We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect place to stay on Elmwood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House
Ranked #3 of 5 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The most perfect place to stay on Elmwood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I cannot gush enough about this inn. It was so perfect for me and I consider myself to be very picky (mostly about linens). The decor was stunning, the bed and linens were awesome, I had a great view of Elmwood. The bathroom was incredible! Seriously. It had a stained glass window that was bigger than me! Plus a little kitchen right across the hall. I put wine and leftovers in there and made myself tea every morning. The owner was so nice and has a gorgeous and sweet as pie rescue dog. Close to everything in the Village, no need for a car unless you really must have one. Bus stop is across the street. Took it to Allentown one night ($1.75, I think). I just loved everything about this inn.

Room Tip: One room does NOT have an attached bathroom (the one I stayed in). The bathroom is private but is ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorker4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
66
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

A group of college friends took over the whole B and B and had a wonderful weekend together. I often stay in B and B's and Honu place was one of the most charming I've been in--with gorgeous tribal rugs, many artifacts from the owner's travels, interesting art work...truly individual. Conversations over the simple but delicious breakfasts and our self catered dinners were nurtured by the welcoming environment. A winner!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I stayed with Karen on the way to Niagria falls. We will be back to explore Buffalo and would definitely stay with Karen who was a terrific resource and affable hostess. Great location to stay and a fantastic neighborhood of lovely old houses with neat architecture on the side streets which made exploring by foot great fun.
Joanne and Frank

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I visited Buffalo for a long weekend to see friends, and we picked the Elmwood Village Inn. SO glad we did. Karen is a sweetheart, and her B&B was homey and welcoming. We stayed in the Middle Western Room, which was cozy and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was divided, and half was an open marble shower, which was lots of fun to use (look ma, no shower curtain!) Karen provided us with luxurious soaps and body wash, and outside our room was a dresser filled with extra supplies (ibuprofin, water bottles, toothpaste, and other toiletries). Right down the hall was a kitchenette stocked with different kinds of tea, a micro/toaster, mini fridge, and sink. Felt like a cross between a B&B and staying with a dear friend. In the morning, Karen baked amazing muffins and coffee cakes (can't stop thinking about the vegan ginger muffins, and I'm not even vegan), and even stocked up on skim milk so I could have my favorite first drink of the day. On our last morning, we needed to leave early, so Karen sent us on our way with blueberry scones and a big hug. We'll absolutely be back the next time we visit Buffalo.

Room Tip: The suites are HUGE, but our room was visually the prettiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenEyedRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My previous trip to Buffalo had me in a big soulless hotel downtown. I was not making that mistake again. I stumbled upon this place and am I ever glad. The location is absolutely perfect in the heart of Elmwood Village and surrounded by great shops and restaurants. The common areas of the inn are beautiful and very inviting. I stayed in the Skylight Suite which has to be the bargain of the century. There is a large living room, full kitchen, full bathroom and separate bedroom with another sitting area. And it had character! My first apartment was not this large or this nice. Best of all was the owner, Karen. I felt like I was staying at the home of the most gracious, intelligent friend you could ask for. And she can cook too. I am allergic to milk and she made delicious food I could eat. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Buffalo. Ron Gardner

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the Skylight Suite is the standout and you get your own HVAC system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Karen has the loveliest of homes, her personality and charm was beyond expectation. The Inn was beautiful, clean, the fresh, home made baked goods were delicious and you could just imagine every little piece of furniture and art work has a story. We look forward to coming again, thank you for making us feel so welcome! the Baptista's

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danbaptista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife and I came through Buffalo on our way to Ithaca, and loved this place so much! The house is eclectically decorated, and we stayed in the Middle East room and the room and the bathroom were clean and spacious. Karen's recommendations and breakfasts were always right-on, and she even gave us walking routes and suggested places for us to go once we got to Ithaca. We will definitely stop in again if we make it back to Buffalo! Thanks Karen.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RioSawhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.8 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue
0.1 mi away
InnBuffalo off Elmwood
InnBuffalo off Elmwood
#1 of 25 in Buffalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House

Property: Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House
Address: 893 Elmwood Ave, corner St. James Pl, Buffalo, NY 14222-1412
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House Hotel Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing