We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off”
Review of Cozumel Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cozumel Grill
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Wanted somewhere to celebrate Cinco De Mayo. This sounded good. Over 3000 people attend every year. Free chips & salsa. Went & they wanted $10 each so we could stand on their patio & spend money on sad Margaritas. Do the math on the $10 each X 3,000. Nether saw one free chip or Salsa. Sorry but this guy is out to make money. Once bitten twice shy. NEVER again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    4
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The food is terrible....that's the best thing I can say about this place”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

When Cozusmell...sorry, Cozumel first opened as the Elmwood Outback 13 years ago it was pretty cool. They took an interesting building next to an alley and made it into a decent neighborhood place that wasn't all that hip given it's location in the bohemian section of Buffalo, but it wasn't too cool to fool either. Due to legal reasons they had to change the name and things have steadily declined since. The clientele is basically suburban neanderthal, the help not much above that. There are people wishing for this joint's demise. I doubt very much it will be missed when that happens.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsar811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“What happened to this place???”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The menu was incredibly limited and we order 4 different samples and they were all BAD!! Guacomole wasn't ripe so they decided to chop it in small chunks of hard jalepeno- looked more like cucumber salad. Burrito was cold and without flavor. Enchilidas had no beans for the side- the rice was hard and choppy.

An overall horrible experience- there are so many other amazing restaurants and dining spots. We won't ever go back! Avoid!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm sure this place will be closed soon!!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have always liked the ambiance of this restaurant/bar that has one of the best outdoor patios in the city. thay have gone down hill quickly. We stopped in for a couple of tequila drinks and tacos. We were told that thay were out of almost everything on the menu. They ran out of triple sec so only one margarita. I looked up at the bar and notices almost no booze selections. A new Mexican place just opened on the corner just a few hundred feet away on the same day as our visit so we checked it out......much better. If Cozumel can get back making good drinks and awsome food .......................

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonD396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“HOT Food, Lousy Service, Lots of Hassle”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My gf and I had a Groupon for this restaurant so we decided to go. We sat down to order and apparently there are no drink menu's, just a dinner menu, even then it was one page.

Our waitress said they can't except our Groupon because they've had fraudulent ones coming in for the printed out ones so we can't use it. We explained that the Groupon was on our phone and not printed out. Eventually our waitress said that she could accept it because it was Groupon; Living Social coupons were the ones that were bad.

We ordered our food which came quickly. VERY SPICY. We're used to eating a lot of Indian food and this was extremely hot for us. I wanted to ask our waitress for sour cream on the side but we finished eating before she came back to us. Also they served us dip, but no tortilla chips for them. Again I was going to ask for the chips, but we were done before she came back.

So before she brings us the bill, she now tells us that we can't use the Groupon because it's not printed out; exactly the opposite of what she originally said. After she talked to the manager, they decided that just this one time, we could use the Groupon if they could write the number down on the back of the receipt. I should have to argue with the place to use a perfectly legit Groupon.

So overall, short menu, no drink menu, slow or non-existant service, far too spicy food, and you have to fight with them to use a coupon...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KipsterED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing