We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House
Ranked #3 of 5 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in the Skylight Suite. It was very spacious and had everything we could have asked for. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was handy to have the little kitchenette. Both mornings we were treated to delicious homemade baking, coffee/tea and fruit.

The location is perfect. You could walk everywhere. The Village has lots of unique shops, restaurants, and even nightclubs that are open till 4 a.m.!

Karen was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Skylight Suite was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTakeaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
68
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The location is extremely convenient, in a neighborhood near beautiful parks and parkways. The inn is well appointed, and our host couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. She was extremely helpful in getting us properly oriented and gave us excellent recommendations for places to visit (Frank Lloyd Wright's Graycliff Estate and Darwin Martin complex) and restaurants (nearby Hutch's was especially good). We also discovered a yoga studio and a fitness studio (Bike or Bar) directly across the street. And for early morning runs, Delaware Park was only about half a mile away. The buffet breakfasts featured fresh fruit and freshly baked muffins and other treats -- the perfect start to each day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Karen provides a most hospitable and comfortable inn, located within easy access of museums and downtown Buffalo and expressways to Niagara Falls. The inn is appointed beautifully with items from around the world, and she is a generous and accommodating,knowledgeable and FLEXIBLE hostess! We can't thank her enough for making our family reunion/wedding a true home away from home. Given that we were on a busy street in Buffalo, with easy access to restaurants, bars, parks, beautiful neighborhoods, it was remarkably quiet and parking was a breeze.

Room Tip: Our master suite had an enormous tub, just the thing for an afternoon read with beautiful sun stream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at Elmwood Village Inn in July and had a wonderful visit. While my boyfriend had been to the area many times, it was my first time in the Elmwood Village area. It is a great spot to wander around (shops, restaurants, etc) and a short drive to the galleries/museums. Lovely breakfasts with no pressure to be up at a certain time as in other b&b's that serve large breakfasts at a set time. This suited our need to sleep in and yet still get a nice home baked treat before setting off for the day. The room was well appointed and a small kitchenette area is a great idea (but we didn't use it). We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This b&b is in an urban area so expect some street noise, especially on the weekend. Karen does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I hadn't been back to Buffalo since I graduated from UB in 2005, and after staying at the Elmwood Village Inn I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The location is perfect. It's right in the middle of the Elmwood/Allentown area surrounded by shops, restaurants and museums. Karen's a great host. No big breakfast, but she bakes something different every morning. My wife and I stayed in the Master Suite, which we loved. Added bonus was the small kitchenette area outside of the room. Mini fridge perfect for storing wine...or wings from Duffs. We both wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Master Suite was fantastic. Bedroom has adjoining living area with jacuzzi, TV and little laptop wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjcorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband had never been to a bed and breakfast before. He agreed to give it a try and was glad he did! It's in a perfect location for all the sights and Karen gave us help with reservations and suggestions for things to do and see. The master suite had a jacuzzi and a lovely sitting room. We enjoyed the other guests each morning over delicious treats.
Susan and Tom

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Elmwood Inn is a wonderfully cozy, beautifully appointed B and B in Buffalo. Karen is a delightful host, providing everything you could possibly need to make your visit feel like home. Your day begins with delicious coffee and homemade baked goodies, and ends with chocolate in a basket by the front door. Karen is so helpful with suggestions and directions, and the house is full of great books from every genre of literature. We will definitely return!! What a pleasure!

The Karps

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.8 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
2.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,787 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House

Property: Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House
Address: 893 Elmwood Ave, corner St. James Pl, Buffalo, NY 14222-1412
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House Hotel Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing