We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've stayed in lots and lots of hotels, from five stars to two stars. This is by far one of the best hotels I've every stayed in. So beautiful. From the moment you pull up, you ignore all the construction outside. The sheer perfection of the interior design takes your breath away. Two efficient, welcoming desks at the reception are book ended by a business center on the left, with three computers and two printers, an outdoor firepit and seating, with a view of the canal outside, a separate living room type area with flat screen television, and on the right, there is a cute little cafe for easy and convenient bites. It was so nice to grab an easy dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. Reasonably priced too. You can have a cocktail, wine or beer with your dinner. Sit in one of the booths, and it's complete with a private television.

There's also a salt water pool, which is just a joy to swim in. It's so pretty down there. The rooms are gorgeous. Comfy beds. Pretty bathrooms. I can't gush enough over this hotel. The kids wanted to come back as soon as we left.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Good morning, ddetravel, and thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We are so happy that you had such a great stay! You provide a lovely description of our main entry. Thank you. The Bistro is an excellent place to eat, with fast and fresh food. Oh, and wine and beer! Can’t forget that. We are so thrilled to have a salt water pool. Not only is it the only salt water pool in Buffalo, but it is also eco-friendly! We are excited for you and your family to return. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have never written a hotel review before but because I was so impressed I felt I had to! I stayed here with a friend from college, we went to see Bruno Mars at the First Niagara Center. I need an accessible room and it was amazing, there was even a chair to get into the pool and the hot tub which were both heavenly. The location to FNC was so convenient. We easily walked (rolled in my case) to and from the concert. We are planning another girls night and returning next year! I would advise anyone going to downtown Buffalo to stay here, I even posted on FB about how amazing it was! The staff couldn't have possibly been more friendly and helpful. We even had to basically force Jessica (who was wonderful) to take a tip from us by sneaking it by her computer
Go be pampered and enjoy the beds too, as my friend said it was like sleeping on a cloud!

Room Tip: Ask and they will accommodate your every need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Nancy S, this review just made us smile ear to ear. Thank you so much for sharing your stay on not only TripAdvisor, but also Facebook! The fact that you have never written a hotel review and you chose to write one based on your great experience at our hotel speaks volumes to us. Thank you! It’s true: we are a well-appointed location with easy access to First Niagara Center. We are so happy that you enjoyed the pool and hot tub, as well as our terrific staff. We look forward to your girl’s night next year. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed one night in this beautiful hotel. Everything was exceptionally clean and well appointed. The kids had fun in the pool and hot tub and were able to burn off some energy before a quiet and restful sleep in the very comfy beds. The friendly staff went out of their way to see to all of our needs providing recommendations for restaurants (The Pearl Street Brewery was excellent), helping us with directions, checking in and checking out. We most definitely will return to the hotel when we stay in Buffalo again.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Jim A, We are thrilled that you had such a fantastic stay. Thank you for sharing it with everyone on TripAdvisor! We are so happy that you enjoyed our pool and hot tub. It certainly is a nice nightcap. We are fortunate to be in such a great area, with new restaurants and attractions popping up as we speak! We are excited for your next visit so you can see what else has developed in Canalside! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here two nights. Get directions on how to get there from the hotel since many of the surrounding roads are closed due to construction and redevelopment. Our Google maps directions didn't work and we had to go up and down various streets until we entered off of Washington Street. Check in was fast and very efficient The room was large and overlooked the light rail transit stop on Main St. We heard a little screeching from the tracks, but it wasn't a problem. There was a curved love seat which we didn't find very comfortable to sit on and which we had to kneel on to open and close the curtains. There was a large flatscreen TV, a desk and chair, a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom was very large and there was a walk in shower instead of a tub. I found it hard to get the water hot enough without turning the control all the way to hot but I finally did and didn't get burned. When we arrived, there was no hand soap in the bathroom but I was given two bars when I requested some at the desk. There was no soap dish, though. There were lots of towels. The bed was extremely comfortable and we couldn't hear the neighbors. The location was great for us. We had tickets to a Bisons game and were able to walk a short distance up the street to get there. Walking home after the game was safe. The next day, we visited Canalside. It is right across the street from the hotel. We had a lovely walk and were able to look at the old Navy ships, listen to live music and shop at kiosks set up by local artisans We came back to the room in the afternoon. They were giving a tour of various properties in Buffalo to busloads of people. They were all lined up at the elevator to go up and view a room. The guide who was holding one of the two elevators told us to wait until all the people had gone up. I pushed the elevator button anyway and told him that we were guests in the hotel. Fortunately, someone was coming up in the other elevator and it stopped for us. It was annoying that we had to try to walk through a horde of people to get to the elevators and had to deal with the man telling us what to do. We could hear the soundcheck for the band playing at Canalside that night in our room so be aware, especially if the music is of a genre you're not fond of! We had tickets for the concert, so we were happy to hear a preview. The concert was over at 10pm (we were told that all concerts at Canalside have to end at 10).The exterior of the hotel is very impressive at night with fountains, fairy lights in the trees,and a gas fireplace outside the lounge. During the day, you look at construction sites. They are building a complex across the street that will hold a hotel, shops, and a training facility with two ice rinks. We ate one breakfast in the Bistro in the lobby. It was good and we liked the Starbucks coffee. The valet parking was excellent. We didn't have to drive anywhere during our stay because the location of the hotel was so convenient. Our car was brought to us quickly and we were able to find the I-190 North very easily. We would stay here again if we wanted to see a Bisons game or the Sabres or a concert at Canalside or the First Niagara Center.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Good morning, SweetD, and thank you so much for your extensive review of our hotel. We are so happy that you found our location to be so convenient that you did not even have to use your car. We are fortunate to be close to wonderful attractions like Canalside, the Naval Park, the First Niagara Center, and many delicious restaurants. Our area is undergoing a complete revitalization, so it is really fun for us to see all of the work being put into Canalside. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the loveseat, and that you were told to wait for an elevator. I will certainly speak with our team about this. We are, however, very happy that we will return to stay with us during your next event in the area. Thank you very much for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed overnight for a concert at the Canalside. Friendly professional staff, they must have had some kind of training, everyone was great. Stayed 2nd floor, not a great view as there is a new Marriott going up across the street and all we could see was beams. No prob tho, lots of other things to see. At only 5 weeks old, a glitch or two was forgivable, as there was some confusion over our breakfast rate but was handled quickly and professionally. The Bistro food was surprisingly good and fresh, best tuna sandwich ever, hubby had the club, also excellent, and a very nice breakfast plate. Room was beautiful, great layout, beautiful bathroom, comfy bed, all decorated fresh and bright and ultra modern. Props to Chrissie who checked us in and out and also took care of shipping my iPad charger back to me when I forgot it in the room. Valet parking guys were great, $12 charge is very reasonable. Smooth and expeditious all around. Great location, can't wait to see it when the area revival is complete. Good for you Buffalo!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaMoglieItaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Good afternoon, LaMoglieItaliana, and thank you for your review! We expect that once the construction around our property is completed, the views will be even better. Right now guests can view historic buildings, Canalside, as well as various happenings in the city. We are proud to offer a fresh and delicious selection at the Bistro. Good choice on the tuna sandwich! It’s one of our favorites. Chrissie is a valued member of our front desk staff. Thank you for mentioning her name. We will be sure to send those compliments her way. We look forward to your next trip to our hotel. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Took my family here for the weekend, as it was not far from home and we like to check out new hotels. Location was great (very easy to get back on the I-190 South and ask the front desk for fairly easy directions to get to the I-190 North); we walked to the Naval Park easily, and its location on the Main Street line makes it easy to get to places like Shea's. Lots of construction currently, but that will only improve the area even more. Only about 25 min from Niagara Falls too.

Rooms were lovely, as people stated before. I love the new design concept. The hallways were so unique for a hotel since it's a remodeled building. My kids loved just being able to explore our floor. Soundproofing was great; we never heard anyone else or outside noise. We were by two major highways and couldn't tell. Plus, there was a concert going on at Canalside, and you couldn't hear it at all unless you went outside. Fitness room was perfect--two ellipticals, two bikes, two treadmills, headphones, towels, etc. Pool area was gorgeous; pool itself was a little too cold for my two and four year old. However, when we mentioned the pool temp to the staff, they took care of it right away.

Speaking of the staff, they were fantastic. Jessica at the front desk went out of her way to say hello to us every time we walked by (we're hard to miss with two young boys), and she made sure a crib (Pack 'n Play) was delivered to our room. Also, the Valet staff were also all fun and friendly. The place is so new (and was busy), I knew the staff must be stressed, but they didn't let it show.

I come to Buffalo a lot (I used to live here and love to visit often), so this will be my new hotel of choice (at least until the Full Service Marriott opens across the street).Only downside was that, since it's a Courtyard, there was no free breakfast (I'm a Gold Rewards member). But, if you're thinking of checking this place out, you should!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much, PSUEmily, for not only writing such a detailed review of our hotel, but for posting photos! You note so many wonderful key attributes of our hotel---the great sound-proofing, well-equipped fitness center, easy highway access, fantastic location, and friendly and attentive staff. Thank you! We worked diligently to ensure that we were creating a hotel that would not just meet, but exceed guests’ needs. Thank you for mentioning Jessica, as well. She is a fantastic team member. Thank you for your business. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The room was clean and the furniture design modern and fun, but the couch was placed directly in front of the window, so you have to climb on the couch to open and close the curtains. Awkward! The couch could have been placed at an angle, but it was too heavy for us to move. The bed was comfortable. There is valet parking, if you want it, or less expensive public parking very close by. The hotel check-in clerk told us the public parking was closed on weekends, but it wasn't. The location near the canal, military museum, and restaurant is great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with no couch blocking access to the curtains and no column blocking easy viewing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Good afternoon, Jana H! Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We are so happy that you like the modern design and amenities, as well as the location. We will definitely consider a kitty-corner placement for the couch so that the view can be maximized. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Westin Buffalo
The Westin Buffalo
#9 of 25 in Buffalo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside

Address: 125 Main Street, One Canalside, Buffalo, NY 14203
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range: £127 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the heart of Canalside in downtown Buffalo, NY and is only one block away from KeyBank Center. Travel around town on the Buffalo Metro Rail, which conveniently has a stop right outside of the hotel. The onsite restaurant and bar serves breakfast, Starbucks(R) coffee, dinner and evening drinks, or grab a bite to eat at the Pizza Plant, which is connected to our hotel. Guests enjoy the onsite fitness center, indoor heated pool & whirlpool, business center and boarding pass printing center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing