We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

We were in Buffalo to visit Buffalo General Hospital. It's a quick drive to the hospital and traffic isn't an issue. The hotel is located centrally and our suite was quiet, comfortable and clean. We slept better than at home. Security is good. Breakfast is adequate and all I wanted. We ate one day at "Merge", which we highly recommend. Also the Chocolate Bar restaurant at street level in the hotel's building. It's the third Hampton I've stayed in this year and the best one. The 1920's building is very well renovated; an excellent reuse.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frommissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    282
    60
    14
    17
See reviews for
322
360
62
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

We extended our stay from two nights to three & wanted to stay longer -- just to enjoy the relaxing ambiance at this hotel. I've stayed at this hotel five times in the past six years, and the rooms have always been attractive & spotless (per the staff, the hotel is currently in the process of refurbishing the rooms). Our mattress was very comfortable, although the comforter (and a replacement comforter) was lumpy -- which apparently happens after a few times through the wash.
My room had a king size bed; my brother & his wife requested the same (king size bed) down the hall, but additionally had a small refrigerator, which my room didn't have. So if you want a refrig, make it a point to ask for one.
I particularly enjoy staying here because it's close to Allentown & the Bluestocking District, both of which have eye-popping Victorian architecture. This hotel is close to the trendy Elmwood Village area where I grew up, & which is still a mecca for college students from nearby Buffalo State. A Subway & two restaurants are on the premises -- but Buffalo has many great eateries, so don't limit yourself to what's at the hotel. The free breakfast buffet is generous & has something to please virtually everyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Traveller145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 18 May 2010
I want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and giving us such a great review as well. We strive everyday to ensure that all of our guests have such an exceptional stay like yours. We also appreciate that you return to us each time you are in Buffalo. Again thank you for your loyalty and look forward to your next visit with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

The hotel rooms are nice and big. Big comfy bed and a big flatscreen TV.
But the real good thing about the hotel is the staff! Superfriendly and welcoming, and going out of their way to make sure everything was right. If I am ever going to Buffalo again, I will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

Just stayed here for 2 nights- our room was amazing! Had a Kitchen, living/sitting area and separate bedroom with a huge bathroom. Hotel lobby is very nice, beautifully decorated and stylish.

Such fantastic value for your money! It was like staying in a condo
You must walk to Betty's for breakfast and skip the complimentary breakfast at hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikesTOtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here on the Wednesday night before Thanksgiving (American).
Our first stay in a Hilton/Hampton as it is not normally in our price range. The hotel is in the perfect location to stay at after a night out in Buffalo, which was the purpose of our trip.
Great service, very clean, all the ammenities.Ifyou are prepared to pay double the cost of a value hotel, you will be very happy with this premium hotel. The rooms are clean, large have everything you need, T.V.,internet, great bed. The "free" breakfast buffet is magical, one of the best I've had, don't miss it.
Great stay, no problems, request a room on the quiet side if you stay on a "party" night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurlySalm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Our last stay at this hotel was not at all pleasent, but we're so glad we gave it another shot! It was absolutly beauiful! It was also VERY clean!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

We recently stayed at the hotel to attend the NCAA tournament in Buffalo. We were very impressed with the property. The reception staff was friendly and accomodating. There was free parking for the entire stay - even the last day when we were no longer guests at the hotel. The property itself is impeccable. The room we stayed in was on the 5th floor near the elevator. That usually causes me concerns, but I did not hear anybody getting on or off the entire stay. The room itself was very large as was the bathroom. It was kept very clean. We stayed for 3 nights and I tipped the cleaning staff for a job well done. I think they must have remodeled the hotel because the carpet, walls and fixtures looked brand new. They supplied us with a roll away bed for our son who was traveling with us. We also appreciated the breakfast which was included with the price. They served hot foods such as pancakes and eggs and also fruits, breads and cereals. Also appreciated was the hot coffee which could be had at breakfast time or downstairs in the lobby area at all times of the day. We were able to walk to the above ground train stop and take a free ride to the arena. The downtown area is a busy place on the weekends and if you are the type to go out and dance, then there are a lot of options there for you. We did eat at the Chocolate Bar restaurant which is connected to the hotel and it was delicious. The martini's are like a dessert to enjoy.
The only negative I can say about the entire experience was on the way out of the parking lot of the hotel we noticed two cars with their windows shattered. We know that you should never leave your expensive items in plain view for thieves to see. The property is in the city but there is a nice townhouse development close to the property so it feels rather safe. We would definitely stay here again if traveling to the Buffalo area. We always look for a Hilton hotel or a brand of the Hilton family. We also belong to the Hilton Honors program.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Address: 220 Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing