We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Renovated Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. At the turn of the 1900's this was rated one of the Top 10 most beautiful hotels in the country. The next hundred years found this hotel wind up being a boarding house for vagrants. After a multi million dollar rehab this hotel is a beautiful example of Art Deco at its finest. As you enter the lobby, you turn back the hands of time to the 1940's. The only thing that is missing is the bellhop with the funny hat to grab your bags. My room was on the third floor of this hotel and the halls are wide with high ceilings and cavernous! My corner suite is all modern with brand new furniture, flat screen TV's and stainless appliances. Featuring a full kitchen with stove, microwave, full size refrigerator/freezer, dish washer and disposal, glassware, dishes and pots and pans. Granite countertops with a nice center island and barstools centered the kitchen/living room open area. There also was a couch, 2 chairs and a desk. A separate sitting room featured a settee and another desk and closet. The separate bedroom had a queen size bed large wall hung flat screen TV and a large walk in closet. the large bathroom had all new fixtures with a large soaking tub/shower, with lots of towels and washcloths. The large size of this room would make a most comfortable apartment for anyone. The room and its furnishings were all new, but the style of the old hotel was kept intact with the original cove moldings and room configurations. Buffalo is a city on its way back! Stay here on your next trip through the area or on your way to Niagara Falls. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSCHMEEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    81
    29
    6
    14
See reviews for
45
122
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel two nights for business, and also had an event here. Hands down, this is my favorite property in the Buffalo area. As a hotel guest, I loved the guest rooms. My first night, I stayed in the Lafayette Suite, which is large and L shaped, with a full dining room table in the living space. The balcony overlooks Lafayette Square. My room the second night was a basic suite, but still just as lovely and well-appointed as the Lafayette Suite. They have a hologram fireplace in the guest rooms that although provides no heat, it provides plenty of ambience! The bathroom is pretty cool, with a separate water closet and a combined shower/bathtub setup that I've never seen anywhere else.

The common areas of the hotel are are well decorated and you can really relax in their lobby with the large plush couches and massive fireplaces. The Pan American Grill provides the room service for hotel guests - the menu on the website has more variety than the one provided in the guest rooms.

If you hoping to have an event here, go for it! I booked the greenhouse for my company and it was spacious and quiet, exactly what we needed. They have plenty of rooms with the exposed brick look that we like, but the spaces are also tucked away so you won't have interference from hotel guests.

Overall, I adore The Lafayette, both as a hotel and event space. The only suggestion I would have for them is to have more dedicated valets, as often the front desk people had to do double duty. Not fun for them, when it's snowing outside!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Lafayette Suite. You may not use the dining room table, but the view from the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelNYCsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in Buffalo, NY (yes, I know it's January in Buffalo~) ...we were seeing Wicked and decided to stay at renovated Lafayette Hotel.....Disclaimer here : we used to go to the Lafayette Tap Room "back in the day " for an electic blues venue and loved it....when it closed, it was a disappointment.....So, when we heard it was re -opened, we decided to give it a try.....it was very well done.....maintaining the wonderful authenticity of the great architectural buildings that populate Buffalo....there are 3 restaurants on site : Mike A 's (more high end), Sweet and Savory (we ate there our first night -delicious!), and, of course,the renovated Tap Room (more casual for sure but still good fare) .....we stayed in 1 bdrm suite .....it was roomy with complete kitchen and bath.....the location is central, and within walking, to
Shea 's, also renovated Statler Hilton bar, Pilot Field (if you are there for baseball), Chippewa St, you name it......staff was very friendly -as are the folks of Buffalo, just sayin '-.....Well worth a look see if you travel to Bflo at any time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

After being skeptical about what some of the reviews said we decided to go.Yes in January. Buffalo had been on our radar for some time now. Well this hotel was beyond comparison. The room with its decor and fireplace was beyond enjoyable. The hotel itself was so much value for the dollar. In Toronto this would have been at least a $300.00 dollar room. Buffalo is so easy to get around. We went to a few local bars and one high end restaurant. Each had its own enjoyment factor. The people of Buffalo are very social and knowledgeable. Like when I did not have 2 quarters for parking and the man on the street gave it to me! Point me to Buffalo this summer. Time to go south of the lake..

Room Tip: Not all rooms have the electric fireplace. Ask if you want it. Valet parking $20.00 but immediate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetLynne0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was in Buffalo on business and my corporate travel agent provided me with two options, either the Hyatt, or the Hotel Lafayette. What a treat. Limited Service, but great property, nicely restored, clean, safe and close to the banks downtown. Fantastic restaurant. Affordable prices. Good Option, and I would return.

Room Tip: Not sure if all the rooms were like mine with NO carpeting? For certain the room above me didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have had our business Christmas party here two years in a row and some of us have stayed overnight. The rooms are nice, very modern design. Unfortunately the hotel and the restaurants etc. don't co-ordinate very well together. They make it very hard to plan an event. The staff is very attentive, but not enough working to handle all the weddings and parties. This year we had to go out and get our own car cleaned off, also the less fortunate approach you in the parking lot.{Of course we choose to give them a donation as it was rather deserted and secluded in between the buildings). The continental breakfast was horrible the first year so I prepared baskets for all rooms this year. I tried to co-ordinate something from the restaurants but no-one would work together at all so I purchased everything from Panera. They also only do an subpar job with planning, decorating, and serving the parties. The building itself is fantastic, such a gem.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hall nearest the elevators are much larger but all are decorated the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at The Lafayette in early December. My room was freezing the entire time. Their ridiculous temperature controls are impossible to decipher without a microscope and even harder to operate. Twice I mentioned this to the front desk who didn't have a reply other than 'we'll send someone to check'. It's too bad because the restoration work done on this building is of high quality but this property really needs to up its game with the front desk folks and iron this temperature issue. In the Summer, you can probably open the window and issue resolved. During Buffalo's harsh winters it's a different story. Front desk just doesn't seem to be of the level I'd expect to find at this kind of hotel. OTH, the cleaning staff were very professional and well worth extra tipping. The layout of the room is grand. It really conveys the early 20th Century environment from which it evolved as do the amazing common areas which are worthy of a separate review. The sliding door to close off the washroom area is quite nice. Had they gone for warm up tiling in the bathroom floor, in my view, it would have placed this property very near the top among hotels of its class in the United States. They also really need to show off this property more. I asked for info on the hotel and there doesn't seem to be anything available. No merchandise for sale with the hotel logo either. I mean, you get all manner of merchandise at your regular, hospital looking, franchise crash pad yet very little from this remarkable property? Lastly, don't bother with the valet parking service. There's a huge above ground parking garage a block away and you can have your car there for 7 bucks a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank windfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.7 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
0.3 mi away
Lofts on Pearl
Lofts on Pearl
#12 of 25 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Property: Hotel @ The Lafayette
Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing