We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We enjoy everything about this hotel. We have been here multiple times for weekend get-aways and birthday celebrations and appreciate the helpful and welcoming staff, good parking, close proximity so many things we like to do (theatre, museums, bars, restaurants, etc). It is a good get-away in our own backyard. Clean, comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mph63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Good morning, mph63! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. A large population of our guests are locals seeking a “stay-cation” where they can get away from daily life and enjoy their own city. We very much appreciate the enthusiasm and good nature our neighbors bring during their stay. Thank you for your business. We look forward to seeing you again, for your next stay-cation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    290
    64
    16
    19
See reviews for
336
370
61
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hotel staff is friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Rooms are very modern, clean, and comfortable. Hotel is safe in that it requires key to enter any of the room floors. Wide variety of good breakfast foods (hot & cold). Would recommend staying here - nicest hotel in downtown Buffalo by far!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Deborah J., thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. So many people come together every day to make sure our guests experience wonderful service and amenities. We very much appreciate your compliments, as well as your patronage. We look forward to the next time we can welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just went to Buffalo for one night for my daughters graduation, but I was very impressed and sorry we didn't stay longer. Free wi-fi, nice pool and hot tub, both with handicap chair lifts. Plenty of options at the comp breakfast. Coffee, tea or hot chocolate in the lobby all the time. Staff was very nice and helpful, and everything was very clean. The three restaurants (The Chocolate Bar, Salsalitos and Subway) with access from the hotel was a big plus. Lounge areas with t.v.'s on the second floor and in the lobby. Would have liked to have a small refrigerator, they may have on request, didn't ask.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good morning, Diane A, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. First of all, congratulations to your daughter for her graduation! We often get many parents visiting for graduations and orientations. We are fortunate to be so close to many of Buffalo’s colleges: Buffalo State, UB, D’Youville, Canisius, Medaille, and ECC, among others. You are right: refrigerators are available upon request. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location, it's in walking distance to Bars, Restaurants, coffee shops and stores. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff where helpful and friendly! I would stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Portia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you, Portia L, for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We know that there are many different hotels to choose from in the Buffalo area, so we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Buffalo. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Centrally located in downtown Buffalo, this Hampton Inn is well-laid out with lots of breathing room throughout the property. It has all the advantages over other downtown hotels: free overnight parking, indoor pool/hot tub and great access to restaurants and highways. The suites (the ones with the kitchenettes) are big enough to do a cartwheel (take my word for it).
As a Canadian, you can come to Buffalo to shop and crash here quite comfortably. The breakfast buffet is great if you are addicted to carbs but a wide selection nonetheless.
On my last birthday, the staff sent left me a card (with about a half dozen staff signatures) that was the nicest card I received that year (sorry, honey). That same night, I ordered a chicken melt from the in-house restaurant (that hit a high note), uncorked a Sauv Blanc from Premier Wines, and proceeded to watch a Golden Girls marathon whilst flipping through a "Real Simple" magazine. What a birthday!
Side note: they are demolishing a large portion of the adjacent city block (Chippewa and Delaware). I was never disturbed by the demo. In fact, it was pretty fascinating to see the de-struction.

Room Tip: If you can get a suite, go for it, especially if you have two people with lots of stuff OR you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good morning, Heidorama, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! First of all, we want to let you know that we are grateful for your patronage to our hotel. We are very fortunate to have many return guests that make our hotel their home while in Buffalo. It’s great to see these familiar faces annually. You highlight so many wonderful features that we are happy to provide guests: free parking, complimentary breakfast, spacious rooms, and a wonderful location. Your birthday does indeed sound wonderful and we are so happy that we got to be a part of it. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Here are the positives:
- parking on site
- good location
- quiet, clean rooms
- comfortable bed
- reliable internet service throughout the facility
- room key needed to access elevator to guest room floors

Areas for improvement:
- no in-room safe
- no refrigerator
- Attitudes: clerks, housekeeping and on-duty manager
- quality of egg dishes at breakfast

We stayed here one year ago during the annual Taste of Buffalo. The hotel then was extremely busy, but we never wanted for anything. The staff we encountered could not have been more friendly or helpful.

Previous Tripadvisor review - July 13, 2013:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60974-d224389-r168241258-Hampton_Inn_Suites_Buffalo_Downtown-Buffalo_New_York.html

Unfortunately, we did not have a full repeat performance this year. We arrived on Sunday and stayed through noon on Tuesday. We could not enjoy a cup of coffee because there was no cream, or half and half available the entire time. If we had a refrigerator, I’d have made an off-site purchase. During checkout I brought this to the attention of a man at the front desk who appeared to be the manager on duty. His response was "our delivery is scheduled for Tuesdays". I asked him how hard would it be to send someone to the supermarket to purchase a few half gallons of half and half. Again - he repeated that Tuesday is their normal delivery day.

While in the breakfast area Monday morning, we asked the attendant for cream or half and half. She found only one for us, but it was curdled as soon as it hit the coffee. The pre-cooked mini-omelets were fairly dried out and pretty tasteless. The rest of the food was excellent and plentiful.

The front desk clerks were nowhere near as helpful as in 2013. I asked for a restaurant recommendation of simple American food for dinner. She was stumped. Instead, I used an app on my phone to find a nice place - Chef's Restaurant.

Housekeeping failed to fully restock the in-room coffee service upon arrival.

Given the basics of what a good hotel stay should be (quiet, clean, well-stocked, comfortable and safe) I gave this review a rating of 4. The unhelpful and unresponsive staff brought the rating down from last year.

One final comment: Upon returning home, I completed a non-solicited survey directly from Hilton on my stay there. Obviously I had some negative comments. This Hampton Inn & Suites has a guarantee that if you are not satisfied with your stay, there is no charge. The hotel manager wrote to let me know they are refunding me the money I spent on our stay. Don’t know how you can go wrong with that!

Once again, next time in Buffalo, we will be staying at this same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dijimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good afternoon, dijimbob, and thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. First of all, thank you so much for your praise regarding our accommodations, parking, internet access, and other amenities. We are pleased that you found the hotel to meet your needs. We do, however, apologize that the service was not up to the quality that you have come to expect from us. As we approach our busy season, we have a fair amount of new in-training staff. We will certainly address this issue with our front desk and housekeeping departments. We also apologize for the lack of creamer, and in-room coffee. However, we are very happy that we were able to make it up to you with our 100% satisfaction guarantee. We can assure you that your next stay with us will be abundant in creamer, in-room coffee, and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. James, NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

While on a college visit to Buffalo State with my High School Junior, we stayed for two nights in the Hampton Inn. I frequently stay in Hampton's and am very familiar with their decor, service and amenities but this one was a bit above the rest. It looked newly renovated and the decor was upscale and tasteful. Since it is right in the middle of downtown Buffalo, the security was pretty tight--gated parking lot and elevators that functioned only with your room key--something I had not seen before in this hotel chain. The room was spacious and very clean, the beds comfortable and they got my request of no feathers right. The breakfast was typical for a Hampton and the food fairly fresh. In general the front desk staff was very courteous and helpful but the woman who stocked the breakfast was a bit rude, the only downer of the entire stay. My daughter had homework to complete and the wifi and business center were great. We did not use the pool but it was a good size and looked clean. I would recommend this hotel for families, couples or business stays--really close to restaurants and other attractions in Buffalo.

Room Tip: One side of the building overlooks a lot under construction. If you like to sleep in, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Good morning, Michele H, and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are so happy that you had such a lovely experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms, and friendly and helpful staff. We do apologize that our breakfast staff person was less friendly. Our executive housekeeper will address this with her. We believe that we offer something that many other hotels do not offer: free parking, superior staff, complementary and healthy breakfast, and wonderful service. Our hotel was actually renovated over two years ago, but our housekeeping and maintenance staff work tremendously hard to make sure that the property remains in fantastic condition. We welcome you to stay with us again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Address: 220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing