We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I recently took a last minute trip to Buffalo for our anniversary (not typical, I know, but it worked). Before our trip, I was looking at many different hotels, and was having a hard time finding a nice looking one in our price range. I eventually happened across The Lofts on Pearl, and it fit the bill (literally).

We rented a two bedroom suite for two nights. The suite had way more room than we needed, but it was what they had left when we booked, and the price was good. Everything was clean and in good order. Having a kitchen was especially convenient, as it saved us some money on food.

Service was good, and the people at the front desk were friendly.

The breakfast that was provided was tasty, but basic. Fortunately, guests can trade in their continental breakfast voucher for a $5 discount per person off of the regular breakfast menu, making the prices on that excellent.

The only complaint that I have about the stay was what they tried to charge us for parking ($20 per day). We talked to the people in the lot just to the north of the hotel (on the same block), and were able to stay there for significantly less.

We had no problems with the town. Buffalo isn't the gem of New York state by any means, but it has generally gotten nicer than when I visited 15 years ago. The area around the hotel seems to be fairly quiet, and the traffic is not bad, though I Imagine that it would be difficult on a game day, as the stadiums are nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jmpst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the first time for the taste of Buffalo festival. We had an amazing time. Great decor and employees.

Pro's:
Decor/ambiance
Lofts are modern and spacious
Great location
Staff went beyond what was expected

Con's:
A/C was broken in our loft. One of the girls went out after her shift to buy us fans.
The bathroom in our loft could use some new caulk and grout.
Parking at the hotel is expensive. $20 a night per car. Use the lot down the street.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I visited Buffalo for the first time to attend the Congress for New Urbanism conference - a gathering of urban planners, architects and others that work to improve cities through design and policy. I thought this place evidenced a harbinger of revitalization and urbanization coming to Buffalo - and just the trend I am in favor of. A trendy, hipster, lofty hotel in a cool old neighborhood. However, it is more reflective of the state of Buffalo's status in that journey - nascent, to say the least.

It is located on the south end of downtown, on a block with nearly no other functional businesses. It is completely deserted at all times of day. If you rely on foot to get to and from other locations in downtown, you will feel like you are walking though Nebraska. At night, it is worse - actually scary. The hotel borders on the end of the deserted downtown and the elevated highway district that rings the city on the south - not the most attractive terminal vista in the world. The hotel was built here likely for proximity to the stadia and arena, which provides some vitality - but of course, only during games. This so-called brewery district is a joke. But Buffalo has some fabulous neighborhoods that are really beautiful and very livable - but they are not here - they are much further north, where there are few, and no cool, hotels.

The hotel itself mirrors its location - while it takes design cues from the rustic urban style hypothetically found in NYC and other cities - there are many details that are not quite right - but they are trying very hard.

The bedroom in my 1 BR loft had no window - strange, maybe even illegal. The lighting was generally terribly designed, especially in the bathroom. The lobby is bizarrely empty and fitted with stadium seats. They doors to the rooms look like home-depot specials for the cul-de-sac set, and the logo for the place is super odd.

That said - there is a lot of good here deserving of praise. Many details are actually done really well - the exposed brick, high ceilings and exposed ductwork, for instance. The furnishings are definitely nice, and the sheets and comforter were really on par with top hotels. The room was huge, and price was fair.

This place must get serious props for attempting an independent, even "boutique" hotel of this type in this area - they truly are on the cutting edge of Buffalo's budding future and should be supported, independent of my grumbling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've stayed at the Lofts on Pearl in Buffalo recently with my colleagues. Great place, wonderful heritage restoration and adaptive reuse, excellent location in a city that makes great efforts for Downtown revitalization in particular based on its great architecture.
The suites are quite sizeable with two good bedrooms, a great kitchen and a very cool living room all full of character, with good quality contemporary finishes, some funky antiques pieces of furniture, exposed old brick and wood. The interior bedrooms looked a bit odd at the beginning but they are very quiet and having windows on the internal corridor, full of light was very nice in the morning.
Good location, steps from City Hall and the downtown core, not far from the arena, the harbour revitalization area and surprisingly quiet. Although the area is pretty much deserted in the evenings there were no safety problems whatsoever.
Breakfast at the restaurant next door is basic North American but their ample terraces were full in the evening (unfortunately we didn't have time to try their menu or great local drafts.
My only problem was that being too busy at this conference we didn't really take advantage of the kitchen or the living room...
I'm sure as the city evolves and the downtown is being revitalized a hidden gem like this will not go unnoticed....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here because I was attending a wedding reception on the first floor, and rooms had been reserved to alleviate having to travel afterwards. The "room" had all that was needed. 2 bedrooms with kingsized beds and the couch in the TV area also folds out. Full kitchen, even has a dishwasher, if you stay long enough to dirty that many dishes. Although not needed this trip, there is a gas fireplace in the TV araea too. Very clean. For a large group, well worth the price. If there is one area that they need to address, it is parking. There are several parking lots nearby but they offered $20 per night while other lots, which were closer to the front door, were either $12 or $8 for all day. Desk informed us as we were checking out that the restaurant next door had started having a party out on the patio which had loud music going on well after midnight. It did not affect my ability to sleep though. However, it could if you have young children.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiminSOMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and two children stayed in room 407 (a two bedroom suite) during the Canadian Holliday weekend in May. We were impressed by the reviews and the Hotel certainly lives up to its great rating! We have stayed at most hotels in Buffalo including The Mansion on Delaware. The Lofts on Pearl offer great value, ample room size, fantastic bed comfort, user friendly temperature control, good kitchen space and simple but good quality furniture. We were most impressed by how quiet the room was considering there was a prom going on at the first level of the hotel.This is by far the best value in Buffalo for a Hotel or Inn. This is truly a gem sure to be discovered quickly. The only limitations are it's location and a mediocre breakfast. Better to spend your money at 'On the Spot coffee' for a really decent breakfast and great coffee. I also recommend bringing snacks to store in the refrigerator as the closest food store is 10 minutes away. If you want a really great restaurant try out the 'Shimshack restaurant' just outside Lewiston.Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Suites offer great value for a family of four since connecting rooms seem so difficult to get at oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machiklabdron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great staff - very pleasant and accommodating! Loft was just perfect for our family of 5. While were only in Buffalo for a short time, we found the location close to our needs. Everything was in walking distance or a short drive. Breakfast next door was great - we chose to pay extra for the Non-continental and only cost a few bucks more (under $3 for the 5 of us). Recommend going to the Anchor Bar for wings! Just a short drive to Niagara Falls and/or the Canadian border if you are so inclined!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.2 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#12 of 25 in Buffalo
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
1.0 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel

Address: 92 Pearl St, Buffalo, NY 14202-4131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range: £111 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Buffalo's latest, most unique hotel properties located within the historic Webb building close to the emerging Canalside District! We are proud to announce that we are now open for business. Our hotel features 32 loft inspired suites containing either one or two bedrooms with a full kitchen, marble bathroom with large soaking tub (accessible rooms have roll in showers), and a cozy gas fireplace. All of our guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast available daily at Brawler's Back Alley Deli, located within the Pearl Street Brewery two doors down from the hotel. We would love to have the opportunity to give you the "Loft Experience," so stop on down and visit us for a tour of our property!We are adjoining the Pearl at The Webb, which offers ample banquet space for your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lofts on Pearl a Trademark Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing