We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel has recently been renovated (millions of $) and is gorgeous. It's like walking into The Great Gatsby. I attended a wedding reception here in the smaller ballroom which was unbelievable. Our single room had a king bed, great decor, and an awesome bathroom. The staff were all very helpful, polite and friendly. There is also a Bar and Grill just off the lobby which is a satellite brewery for The Pearl Street Brewery a few blocks over. Great beer and nice to have it so close. I could have spent an hour just in the lobby looking at all the little architectural details.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klariprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    84
    29
    7
    14
See reviews for
49
128
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
daytona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I visited the Hotel on two occassions, found it by accident. We toured the lobby, first floor banquet rooms and other public area. They have done a excellent job in the restoration of this fine old building. We returned the next evening for dinner in the restraunt, and more then pleased with the food, service and ambiance, only wish I had book my thee night stay there.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jimNdbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Disclaimer: this hotel had only been open 4 weeks at the time of my stay. Unfortunately it showed; the details just weren't being paid attention to. One night I had no bath towels, there were coffee mugs but no water glasses, the front desk person couldn't find my room - literally. She offered to show me my room and then couldn't find it. But the staff is warm and welcoming and the place has a lot of potential. I look forward to a future business trip to see how they've progressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikencarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This brand new boutique hotel is beyond excellent!!! Everything is modern, chic, unique, staff is friendly, and the location is perfect. Centered in Lafayette Square, withen walking distance to shopping, dinning, the waterfront (all new attractions there), and an exciting nightlife. Will definitely recommend this place and will be staying here on my next visit to Buffalo!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking 'Lafayette Square' for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taboo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The developer has taken an old hotel and made it an interesting "labor of love". There are glimpses of the 1910s, the 1940s and today. We went for a wedding, the ballroom was gorgeous and the room was one of the nicest I've had the pleasure of staying in. They are also doing interesting things with the venues, the ballrooms, a tea room, bakery, restaurants, wonderful florist and even a store where you can buy the items that make the rooms unique. Buffalo may not be a destination, but if you ever are in the area, and want to be close to downtown, this is an experience rather than just a place to lay your head.

Room Tip: the junior suite is the room in the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emme45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,787 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Lofts on Pearl
Lofts on Pearl
#15 of 24 in Buffalo
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Property: Hotel @ The Lafayette
Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing