We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Hotel and great place to hang out in Buffalo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel @ The Lafayette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel and great place to hang out in Buffalo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Gorgeous rooms and historic hotel renovated with beautiful attention to detail. Awesome lobby and stunning artwork!

Right in heart of downtown and convenient valet parking. Our family stayed here during a Thanksgiving trip with Grandma and Aunts and Uncles, hotel was very accomodating, we had a suite with a full kitchen and my family and our nephews 6 and 1 and a half, enjoyed the luxurious space and high ceilings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dough B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    76
    27
    5
    13
See reviews for
42
117
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed in a Jr. Suite that was very nice & spacious. Only difficulty we experienced from the room was could not get the shower to produce hot water. Dual fireplace, electric, is a nice ambiance and having 2 TVs, one you can watch from the bed and the other from the sitting area was a nice choice. Was a little surprised they didn't have small fridges in the room. Having the continental breakfast included was nice but small (not a huge selection). This hotel is newly renovated with lots of history still visible to walk around & see inside (as well as outside). Ideal location for us being near the First Niagara Center. Paid for the Valet parking ($20) that was worth it. Had a nice stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDAG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Spent the night in Buffalo with my girlfriend - stayed here after the Leafs game. Great location, not far from Peace Bridge, and 10 min walk to arena.

Hotel was excellent, have travelled the world and loved how they reclaimed a old building. Large comfortable bed, clean room, nice tv, fireplace, bathroom was clean. Free breakfast was above anything I've had in North America in a long time. Was fun to walk through building and see old parts of the hotel.

Only a few minor complaints - can be a bad location for restaurants, etc seems like you need to go out of the way but they can't change that.

Front desk staff was not professional - had to book a taxi and didn't offer much assistance at all with this.

Also room could have been quieter was woken up to people "making love" next door and could hear hotel cleaning staff talking in morning in the hall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel had the right layout for our family. With three boys, we often have a hard time finding accommodations that are able to fit us all comfortably... and without the added cost of another room for just one person. The suites were nice with hardwood floors and kitchens. The rennovations are fairly new, so the furniture and decorative furnishings were rather sparse. Still, it's always nice to see older space rennovated and repurposed as a boutique hotel. The downsides to our stay were that the wedding going on below lasted until midnight on Sunday night (we did get a discounted night stay for this), there was trouble with the hot water (it was fixed but delayed the start of our day) and the continental breakfast is pretty basic. All in all, we'd recommend it, and we chalked the challenges up to being fairly new.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed at the Hotel @ The Lafayette on a Friday night for a wedding. I had reserved a two-room suite and was pleasantly surprised. Each room had its own bathroom and closet, and the suite had a full kitchen including a dishwasher, small cooking island and standard refrigerator, as well as a great living room space and kitchen table. The furniture had personality and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. While I've stayed in nice places before, I've never had such a nice suite for the price I paid, which was less than I've paid for some boring single rooms in other hotels. I highly recommend it and would stay there again in a second if I had business in Buffalo. I also thought the wedding and reception venue (The Greenhouse Room in the hotel) was wonderful .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robicheaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western NY
Level Contributor
227 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Work in Buffalo and stayed overnight at this hotel. Have had meals here many times. This could be the nicest room I've ever had anywhere. Like a small apartment and its not even one of the apartment rooms. So nicely decorated. Two sides fireplace. Two flat screen televisions. Fabulous bed on a raised platform. Shower and tub. Funky glass wall in shower with shade that can be raised so you can watch television from the shower. Sliding door to the toilet and bathroom. Sofa, lounger, tables. Highly recommend! Several restaurants and bars. Very Art Deco. Restoration is incredible.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here over a weekend for a family wedding. From the moment you walk into the hotel you can see all the restoration work that has gone into this hotel. We had a suite room which worked out really well. Our room was large enough that we could comfortably have multiple family members in our room. This room would also work well if you had a family because the couch was a fold out. We also had a full kitchen in our room. The wedding space in this hotel was very impressive as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripGal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 22 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Lofts on Pearl
Lofts on Pearl
#12 of 22 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Property: Hotel @ The Lafayette
Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing