We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar- best mixologist in Buffalo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel is stunning. Recently they invested over 40 million Rennovation. The bar area brings you back to another era. The art deco details are amazing. I enjoyed the most amazing chocolate souffle and some drinks. They even made a special cherry mojoito for me. I would recommend this hotel for meet ups and hanging out. Be careful walking downtown at night. I'd recommend the Elmwood/Allen Street for going out.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ar0undth3world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

What a wonderful surprise of a GEM ! The hotel is beautifully restored, and full of character. A stunning building in Buffalo. We spoke with Dan at the front desk to make our reservation. He was FANTASTIC to deal with. Very hospitable and even told us about the history of the hotel. We stayed in the Junior King Suite and it was MAGNIFICENT. Brand new, awesome decor, beautiful plush lounge chairs, funky design, gorgeous bed linens, superbly comfortable bed, gas fireplace, flat screen TV...we were 100 % satisfied, and would return here again and again ! Thank You Dan for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night for a wedding. Had high hopes when we saw how cool the lobby looked. Our room was also very modern. However, our friends who were forced to "upgrade" to a suite because they "ran out of standard rooms" basically got a scarcely furnished apartment. (Apparently only six rooms were blocked off for the wedding reservation??) They definitely got less for more money.
Anyway, the tiny bottled water in the room cost $3 each. The soap was shrink wrapped in such a way that you could not open it. Bring scissors or bring your own soap.
Here's the worst thing: as we were getting ready for bed at 1am after attending the wedding, we turned down the covers to find blood stains at one end of the duvet and a urine stain on the other end. Furthermore, there were probable bloodstains on the shower floor tiles as well. We had to call down for a new duvet. They brought us another duvet but did not have a cover for it. It looked like when housekeeping cleaned the room before we checked in, they didn't change the duvet cover but just made the bed. Needless to say, we did not have a very restful sleep. When we were checking out in the morning, we were asked how our stay was. We were honest about our experience, but all we got was, "Oh, we promise it will never happen again. We hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us again. Will this be on the Visa on file?"
Trust me, there will not be a next time. The manager should have been called and our room rate should have been discounted, at a minimum. When you pay this amount ($150/nt) for a room in a hotel in Buffalo, you deserve way more than this.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Classybabe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here in early August for a weekend and a wedding and reception that was taking place at the hotel. It is a beautiful hotel and the rooms were great. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was awesome. Other people we knew had the 1 bedroom setup and those were beautifully decorated. The price and what you received in the room was a great deal. Our suite only had privacy curtains, not real ones that would keep the light out. Hard to sleep in with the light pouring in the room in the early morning.

They still needed to take care of some little details that I an not sure how they overlooked. There are no signs in the hallways telling you which way to go for which room numbers. There were no signs pointing you in the direction of the elevator.

The continental breakfast was pretty weak. Many people went up about a block and got stuff at Tim Horton's.

The location is perfect for downtown.

I would stay here again if I was traveling to downtown Buffalo

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

So much thought put into design and renovation shows! The spaces feel both historic and hip, and they are all interesting! Beds were wonderful, bathrooms great. Fun details to look at everywhere, including big coffee table art books in the room. (Nice touch!) Helpful and pleasant service and a total deal for what you pay. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triciaoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at the Lafayette in late July in a two bedroom suite.

Pros: it was large with lots of privacy in the two bedrooms (one bed in each room) and two bathrooms. Also a sleep sofa in the sitting area and a full kitchen. It had three flat screen TVs and free wifi. Clean and comfortable.

Cons: two people traveling together who each want their own bed have no choice except a two bedroom suite. Every other choice of room has either one bed only (standard room and junior suite) or one bed and a pullout sofa (one bedroom suite). This is not clear on the website which describes a junior suite, for example, as having "king or queen size beds" (plural).

Cons: the hotel rooms only seem to be fully decorated up to the second floor. This will eventually be remedied, I imagine, but the website doesn't accurately depict the room we occupied which was on an upper floor. Our room had bare white walls (no paint or graphics), no drapes, no bedside tables (just a tiny built-in shelf on each side) or reading lamps in the bedrooms, no benches at the foot of the beds. The kitchen (which we didn't intend to use anyway) was lovely but not fully equipped. The eating area was simply the island with three stools; no dining table as depicted in some website pictures. The sitting area had a leather coach and chair, but not the desks or credenza or cute little seating area or accessories depicted on the website, no drapes and white walls In fact, there was not even pen or paper in the suite when I wanted to leave a note with my housekeeping tip.

While the room was perfectly fine, I would advise travelers who want the "full experience" of the charm that the hotel has to offer to call in personally and specifically ask for a fully decorated and completed room. The website says: "Each room is luxuriantly decorated with Pan-American décor." That was not true in our case.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are still minimally decorated at this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I heard that the new owners invested $30M in the renovation of The Lafayette. I didn't believe it until I went inside the room. Everything is brand new and top quality.
We had a suite with two bedrooms overlooking Washington Street. The full kitchen had a stove, full-size stainless steel refrigerator and granite-top island with a deep sink. Leather sofas surround the 60" (?) screen television in the common area. There are large screen televisions in each of the bedroom suites which also have their own bathroom suites.
They need a better sign out front to let people know the hotel is open for business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dickerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.3 mi away
Curtiss Hotel
Curtiss Hotel
#11 of 25 in Buffalo
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel
0.6 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel

Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range: £95 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing