We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location and staff”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The room is clean and nice. The receptionists at the front desk are very helpful. They are very friendly and willing to help with anything you request. They are very accommodating and go all the way out to make you feel welcome. Over the stay of two nights, my daughter and I requested for multiple things at different times, including utensils and microwave, the front desk was very polite each time and granted our request immediately. The manager did not hesitate to let us extend our check out time on the last day. The hotel is in downtown, within walking distance to many cafes, restaurants, and Erie Community College. It is very convenient to get around. Parking and internet are free.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Chienhuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Good afternoon, Chienhuah, and thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed our free parking and internet, as well as our clean and comfortable rooms. It is our pleasure to make you and your family as comfortable as possible, and if that means you would like a microwave or some utensils, we are happy to oblige. Thank you so much for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    296
    64
    17
    21
See reviews for
338
376
62
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here with many family members for a recent wedding and had a really pleasant weekend. Hotel staff was professional and helpful on all fronts. Clean, nice room decor, safe, free parking, free breakfast, nice pool and gym. The housekeeping staff was accommodating and the welcoming atmosphere was a delightful change! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Lovely! Thank you, Kim M, for your review! We are proud to have a staff that is professional and accommodating. After all, we are in the business of hospitality, so being hospitable is what we do best! We are happy to provide you and your family members with a clean, comfortable, and safe place to stay, in addition to providing free breakfast and parking, and wonderful amenities. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We walked in off the street for a 1 night Sunday stay on our way to Canada. Free parking was great, staff had a roll away bed in our room before we got up there. Everything about the room and location was great. Cory, the manager on that evening was Excellent! Gave us great tips about restaurants and saw him working hard all night (cleaning up towels in the pool area even). The only complaint I had was the free breakfast was lacking greatly. The staff couldn't keep up with the hot food, so the selections were slim when we got there, and they could not keep up with the trash. Otherwise a great stay in Buffalo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TisaNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Good afternoon, TisaNew and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! Cory is an invaluable asset. He is always working to improve guest experience. Thank you for noting him. We are happy that we were able to provide a great room, location, free parking, and recommendations. We do apologize that breakfast did not meet your expectations. Certainly, there should be enough prepared food and trash should be managed. I will address this situation with our breakfast staff and work to ensure that a situation like this is not likely to occur again. Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOS ANGELES, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I really like this hotel! It's very clean and spacious. I think this is the only hotel that 100% matches the pictures on its website so far in my life that I lived before. I came here to take the bar, and this hotel makes me feel really comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Yurui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Fantastic. Thank you so much for your review, Yurui L.! We are so happy that we were able to make you feel comfortable during your stay. We can only imagine how difficult and how much pressure and preparation is involved in the bar exam. We do understand how extremely important it is to provide a quiet and considerate atmosphere during the bar exam, and are happy that we are able to do that for you and your fellow test-takers. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again, under different circumstances, of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013 and it was a seriously enjoyable experience! We were given the large suite that was used by the owners son and it is the size of a whole apartment! The staff were very friendly and breakfast was substantial. The hotel was very clean and is very well placed in downtown buffalo and handy for a trip to Niagra falls. Definitely recommended

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review, Dave E! That room is definitely a one-of-a-kind (and a luck of the draw). We are so happy that we were able to wow you! We also pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff. We are the only hotel in downtown Buffalo to offer both complimentary parking and free breakfast. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again, the next time you find yourself in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've never stayed in a bad Hampton Inn. Staff is always extremely accommodating, beds are amazingly comfortable, breakfast selection is excellent. Hotel chain quality seems dependent on individual owners/managers, but Hampton is consistently a comfortable place to stay. Downtown Buffalo's is no exception.

Room Tip: If you want some extra space, ask for a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarmaCycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments, MM H. Although Hampton Inn Hotels have certain standards that must be consistent, they are franchised. We are fortunate to be a hotel owned by Buffalo Lodging Associates. They put a huge margin of profits made from the hotel right back into it. Our properties are well cared for and upgrades are always popping up! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We know you have many choices in Downtown Buffalo. We look forward to seeing you, the next time you’re in Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hampton inn is a great choice for those looking to stay right in the heart of Buffalo. It is a convenient option for those wishing to see Buffalo before traveling to Niagara Falls. The rooms were large and clean (the bathroom is particularly large, which is a plus). Parking was free, but the lot can get full on busy weekends, especially when Buffalo holds the "Taste of Buffalo" event in July.

Tips: This hotel is about 15-20 minutes from the airport. They take security very seriously at the hotel, and keycards are needed to enter the pool, the lobby bathroom, and even to ride the elevator. The breakfast buffet is impressive, with plenty of selection and seating. Also -- for the younger crowd -- the Hampton is right next to Chippewa street, which has plenty of bars and restaurants (although noise is not an issue).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Sd0453, thank you so much for your review! Our location is great for being able to see what Buffalo has to offer. We are right in Downtown Buffalo and close to Allentown and Elmwood Village. Canalside is great, especially in the summer when there are many concerts and festivals. Our location, right on the corner of Delaware and West Chippewa is great for nightlife, and like you said, our building is soundproofed so that it remains quiet for guests. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,787 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Address: 220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing