filled waffles topped with warm berries is a fave. Inviting bedrooms that retain their old charm alongside contemporary updates -- The Summit with its view of the backyard and king-sized bed is our first choice although The Jewett's large bathroom is hard to resist. Chris is a hometown guy who is in the know on what eateries are worth trying and what festivals are in town, and he could probably be a docent on the side at the Martin House. There are brochures available to further fill you in. We especially appreciated the addition of a mini fridge stocked with water in the hallway near the rooms. Why stay at a generic Marriott when you can enjoy a home away from home that is located in the heart of this great city that is suddenly being rediscovered as a destination spot if recent newspaper articles are to be believed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Parkside House is a beautiful destination for those wanting to avoid the hotel chain experience!
Everything you need is here! Easy access to airport, cultural spots, and fine restaurants, but that's just the beginning.
Chris Lavey, the innkeeper, takes care of your every need. Staying at this warm and inviting home is like taking a step back in time while enjoying ALL the modern amenities of today and some really fabulous gourmet breakfasts!
If this isn't enough, there are two beautiful porches you can lounge on and read in the quiet of a beautiful tree-lined residential neighborhood!
Don't think twice at this one. Book it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conservator2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Chris, the innkeeper, phoned us about an hour ahead of our ETA to confirm someone would be at the house to greet us if he was called away. Indeed, we were met by Tammy, the extraordinarily cordial housekeeper who showed us around and made sure we were comfortable. (In the recent heat wave, prior to our arrival, she'd turned on our room's air-conditioner so we had a cool place to relax after a long hot day on the road) It was clear right away that Tammy takes great pride in her work. We chose the Parkside for its location, close to Delaware Park & the Darwin Martin House. Because it's a couple of blocks from main thoroughfares, but in a historic residential neighborhood, the Parkside proved convenient to our destinations and quiet when we returned from sightseeing. It's obvious throughout the house that Chris has devoted a lot of research and care to the renovations. He's an enthusiastic ambassador for the Parkside community and Buffalo in general. Having stayed in six B&Bs in the previous couple of weeks; and in a variety of B&Bs over the yrs; we give the Parkside excellent marks. Chris was particularly accommodating of some of our dietary needs. Also, rather than overwhelming guests with a "groaning board" breakfast buffet, Chris serves an ample meal featuring an individual hot entree as well as juice, fresh fruit, coffee/tea. Compared to the other B&Bs where we've stayed, Chris serves breakfast @ 8:30 at the dining table that seats 6 (we had a "full house" the first morning; and 5 people the second). Gathered together, we all lingered in lively conversation discovering the varied reasons we all came to Bfllo (from the Midwest, New England, and Scandinavia!)

Room Tip: We stayed in theJewett Room. The bedroom was just the right size for the two of us; and offered sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Beautiful home with everything you might need -- excellent location in Parkside neighborhood, decor mixes antiques with modern amenities, variety of bedroom suites, vast front porch plus intimate back balcony, gourmet hot breakfast entree with fresh fruit/snacks available 24/7, fine library of Frank Lloyd Wright-related books, great piano, easy parking, hospitality-plus from host! We recommend this B&B to all!

Room Tip: Wide variety in bathroom amenities and room size so select suite that matches your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
3.4 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
4.3 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
3.3 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside House

Property: Parkside House
Address: 462 Woodward Ave, Buffalo, NY 14214-1940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing