We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel in developing Canalside area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great new hotel in developing Canalside area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is another bright spot in what appears to be a terrific developing area of downtown Buffalo called Canalside. Conveniently located near the start of the Color Run we participated in, this hotel exceeded our expectations of a typical Courtside property. We had a corner room with a very modern sitting room, a large bathroom and decent sized bedroom with large flatscreens and lots of windows. Staff was extremely friendly, even offering our tired teenagers pillows as we waited for our room to be cleaned. While we saw trails of post race runners, we also saw staff diligently cleaning any trace of color left behind. The place remained spotless. Terrific weekend made even better by our stay here!

Room Tip: Corner room allows for additional sitting room and larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagevacationeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Good morning, Sagevactioneer, and thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had quite the fun weekend with the Color Run. We are in a lovely developing area called Canalside, with easy access to Downtown, Larkinville, and Allentown, as well as the Elmwood Village. When choosing furnishings and amenities for this property, we went with what the modern traveler desires. We are so happy that you liked it! We hope to see you again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    79
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
61
90
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We always lean toward Marriott properties when we travel. This one did Marriott proud. New, yes, but it's other things that contributed. Watching housekeeping work, making sure all the little details were not overlooked, was neat. The attention to detail in the layout and decor was great. The staff is very genuinely friendly. The gals who greatest us were super!
I hope to see either a greater knowledge base of the area, or a dedicated concierge, in the future. We almost missed a couple of GREAT local gems because later that evening, the young lady at the desk wasn't well versed on the area, nor was she into sports, so she couldn't tell us about the ball park. Lol Not a complaint, since this location is new - just hoping for future guests. ;) She was also very polite and professional, as were each staff member with whom we came in contact.

The hallways are bright and wide, as well as attractive. Rooms are nicely laid out, ample room for storage if needed. We had a suite (so two TV's), a nice couch and chair area. Couch pulled out into a bed - nice surprise for our teenager. Nice, bright colors in the room, bathroom - smart decorating and layout. Lots of plugs for recharging. ;).

Laundry facilities are conveniently located next to the STUNNINGLY GORGEOUS pool/gym area. (Wish I could add a photo!) You can swim or work out while doing your laundry (one washer, one dryer - both very nice. $1 per load).

The outside is just as nice as inside. There is a propane fire pit with lounge chairs, a gazebo with seating and CUTE bistro seating along a tree-lined area, next to a fountain with several spouts of water, like a water sculpture. It has a walk-in edge so you can get your feet wet if you'd like. Very welcoming! The valets are very professional and friendly. I enjoyed the security of the facility as well.

To say there is a "Starbucks on the premises" is a stretch. It's more like a Starbucks-light. They have a few items, not the blended beverages. The menu items offered in the Bistro area are segmented and a few items were not available for the "dinner/late time" menu, but there were some things to eat if you wanted them.

The hotel is RIGHT ON THE mass transit line which is neat. It's like a street car, rather than a bus or train. Nice. It's also near the baseball field (we took in a game), marina (great river history tour) and restaurants are within easy walking distance. (Pearl Brewery and Irish Times are good choices).

There is construction going on in this area, which seems to be going through a wonderful resurgence. We were here during the week, during construction work but didn't hear a thing. This is going to be a hot spot very soon!

I highly recommend this Marriott!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you, Ang S, for such an extensive review! It sounds as though you really enjoyed what our city has to offer during your stay! We are extremely proud to be in such a great, up-and-coming area. We took great care in choosing many details for this new hotel. All of your compliments, regarding the hotel and our staff, are very much appreciated. Thank you for the note on the regional expertize. We will be sure to address that with our front desk staff to ensure that they were better versed in the happenings of our city! We very much appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you the next time your travels take you to Buffalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here overnight for a business/pleasure trip to Buffalo. The hotel is downtown/canalside. We found the room to be spacious with wonderful furnishings and color scheme. Bath was large. Room was spotless. I especially liked all of the lounge areas and the exercise/pool area. There is a lot of construction going on nearby, but we heard no noise in our room. The parking valet was very knowledgeable about the area and added a nice touch to our stay. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davmar97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are delighted, davmar97, that you had such a great stay. At the expense of additional guest rooms, we gave guests more common space. We know that guests really enjoy the ability to stretch their arms outside of their own guest rooms. Thank you for also noting the absence of noise despite construction. Some of our guests become nervous when seeing the new construction, but we have taken the liberty of add a third pane of glass in our building. Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is really good hotel, comfortable and with a good layout. Showers are really big and spotless. Of course it is brand new, hope it stays fresh. They don't have family suites and wish they had free breakfast, considering other hotels like the Embassy suites have it. Valet is a bit expensive for Buffalo..

Room Tip: It could be noisy as there is construction going on around the hotel. Manageable as the walls are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Good morning, gadha. Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are brand new and we expect to keep everything in tip top shape! We have a fantastic housekeeping department that works relentlessly to ensure that guests have a clean and comfortable environment. On your next stay, we encourage you to try out our Bistro, where we have a delicious selection of breakfast options. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful new location. Maybe nicest CY I have ever stayed in. Arrived late and staff was friendly. Upgraded to a spacious room with all of the latest updates you could imagine. Highly recommend this downtown Buffalo Hotel. Very large lobby area topped it all. Well done Marriott

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Fantastic! We are so happy, Rex G, that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to upgrade you. Marriott's intention when designing this hotel was to consider the needs of today’s travelers, from families to business people. Everything is customized to ensure an optimal hotel experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here at the end of July. The hotel is brand new. Rooms were spotless, big and comfortable with interesting furnishings and layout. The hotel had a small snack bar and vending type food. The included wifi was fast and easy to log onto. The surrounding area is undergoing considerable redevelopment. Some roads around the hotel were closed but we were able to maneuver around them fairly easily. It is convenient to downtown, Lake Erie and the First Niagara Center. The Buffalo light rail is steps from the front door. The pool and fitness center are above what you would expect for a Courtyard. When the Erie Canal restoration and other building construction is complete, this will be a very desirable location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerNYC-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Good afternoon, TravelerNYC-1, and thank you so much for your review! As Buffalo residents, we are so proud of the development in Downtown Buffalo and Canalside. And as proud as we are, we’re very excited for the future! We see this area as being a major hub for travel, tourism, and entertainment in Buffalo, and we are happy to be a part of it! We invite you to stay with us again, the next time you are in Buffalo. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are just leaving a two night stay at theCourtyard. My daughter and I were in downtown Buffalo for a three day swim meet. The building is brand new and sparkling! We stayed in a king suite, which was a spacious and comfortable room. The bed and pillows were heavenly. Our room had a view of the canal, but this area of Buffalo is going through a lot of construction, so we had a view of that as well. Oh well! The staff was attentive and helpful throughout our stay. We walked to two casual, but delicious restaurants at their suggestion. One was Pearl Street Grill and the other was Liberty Hound. The staff allowed us a late checkout, due to my daughter's swim schedule, and we were quite appreciative. If in downtown Buffalo again, I will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Good Afternoon, We are so happy, Beth C, that you had a lovely stay at our hotel, in our king suite! We are really proud the work we have put into this historic building to turn it into the Courtyard Downtown/Canalside. We have worked to ensure that guests are comfortable and well taken care of here. Your compliments are the reward to our hard work. There is much in the works in our area and we are so excited to be in the middle of the action! I’m sure during your next visit, you will see so many fantastic changes. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside

Property: Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Address: 125 Main Street, One Canalside, Buffalo, NY 14203
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the heart of Canalside in downtown Buffalo, NY and is only one block away from KeyBank Center. Travel around town on the Buffalo Metro Rail, which conveniently has a stop right outside of the hotel. The onsite restaurant and bar serves breakfast, Starbucks(R) coffee, dinner and evening drinks, or grab a bite to eat at the Pizza Plant, which is connected to our hotel. Guests enjoy the onsite fitness center, indoor heated pool & whirlpool, business center and boarding pass printing center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing