We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the comforts of home!”
Review of Richmond Place Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richmond Place Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“All the comforts of home!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family had the pleasure of staying with Glenn at the Richmond Place Inn for 7 nights. We stayed in the two room suite with a shared Jack and Jill bath. Perfect for our needs. The service was superb. Glenn provides his cell phone number upon arrival so if you have any needs, all you have to do is ask. He is gracious and accommodating of everything we needed. Glenn is extremely knowledgeable about Buffalo and the surrounding areas and keeps on top of the festivals and events that might interest visitors. The house is beautiful! Full of character and charm. Yes, it is old and there will be constant repairs needed on a house that age and size. Anyone expecting a well polished, spotless experience should look to a national chain with no personality. Breakfast was delicious and special care was taken for my gluten sensitivity each day. The only two things I would say could have been better was a bit more variety in breakfast options and I would have liked a higher quality, softer bed. Overall a great experience and we will definitely stay with Glenn at the Richmond Place Inn anytime we visit Buffalo in the future.

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the back of the house. Quiet and easy access to the side door and parking. The tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    17
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
15
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent the night of 4th of July at the Richmond Place Inn. My boyfriend and I stayed there for two nights. Glen is such a great and lovely host. Heartening to know that he was the one who cooked us the delicious breakfasts. Something very homely about the place. Safe locality. Walking distance from the finest bars and restaurants in Buffalo. Charming little room.

Great job Glen!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyGos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife & I stayed for two nights at the Richmond Place Inn on a weekend trip to Buffalo to watch Bisons baseball. It was a nice 30-40 minute walk to the ballpark or just a short drive. The Inn is in a beautiful area of Buffalo and we very much enjoyed walking in the neighbourhood. The Inn itself is a classic older building with ongoing upgrades. Glen is a wonderful host, doing everything he can to make our visit comfortable & enjoyable. The included breakfast is excellent! The Richmond Place Inn has become our place to stay on our annual baseball trips to Buffalo. We look forward to enjoying Glen's hospitality again. Rob & Laurie C. Owen Sound, ON, Canada

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent the last night of a long drive at the Richmond Place Inn in Buffalo. We were warmly welcomed by Glen who helped us find a great place to eat within walking distance which was much appreciated after a long day's drive. We were amazed to learn about the Elmwood neighborhood and plan on returning to spend more time visiting the shops, coffee houses and local events. Our room was comfortable, quiet and the breakfast was delicious. Thank you Glen. Toni & Larry

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniL348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband planned this trip for us as we were going to be in Buffalo for the NCAA men's basketball action: he wanted something a bit different than a standard hotel room, and after doing some searching on the Internet, found this B & B and booked it for us. The reviews were very good, and we were pleased to find out that they were accurate! It is a charming place with a lot of history going for it. Our room was very comfortable, and we appreciated the amenities such as the mini fridge, flat screen TV, and microwave. They supplied us with plenty of towels,etc. Glen is a great cook and host: the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, and he gave us lots of information about sights to see, directions, etc. He is really knowledgable about the history of the surrounding neighborhood! There is plenty of parking in the back also, and we were amazed how quickly we could access the highway from there..easy on..easy off. He is working hard to update the place, and it will be even better than it is now! We will definitely recommend this place to anyone, and look forward to staying there if we go to Buffalo again! Thanks Glen!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndyMOrzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed there two nights in January very pleased,will stay there again.Glen is very nice guy works hard to make your stay a good one.We had snow when we were there so I asked Glen on Saturday night if he had a broom I could use on Sunday morning he said he would put one by my car.When I went out Sunday Morning he had swept all the snow off my car.His breastfasts were a real treat they were great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was in town recently for a Combination Valentine's day/Birthday treat for my boyfriend Doug, and I could not have picked a better place to bed down for the night! I wanted to treat him to something special to end the night, and this place popped up on my radar.

I have never stayed at a B&B before, however I was pleasantly surprised as to how great it was given the inexpensive price for two people. The place is definitely a little run down, but through my at least 30 minutes of conversation with Glen over breakfast, I found out that his father used to own the place, and was content with not changing much. Since Glen took over, he has been trying his hardest to update the place, but given the historical classification, he has to jump through numerous hoops to get the city to approve changes.

He also is very flexible for dietary restrictions. We're both vegan, and he was more than willing to make us a delicious breakfast including vegan bacon, home fries, sauteed apples, and toast with all sorts of drinks on the side.

Glen is also very knowledgeable about Allentown, where the B&B is located. He can give you any and all information about the surrounding activities, and restaurants, and is more than willing to describe his own experiences to give you better perspective.

Some aspects were a little less than appealing, such as the shower. The pressure was pretty bad, and the water didn't get that hot, but I managed. I also had a hard time finding Glen when I needed him. I accidentally locked my keys (and my phone) in my car shortly after checking in, and I had to walk back to my boyfriend to get the spare key (about 8 blocks in the cold).

All in all, I love to come back here in the future, if only to watch the progress of this place as Glen restores it. You need to understand before coming here that it is very old, and needs a lot of work, but that he's doing his best! I plan on making my next return trip this summer after I graduate college, or maybe even earlier if I have the time!

Thanks again Glen, can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: They're all about the same from what I can tell, but if there's something you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
1.4 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,772 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Place Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Place Inn

Property: Richmond Place Inn
Address: 45 Richmond Ave, Buffalo, NY 14222-2107
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and comfortable one of the most conveniently located places, Richmond Place has it all. It is strategically situated in between the majestic Niagara Falls and not to forget close to all the major shopping centers so that there is plenty to take back home. There is a delicate blend of modern convenience and a home-like atmosphere. The best part of this place, however is the sumptuous warm breakfast that is available every morning. If you're feeling homesick and yearning for some home food then this is as good as it gets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing