We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filed under 'Things that make you go Hmmmm ...'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicagoland, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Filed under 'Things that make you go Hmmmm ...'”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I don’t make it a habit to review Hamptons because what you see is what you get – as good a quality room for your buck as you’re going to get these days. And the downtown Buffalo property was no exception. The exterior of the hotel was impressive-looking and in a great location. We were here for a Sabres game and the arena is only minutes away. Our room was fine and the boys loved the pool (tho watch out for the slick tiles!). The staff was friendly. Nothing to complain about.

But we had something to file under the category, "Things That Make You Go Hmmmm."

Prior to check-in I pulled up the van to the carport area in front of the hotel entrance, and I swear I wasn’t standing outside the vehicle for more than 5 seconds when a guy RUNS over from across the street and starts begging for money. It’s 10 degrees out with flurries and a nasty wind, and I’m getting hassled pretty good. When I make it clear he’s got the wrong guy, he’s ticked off and glaring at me, but he eventually walks away.

Fine. Didn't expect that to be my Welcome to Buffalo moment, but that’s certainly not the first or last time I’ve been pan-handled.

But after check-in I noticed the hotel’s security protocol is as tight as I’ve ever seen at a chain hotel, and especially at a Hampton. You need to roll down your car window and swipe your room card in order to enter the hotel’s parking lot. Inside the hotel, you also need to swipe your card while in the elevator before the car will take you up to any floor from the lobby level.

Don’t get me wrong: Those are great security features. I wish everybody did this. But they don't. And 5 seconds in and I’m getting full-court pressed by a bum at a hotel that is locked down like Fort Knox? Let’s just say I played it a little more heads-up than usual during my stay here.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MinivanMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologize about the immediate approach of someone obviously unwanted when you first arrived. We take every measure possible to make sure that our guests are safe and comfortable at our hotel. That includes elevator and parking access to our hotel guests only via the guest room key. We truly appreciate you choosing us for your hotel accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    284
    62
    15
    18
See reviews for
327
364
62
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I was attending a trade show at the Adam's Mark hotel, just a 1/2 mile away and after seeing that location I made the call NOT to stay there and booked a room at the Hampton Inn. Not sure how long this location has been open but it seemed brand new. Parking was very good with ample parking right near the entrance. No dark parking garage. Front lobby was very nice and the front desk staff were nicely dressed and very pleasant. Elevators and hallways were very clean and well kept. Hallways were wide and well lit.

My room was very nice. Plenty of space, good lighting, a big bathroom and a wonderful bed. The large flat panel TV, well lit room and large working desk and comfortable chair was appreciated.

I'm on the road over 130 days per year so I spend way too much time in hotels all over the globe. If only all the hotels I stay at were this nice, the travel would be so much less taxing.

I HIGHLY recommend this Hampton Inn and will stay here any time in in the area for meetings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFish71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for making the decision to stay with us. You are a well versed seasoned traveler and it is an amazing compliment to our team that you speak so highly of our hotel. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you soon on your travels back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orono, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We visited this hotel for the 5th time to catch a hockey game. The rooms are quiet and comfortable and the location is within an easy walk of the free downtown tram to the arena. The price is good and the breakfast fare has improved. Service throughout has been fast and friendly. Wireless internet works pretty seamlessly and is free.

Room Tip: Personally I avoid rooms near and elevator and on lower floors although street noise has never been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OronoStewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you very much for continuing to support our hotel and our Buffalo Sabres. We are proud that we are able to provide you with the service and amenities that you have come to enjoy. We truly appreciate your business and comments. Thank you. See you soon for your next game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coudersport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Awesome experience in this hotel. Clean and fairly priced.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
To say your experience was awsome is a true compliment! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and review your experience on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My family and I recently had the pleasure of staying in your hotel during the Christmas break. The room was very clean and quite attractive. The staff and management were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay in your hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMendonca_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
I am truly thankful for your visit to our hotel. Your comments on our clean hotel with friendly staff mean a great deal to us. We hope that when your travels bring you down here again, you choose to stay with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

A very comfortable and well-managed hotel in downtown Buffalo. The rooms are spacious and attractive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTN70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and rate us a 4 based on your experience. You comments are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is a gem in downtown Buffalo. The rooms are standard but the hotel is grand. The second floor is 50% breakfast nook and also is subdivided into private areas for work/conversations. The library on the first floor is stacked with current books for pleasure reading. Of course, the staff are all excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
I am glad that we were able to pleasantly surprise you! To be considered a gem is a true compliment. I hope that you visit us once again on your trip back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Address: 220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing