We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffalo's Grain Elevators”

Queen City Ferry Company
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Queen City Ferry Company offers a water ferry service between Buffalo's inner and outer harbor. Board the Queen City Ferry at the Central Wharf next to the Buffalo Naval Park. The Ferry travels to the Outer Harbor, Erie Basin Marina and along the Buffalo River to Riverfest Park in Buffalo's old First Ward district. Operations are daily from 12:00pm-8pm mid May through September.Round trip takes approximately one (1) hour. Tickets are priced at $8 for adults, $6 for children. Narragted Buffalo River History Tours are available daily from 10:30am-12pm for $14 adults and $10 for children.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buffalo's Grain Elevators”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I've been wanting a close up view of Buffalo's grain elevators and got it. Our guide, Rick, was a wonderful historian and was eager to answer any questions- although he didn't leave much out. We learned a lot about the beginning of Buffalo and it's role in history. The ride was comfortable and pleasant-a good view from every seat. It's not a large boat, so everyone could get personal attention. Rick even told us about other places to visit that I hadn't known about. There were a variety of ages on board and when it was over, everyone raved about how interesting it had been. It was well worth it and I wouldn't mind doing it again sometime later.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buffalo, N.Y.Top things to do”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

If you want a great tour into the history of Buffalo you can't miss this tour! One of the most informative tours I have ever been on. The most value for your money. Owners are accomodating and take very good care of their customers. Best place to learn how Buffalo got it's start. As a person who works in Activities for a life care community, it's simple to say i would bring my residents back. THEY LOVED IT!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Time with Girl Scouts”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Brownie Girl Scout Troop #31310 from Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, O.P. took a historical boat ride while earning their "Community" badge. Rick, our tour guide, was absolutely wonderful in sharing his knowledge of Buffalo's history at a level the girl scouts could understand, while making it interesting for the adults as well. What a great perspective learning about the past from the Buffalo River. It was affordable and everyone was satisfied!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome way to spend and afternoon in Buffalo”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Paid the full fare ($12 or $14) and took both the Inner and Outer Buffalo Harbor tours. The day was beautiful and this trip was great. A wonderful value for the money. The tour lasted about 2 1/2 hours and I would recommend this to anyone !

You are free to select the inner or outer tours and I think the cost is $8 round trip but I would really recoomend the entire tour if you have the time.

We will be back next year

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank bap518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Always eager to visit a new area and getting to know it in-depth. Had such an experience last week, when we visited Buffalo, NY. On our first day there, we walked around the Erie canal entrance to the lake front. Was awe-struck by the naval ships and river front walkway. The next day, we returned to tour the canal and harbor at length on the Queen City Ferry. Had a GREAT time! Captain Rick and First Mate Drew were friendly and jovial, pointing out many areas of interest as we passed, giving us lots of background and current information on what we were seeing. The boat ride itself was exhilarating! Would recommend this to anyone, including families w/kids and elderly.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank JackSchitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Queen City Ferry Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing