We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Shopping Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed night of Nov 22/13 for a Christmas shopping trip to Buffalo. Stayed at hotel using our Hilton points. It seemed like a regular hotel from the outside, but once we went in, it was clean, beautiful lobby sitting area, running fireplace, nice selection of coffee, and delicious fresh cookies available. The staff was friendly and the check in was quick. We got a room on top floor, which was clean and well maintained. Had some trouble with the internet at first, but got it going later.

You could smell the smoking rooms walking through the hallway. Recommendation, go non-smoking, having smoking rooms is getting out of date with today.

Staying on a Friday night, there were some parties going on and teens running through the hallways all night. I got no sleep (so tired next day). We could hear everything from the hallways, not the other rooms beside us, though.. Other than that issue, what a great hotel and staff was excellent. When we mentioned the noise issue from the night before, they were aware of it and knew they were having problems and they gave us a good deal upon check out (thank you very much!!!!).

Overall, a good experience, we will be definitely staying there for our next shopping trip, but probably on a work week night, not Friday. (honestly its been a long time since we stayed in a hotel room on Friday, mostly for this reason, parties).

I would recommend for a stay in Buffalo.
We ate at the Papaya restaurant upon recommendation from staff, we had Tai food and it was a good dining experience. Nice late meal with my spouse. Believe it was Cory that checked us in and checked us out. Very friendly and helpful.

For a downtown hotel, this place is incredible.
Thanks.

Room Tip: Pillows are very big and fluffy, I like a flat pillow for my own preference, so you might want to ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and in-depth review of our hotel. We are so happy that we got to surprise you with our excellent décor, amenities, and staff. Cory is an exceptional staff member, and we are fortunate to have Papaya located right inside the hotel. Thank you for your patience regarding any noise. We try to control these things as best we can. We can see how a sleepless night may have a big effect on your stay. We are glad we were able to make it up to you at check out, however. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Well the staff at this Hampton Inn were just as fabulous as other reviewers said they were! Most especially darling Cory, who went above and beyond to help his four Canadian shoppers enjoy a game of euchre in their suite!!! Well raised young man!!

The beds were comfortable, the Queen/Queen room and the Suite that we had were both excellent - well appointed, very good size, fabulous bathrooms, comfortable beds. Wonderful.

Truly no need to eat anywhere outside of the hotel, either (and most especially not across the road at Bada Bing Bada Baaaaaad). The Chocolate Bar has gourmet sandwiches and flatbreads etc if you want a light meal while enjoying a martini. And then there is Papaya, where you can have a choice of delectable meals (from Udon to Steak and Lobster). Fabulous.

Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo, we will never stay anywhere else when we return to shop 'til we drop again

Room Tip: If you're going with friends, and would like a suite (to hang out together) plus a Queen/Queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamondlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Fantastic! We are so delighted with your raving review of our hotel. It’s accolades like this that really make us feel great. Thank you. Cory is an exceptional Front Desk Supervisor. His commitment to guest services is crystal clear to anyone who speaks with him. We’re lucky to have him on our team. It sounds like you all had a terrific weekend here, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next Buffalo shopping trip! Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We loved this hotel, the staff was excellent, very nice breakfast and lovely room. The security was better than we had experienced anywhere else and the attached restaurant Chocolate Bar was terrific. We would definitely come back here the next time we are visiting our friends in the Buffalo area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Great! We are so glad that you had such a great stay at our hotel. We are fortunate to have the Chocolate Bar attached to the hotel for a quick, late night snack, dessert, or martini! It is important to us that our guests feel safe. We are happy that we were able to provide you with good security. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Buffalo. Thank you for your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This used to be the Ford Hotel in Buffalo -- many years ago. Now it has been carefully renovated and is a pleasant -- if somewhat generic -- place to stay. It seems like a good reliable establishment with spacious rooms, careful and attentive staff, and a general feeling of trying hard. The breakfast is a rather disappointing buffet selection, but it is adequate. The hotel is sort of like the city of Buffalo: nothing spectacular -- just doing its best -- and succeeding at that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Over the years, our building has had many lives. It has been a school, an office building, an apartment building, and a hotel, among others. We take pride in being able to make use of the existing structure in an effective manner. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we invite you to stay with us again when you are next in Buffalo. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We keep coming back here when we visit family. Everything is always very good. We've gone to the Embassy next door several times, which is also nice, but, get this, I just don't like their breakfast over there. What can I say.

Note that when I do reviews, almost no-one or anything gets top rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8rocket8rocket8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Well, thank you so much! Thank you for not only your continued patronage to the Hampton Inn and Suites in Downtown Buffalo, but also for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I am not a huge fan of traveling for business, but this hotel is a great place to stay. It makes me feel like home in some ways, and the restaurants in the hotel are great. I would especially recommend The Chocolate Bar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We are so happy that we were to turn something that could be a chore into a much more enjoyable experience! We are very fortunate to have the Chocolate Bar adjoining the hotel. Nothing beats a chocolate martini after a long workday, without ever having to step foot outside! We appreciate your business, and that you took time to share your experience at TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Buffalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Staying at the Downtown Hampton Inn in Buffalo, NY affords you every amenity you would need to enjoy your stay. The rooms are comfortable and safe, the complimentary breakfast is good and healthy. The hotel is close to anything you might want to do in the downtown area and easily accessible to anywhere int he city. The staff are spectacular.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! It is our goal to provide each guest with an excellent place to stay and great service. We are so happy that we could do that for you. We are proud of our location and the amenities that we offer. Thank you for your business and we invite you to stay with us again, next time you are in Buffalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Buffalo Downtown
0.6 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Address: 220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: £108 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown hotel grants guest access to fantastic bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Enjoy our complimentary amenities including breakfast, free parking and WiFi. Located within 15 minutes of Niagara Falls this hotel connects guest to the experience of a life time and the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing