We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danny's Restaurant

Danny's Restaurant
Ranked #107 of 1,026 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing food Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This restaurant was recommended by the Marriott Fairfield Inn. Only about a mile from the hotel. Great home cooked food with a Buffalo buzz. Amazing Buffalo Wing soup. Unlimited soup and salad bar. Very well priced and greats servers

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yesforscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    67
    27
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family Style Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good food selection with friendly staff & patrons. Sat in the Dining Room area inside entrance. Bar area was nearby & another dinning area beyond the wall where we sat. Good selection of dishes on the menu and the food was delivered to the table quickly. The meals were average fare for a family style restaurant. Did not leave hungry :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carefree2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
746 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
“Gone down hill!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Frequented Danny's for over 30 years. Usually enjoyed fish fry on Fridays or beef on weck. Service has always been good and was so on this occasion. However, the fish plate got smaller and more expensive. Although the salad bar automatically comes with the dinner, it would be better to have it as a separate item and once again but your choice of potato, slaw, etc. on the plate. I only had a small bowl of Buffalo chicken soup with my fish plate. My husband ordered the wings and fries. We both enjoyed our meal but Danny's used to be so much better. In the past we would take family or friends out to eat because everything on the menu was delicious, hot and fresh and reasonable. Not reasonable any more. We took our relatives out to Alton's on Walden instead of Danny's and had a much better experience. Don't think we'll be back to Danny's in the future. Fish fry was just so-so but $13 is just way too expensive for what you get. Service was great as usual. Total bill$38.99 without tip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryannF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elma, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great soup and salad bar.....love the fish fry too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Been there many times and always great. Large portions with reasonable prices. Love it there! Buffalo chicken wing soup is to die for and best I ever had....have visited both locations and you can't go wrong at either airport or orchard park location. Drink prices are reasonable also


Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank elma1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“''If I want frozen fish, I'll take the fish sticks out of my freezer''”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ordered the fish fry haddock. It was all coated with thick doughy coating, with very little fish, and had no taste whatsoever. And the 13.00 cost was very high for the fish and fries. The chicken wing soup was mostly potatoes, so It should have been called ''tater soup''. Our waitress said shes been working there for 17 years, and her attitude and lack of friendness showed a ''I dont care attitude''. A smile, would crack her face. For a lunch time on a friday, there was very little business, which speaks volumes for the food. The salad bar was just ok, and the side salads like macaroni salad had no taste. The last time I was here was 8 years ago, and how the place and food has gone downhill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank coach787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Danny's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Danny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing