We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is very clean, well decorated. The staff was friendly. The complimentary breakfast was good. The decor and views were nice. I was visiting Niagara Falls, which was a short drive away. The location was great, being near plenty of restaurants. I enjoyed staying there with my family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Wonderful! Thank you, Crystal P, for your review. We have so many different types of guests staying at our hotel, from sight-seeing families like yours, to business travelers. We are so happy that we were able to make your stay a memorable one. We hope to see you the next time your family returns to the Buffalo area. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    282
    61
    14
    17
See reviews for
322
360
62
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Churchville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Upon check in we were greeted by a very friendly staff that you could tell all worked well together. They were very friendly and informative. The rooms were nice and the amenities were outstanding (awesome breakfast). On the downside: my wife and I were staying here for a leisurely get away and when we inquired about going for a swim in the pool we were told it was closed and not available to us. When asked, they did not discount our rate or provide another option, such as a sister hotel in the area). Everything else was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Good morning, Vincent G, and thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much! We will certainly forward your compliments to our front desk staff. Hotel operations requires teamwork, and we are fortunate to have a great team that supports one another. However, we are so sorry that the pool situation was handled in that manner. You certainly should have been given options, like a sister hotel to swim. I will address this with my staff. Please do not hesitate to contact me regarding this manner. We do not want any of our guests to have a negative impression of any event here. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you the next time you choose to stay in Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

All is excellent, from free parking to great breakfast, no issues with this hotel. Recommended for all. Rooms very spacious. We had a corner room with a bathroom to die for. Whirlpool bath and very large shower. We did not try the indoor pool and jacuzzi but it seemed in good condition.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good afternoon, Yves M, and thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel! We are quite proud to contend that we are the only hotel in downtown Buffalo to offer free parking. Not only that, but few other hotels downtown offer complimentary breakfast. It is our pleasure to offer you a spacious room. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is located within walking distance of downtown attractions. As mentioned by others, the rooms are large and well appointed. Excellent shower. Staff we met were all friendly and attentive. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Great! Suzy71, we are thrilled that you had such a great stay that “exceeded [your] expectations.” It is always our goal to put our guests first and make them feel welcome and taken care of. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel well located in downtown Buffalo. A short drive from First Niagara center and the casino. If you call a taxi it's about a 6$-10$ drive depending on trafic. The guy at the front desk wasn't really friendly when we checked in but other staff members were ok. The room was really clean until we checked the shower and found hair stuck in the shower curtain. I guess that stuff can happen... Still a bit disappointing... The room are quiet but if people make noise in the corridor you're gonna hear them for sure. The included breakfast was ok. What's also nice is that you get access to the pool and two restaurants without even leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boubou418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello, boubou418, and thank you for your review! We are so sorry to hear that you were greeted in anything less than a friendly and welcoming manner. I will certainly bring this up with the Front Desk staff. We are happy that you enjoyed the clean and quiet rooms, as well as the easy access to the pool and restaurants. However, we are a bit less than thrilled to hear that you found a hair tucked in the shower curtain. We assure you that this is an anomaly that I will personally address with the housekeeping staff. We thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown during our recent trip around the states. Our reason for staying here is that we wanted to see Niagara Falls and remain on the American Side of the Border.

As far as hotels go, the rooms were extremely large and you could have put a bowling alley in our bathroom due to the sheer size. The rooms are very quiet and there is little to no street noise. A bonus is the included breakfasts as well.

However I have very mixed feelings about our stay. If you want to go to Niagara Falls, DON'T stay here. It isn't easy to get there, I don't care what the staff say. On our first day we asked about how to get to the falls and the staff suggested to catch a bus. So we did... BAD IDEA!!! The bus goes through very VERY rough areas of town and we were genuinely concerned for our safety. They even had to stop the bus once to arrest a person! So quite frankly I've deducted points for this bad bit of advice.

To get to the falls, the safer option is to take a Taxi. As this hotel is nowhere near the falls, it costs around $70US to catch a Taxi one way. As this was the safer option, we did this on our second day. Expensive, but safe.

My recommendation is, stay here if you have business in the Buffalo Downtown area, but if you want to go to Niagara Falls, stay in CANADA!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be ok, just get into breakfast early as it goes fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twofriendsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good afternoon, Twofriendsoftravel, and thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms, complimentary breakfast, and quiet atmosphere. However, we are sorry to hear that the advice you received for traveling to Niagara Falls did not meet your expectations. Oftentimes our front desk staff will suggest the NFTA bus line because it is far less expensive than taking a taxi. We will certainly take your criticism into consideration with directing guests without vehicles in the future. We hope to see you again, the next time your travels take you to Buffalo. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel on July 4th long weekend. Our trip was actually Niagara Falls that means around Miles away. Bit when I looked the deals then I don't find nice deal in any hotels near to Niagara. so finally I found this Hampton Inn hotel through TripAdvisor but I feel like Miles away from my tourist place. But finally I made the reservation.

Believe me, it was awesome experience staying in this hotel. service is excellent, rooms were simply damn good. Features are truly good, especially like fast wifi internet (free), Whirl Pool tub inside the room, Cafeteria for each floor.

I will defenately recommend to anyone who are planning to Niagara Falls. I agree you have to drive Miles but you will get more relaxation if you stay this hotel comparing to staying in other hotels in Niagara Falls.

I can't write more than this my experience, finally WORTHY FOR YOUR DOLLAR.

Room Tip: Pick any rooms, these rooms are simply superb! But if you pick the room that has Whirlpool Tubs, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sristek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Well, thank you so much, sristek, for your review of our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time and found it “worthy for your dollar.” We work very hard to ensure guests have a comfortable, clean, and relaxing stay. It’s true, we are not in Niagara Falls, but it is only fifteen minutes away by car. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast on the second floor, speedy wireless internet, and a room with a whirl pool. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Address: 220 Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing