We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. I liked the modern touch of it and how the rooms are setup. Very nice location seeing im not from Buffalo and it was very easy to find. This isn't your ordinary chain hotel, every room has a different look and feel to it. Even though the room was small the way it was setup made it seem alot bigger than it actually was. Huge king size bed with a fireplace at the foot of it and a tv mounted above that. Very large windows with a step that led into a even bigger bathroom. The bathroom was huge with a very large standing mirror and large sink and counter. The shower was awesome, it was a partially open glass door that you first walked into the shower and a tub behind it. My only complaint is that the hallways looked somewhat worn but that didnt bother us at all. Also, the valet attendant was nowhere to be found. After talking to the receptionist she said it was $20 for our duration. I decided to just park directly across the street for free considering I would be leaving before having to pay the meter. The restaurants looked very great but we did not have a chance to eat since we checked in too late. I hope I get the chance to go to Buffalo again because I would definitely stay here again so I could enjoy the room more. Mid 20s couple stayed there for business and pleasure.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    83
    29
    6
    14
See reviews for
45
124
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Walking into the Hotel @ The Lafayette is like taking a step back in time. To the good ol' times of the 1930's. Art deco style. The lobby would be like something you would see in a Carey Grant movie. Authentic front desk room registry. Chic elevators. The hallways. Virtually everything was like the 30's deco. But ironically, the rooms themselves transform themselves into the 21st century! Our room was like a manhattan condo! Very modern, chic. Beautiful stainless steel appliances in the kitchen. Stunning living room. It was like having the best of both the old and the new! We were there for a cousin's wedding the venue downstairs was beautiful. Easy to turn it into whatever you wanted. The next morning for brunch, we were treated downstairs in their restaurant. Everything was delish! The Hotel at Lafayette is situated in downtown Buffalo. Even if staying downtown isn't in your plans, definitely check it out for fun. You'll enjoy the trip down memory lane!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontoteacherdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed at the Lafayette for a wedding and loved the hotel. The rooms are recently renovated and gorgeous. The only thing that could make this hotel better is a few more amenities they are missing like a small shop selling bath products and a spa! The hotel rooms are comparable to a 4 star hotel in any major city, pay extra and get a suite.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FETEEVENTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I loved the decor of our suite, which had almost everything you'd expect In a standard hotel room (however, there was no iron, just an ironing board). My only complaint was that the room was SO LOUD. We were by the elevators, so that noise was constant, and we couldn't sleep because we could hear the showers and toilets running from the room above us. Could hear every conversation in the hallway. A little disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Picklespickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Bermuda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When traveling to see friends in Buffalo I chose to stay at the Hotel at the Lafayette once again. Everything was spectacular from Alex at the front desk, to the valets when going to and from, this spectacular hotel gets top marks in my book!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmore, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is an open letter to Rocco Termini. It is part love letter, part plea.
Mr. Termini, I am so thankful for you for buying and restoring this wonderful hotel in the heart of our wonderful city. It is beautifully done and you re to be commended for it. We stayed last night in one of the suites and had a lovely time. The hotel is ALMOST a first class, 5 star hotel. I just want it to BE a first class, five star experience, and it misses. I love great hotels: the Faimount Royal York. The Taj Palace in Mumbai, the Kimberly in NYC, The Hotel Granduca in Houston, TX. and so on. The thing that distinguishes the greats from the not quite greats is attention to the details that make a guest feel pampered and special. In your hotel the rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished. The beds are very comfortable and the towels are perfect. The fireplace is amusing. However, in a "Bridal Suite" there should be bathrobes, a mini fridge, nicer toiletries. The room colors are lovely and soothing but a bit TOO masculine??
The continental breakfast is NOT good. We came down just before 9:00 to a sea of dirty dishes, no clean dishes and, frankly, a really uninspired food assortment. The Hampton Inns have a much better breakfast!
The Hotel LaFayette is beautiful and having Mike A's there is so amazing, (both the bar and the restaurant.) I love the Pan Am Grill also. I hate to write anything negative about your hotel BUT I want it to be a true Five Star hotel and not just a beautiful piece of architecture. Little details add up! Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After having stayed here, I can't see why anyone would go back to the Hampton Inn. The rooms are stunning, spacious and very tastefully decorated. The pricing for what you get is very hard to beat. Especially if you're from Toronto, you'll be shocked at what you get for $200 a night.

On the improvement side, Hotel@Lafayette can feel a bit like a hotel run by people that have never done this before. Small things like valet parking, baggage assistance, room service, calling a cab can be much harder here than you'd expect. I've seen the hotel get better with time and I hope to see it continue to improve.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.7 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
0.3 mi away
Lofts on Pearl
Lofts on Pearl
#12 of 24 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Property: Hotel @ The Lafayette
Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing