We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Darwin Martin House”

Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex
Ranked #1 of 151 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Martin House Complex (Buffalo, NY, 1903-05) exemplifies Frank Lloyd Wright’s Prairie House ideal and ranks as one of his finest residential works. Designed for Larkin Soap Company executive, Darwin D. Martin, the complex is a one-of-a-kind composition consisting of the main Martin House, the smaller Barton House, a carriage house with chauffeur’s quarters and stables, a glass-roofed conservatory linked to the main house by a 100-foot pergola, and a gardener’s cottage integrated architectural masterwork. Tours explore the buildings, surrounding landscape, and an extensive collection of art glass and furnishings, all designed by Wright, which together form a totally integrated architectural masterwork. We welcome you to this National Historic Landmark.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love Darwin Martin House”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I really love visiting Darwin Martin House; I've been a number of times. The extended tour is definitely worth the extra money. Love to see the work they are doing on it; it just keeps getting better and better. The visitors' centre is also great. I would go back anytime!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Althena80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    155
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
366 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“You probably need to be into this sort of thing to enjoy it”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We've visited several FLW-designed houses and enjoy stories about his architectural design as well as the backstory of the home owners. If you like that idea you will probably like this place, but if that isn't your cup of tea you might just ride by, take a look and keep going. It's not cheap to get in here - $17/head for adults before discounts - and the tour is only for an hour. That isn't a lot of entertainment for the money, but you can feel better that the money is going to the restoration project and hopefully you will agree that preserving history is a good cause.

The place has some ongoing renovation and because some of it was torn down over the years some of the renovations are new builds versus restoration.

We enjoyed this place but recognize this type of attraction is not for everyone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank caryon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique home - worth a visit”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great tour of the Martin House complex. We went on the Restoration tour with Barry as our guide. He was informative and had great knowledge and enthusiasm. It starts in the welcome pavilion with a short video and background of the family and architect. The entire tour is about 2 hours with most of it walking/standing on the grounds and throughout the homes. The complex is set in a residential neighbourhood, with easy to find street parking. The restoration is still in process, but well worth a visit to experience being in an early example of a Frank Lloyd Wright home.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone-SAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flw1, Manager at Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
The Restoration Tour is one of our Specialty Tours and we are glad you enjoyed it! This tour visits areas of the property unique to the Restoration Tour including the basement and verandah of the Martin House. We hope you will return to experience one of the other tours we offer. Thanks again for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

You'll see from most reviews that this stunning house is not to be missed. Visited on a Sunday afternoon and it was quite quiet, only 6 or 7 in our group. Guide was a real treat, knew her history and architecture. Parking was on the street and easy although I imagine it's impossible when the place is busy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“best preserved and presented of all the Wright houses open to public”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Eve my grandchildren ages 8 and 12 enjoyed and followed the good tour guide and film at the house, every year it gets even better as the tackle further aspects of its renovation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freddiemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex also viewed

 

Been to Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing