We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buffalo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Liberty, United States
1 review
“Buffalo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Overall not a bad stay, only complaint was the front desk did not follow through on my room actually getting a fridge, and told me on check out that I did indeed have one. Staff was outgoing. small parking lot. Room and lobby were clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    119
    51
    16
    25
See reviews for
113
80
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Best Western Inn on the Avenue on a regular basis for the past five years. We moved to Florida in 2008 but our son and his family reside in the city of Buffalo so we visit them throughout the year. The hotel is ideally located so one can easily avail him or herself of the variety of restaurants, boutiques and gorgeous architecture of Delaware Avenue. A walk up Delaware will surely enlighten one regarding the rich history of Buffalo. Allentown is just around the corner from the hotel and the Elmwood Village, a short drive away, is not to be missed! The staff of the Inn on the Avenue is great and have always provided us with their courteousness and helpfulness throughout the years!!! A stay at the Inn is not to be missed during your stay in the City of Light!
Steve De Garmo

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parachutist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Several things set off the Best Western on The Avenue. First and foremost, this hotel has the best staff of probably *ANY* place I've ever stayed. They are genuinely pleasant and friendly; not like many hotels where staff is being nice because they have to. It is SO refreshing.
Then there is Simba, the hotel's parrot who spends the day on top of his cage checking you out. There are paintings of great personalities and scenes of the Buffalo area on the walls as you go up in the glass elevator. A really nice and out of the ordinary creative touch.
The rooms are clean and beds very comfortable. Climate control worked fine. The breakfast room is well stocked (good coffee).
You can find plenty of places with more amenities, but you'll pay for them. The endless restaurants of Allentown are just around the corner.
My second stay here and not the last.

Room Tip: This hotel is right on Delaware Avenue close to plenty of activity. Obviously, a higher room will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgecleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very nice, helpful staff, room and breakfast not fancy but entirely serviceable. A quiet but attentive parrot in the lobby adds a quirky touch. The cage door is left open and the parrot comes out and sits on top of the cage; does not fly, merely observes from its perch. If it wanted to fly, and had the capacity, it has the opportunity. So it must not want to or lacks capacity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My girlfriends and I had planned a weekend away and had booked for 2 nights. Spoke directly to staff, gave credit card, and received conformation number. We arrived to have no booking and could only get a room for one night! When asked to be compensated with a discount I was told "everyone has confirmed bookings tomorrow and the place will be full so I can't be just handing out discounts". When I reminded him that we also had a confirmation number, I got a half hearted apology but no offer to rectify the situation in any way. We stayed one night out of necessity and it smelled of smoke constantly! I've stayed at Best Westerns all over the US and Canada and this was the worst!!! Before leaving we spoke to a different staff member who called the owner after my insistence. They took my home and cell number to call at a specified time and arrange compensation. The call never came....
We got a gorgeous room at a Hampton the next night for the same price. It was leaps and bounds better from the service right down to the breakfast!:) Lesson learned, never stay at Best Western on Delaware!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeepTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Desk refused to move us to another room away from front desk and they kept entertaining their friends all night long even after 2 calls between 3 and 5 am. Refused to give us a refund. It is a shame because it is a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigstitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
510manager, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us what you thought about your stay. Feedback whether it is positive or negative always helps us to improve in all areas of our business. We apologize for the miscommunication in that you thought we were refusing to move you to another room. The issue was that we didn’t have another room available to move you to. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are very sorry that you weren’t pleased. However, we too agree that our location is quite wonderful and hope that you’ll consider coming back again to give us another chance to leave you with a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamlin, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We travel alot and this by far was one of our worst experiences.We usually stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotels but wanted to be as close to the event we were going to so I went against my best judgement and booked. When I booked I called the Hotel and told them we preferred a room on upper level and that we needed a quiet room ( at the end of the hall, ect) because we would be coming in from the Rochester's Autism Speaks Walk and would have been up very early and would want to get some sleep before the concert that night. We were put in the room behind the check in desk, we could hear every word in the lobby and hear the managers dog and bird. To top it off, when you opened the curtains there were people sitting on our window smoking, talking loud and swearing - ALL DAY & NIGHT! You could hear & feel the elevator from our room! People coming in and out because the door was right outside our room. We even got to see a young man urinating in between cars - Lovely. Asked to be moved to another room, was told that could not be done.The room was suppose to have a refrigerator, it did not, So they brought us one. It was disgusting! And the guy put it on a luggage rack so it was unstable. We did not get a chance to sleep during the day because of the noise and barely slept that night.We went and bought ear plugs too! Not kidding, this is how bad it was! The Jacuzzi was dirty, the room outdated and the breakfast buffet was filled with stuff from Aldi's, certainly not what we are use to after staying at Holiday Inn Express's, and this Hotel was more expensive than ANY Holiday Inn Express's we have ever stayed in. - . Worst hotel experience ever.

Room Tip: Advice, if in the Buffalo area and you cannot book one of the nicer Hotels close to downtown then go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
1.1 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue

Property: BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue
Address: 510 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-1304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn - On The Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Buffalo
Buffalo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing