We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Surprise!”
Review of Cafe 59

Cafe 59
Ranked #109 of 1,034 Restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: Soups, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe 59 serves up some of Buffalo's best wine, beer and cocktails. Offering distinctive handcrafted sandwiches the real gold can be found in the homemade soups, salads with in house created dressings and an eclectic mix of entrées and ever changing daily specials. Selections range from the entrée sized Cafe Salad to a perfectly grilled Flatiron Steak and are sure to please any whose tastes range from vegan to obligate carnivore.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
437 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“What a Surprise!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have driven and walked by Cafe 59 many times but never got around to stopping in. After having an awful time trying to find parking on the Elmwood Strip we decided to try Allentown for lunch. Lo, and behold! There was a parking space (metered). The restaurant is not fancy but is is comfortable with artwork on the walls (for sale). We sat at the bar which has an extensive beer menu with most beers costing $4.00 a pint. The food was excellent. I had the Build Your Own sandwich (choose the bread, meat, cheese, etc.) for $8.00. My daughter had the fish fry which came with potato wedges and cole slaw for $10.00. There is also a dining room with more artwork, this time by artistic clients of the Starlight Studio and Art Gallery. Our servers were excellent and weren't always in our faces (I like that).We plan on going back to try their homemade bread which looked highly unusual.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Aurora, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“spice & flair”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Discovered this Allentown restaurant about a month ago and have been there three times. Each visit yielded unusual and reasonably priced dishes, and really reasonable and tasty cocktails. Service is friendly and competent. Fellow diners run the gamut of the bohemian lifestyle.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EA_TRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
1,083 reviews
474 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
“Great food, modest pricing”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here several times when we visit Buffalo on the weekends. The food is always been consistently good. What surprises me is the preparation and quality is extremely good whereas the pricing is modest.

We typically order the mussels and white wine sauce. They're fresh. I ordered shrimp and artichoke entrée over rice which was extraordinarily good.

Andrew the waiter was wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endwell, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great spot for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to Café 59 for lunch. Perfect location in Allentown, where our son has an apartment. Reasonably priced, large portions, great value! They advertise that you can add a cup of soup for just $1.00 when ordering a hot lunch, but what came to our table looked more like a bowl than a cup. We had the Asian shrimp salad and the chicken Caesar salad, both were great. The only disappointment was the smoked mozzarella bites. They were breaded and fried. We normally don’t eat fried foods so we’ll take some of the fault for not asking the question when we ordered them. Friendly service. Fresh ingredients. Clean, brightly lit, outdoor seating. Definitely worth a second trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot in Allentown”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I work in the Buffalo-Niagara Medical Camput, and on a sunny Friday afternoon, my boss took us (myself and my 3 colleagues) to Cafe 59. We walked there and back, the first plus about this restaurant - we didnt have to deal with Allen Street parking. This restaurant has a very laid back feel to it. When we walked in, we were told to sit anywhere, but we didn't know we had to pick up our own menus so we were confused when the waitress came to take our order!! When you order a meal, the drink is included & you can pick from any cooler a cold drink or any hot drink you would like. We all had different sandwiches & they were awesome. The hummus is homemade, as is most menu items here, and was soooo good!! Our lunches were fast, which is a plus when you have limited time to eat. We would all definately return to Cafe 59 for another lunch date!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe 59 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing