We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western - On The Avenue
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here for the NCAA tournament in late March, when other hotels closer to the center of town were going for a lot more money.

The location of the hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the restaurants and bars downtown, or a short cab ride. The Anchor bar is a 10 minute walk away as well. There is a Tim Hortons across the street, and that is about it. The parking lot is small, but this is a small hotel and we didn't have any issues, even on a busy event weekend. Each evening there was a security guard downstairs at the lobby, which while nice to see, makes you question the neighborhood. Also the elevator required your room key to operate, at all hours of the day.

Checkin was easy and we were given two rooms next to each other which was great. The staff was able to accommodate our request for a roll-away bed in a room with 2 queen beds with no problem at all.

The rooms are pretty basic but what you would expect for a hotel in this class. Most importantly it was clean. The bathroom area was a little cramped but everything worked fine, the towels were actually really thick and fluffy and felt new. Brand new 32'' HDTV with mostly just the local channels in HD. The HVAC was quiet, almost too quiet but looked very new.

Breakfast was pretty basic: bagels, cereal, fruit, yogurt with paper plates and the cheapest plastic silverware you can buy. The only hot food was Oatmeal packets and a small waffle maker that was used by nearly everyone. But it was about what you would expect for a place like this.

One negative is that someone stole our gel ice packs that were placed outside the fire escape door stairway landing outside. Who steals ice packs? We spoke to the hotel staff and security but they didn't know anything or see anyone that night. Can't really fault the hotel for that, but still disappointing.

We didn't have any problems with staying here and it worked just fine as a clean, safe place to stay for a lot less than further downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay! We were in town for the NCAA Tournament and got a reservation at the last minute. This Hotel is anything but last minute. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean & fresh. Breakfast was awesome!
we will be back! The only concern was the HVAC unit above the 5th floor that thrummed all night.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great Hotel! Awesome Staff! the train is about three blocks from the door, which took us right to the venue. Staff is wonderful! We would recommend this hotel to one and all. We have not been staying in BW in the state, but sure glad we did.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I usually don't stay at Best Western Hotels because of bad experiences. Thanks to Trip Advisor, I decided to try this one. It was a pleasant experience. The rooms were tastefully decorated, the breakfast was good and the hotel staff was excellent. The bed was very comfortable and everything worked properly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It appears to be an older hotel that has been remodeled.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank wmubroncos7081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Was here for March madness. Hotel was clean, staff at front desk was very helpful for food and directions. 2 miles away from stadium. Great location as bars and restaurants not too far away. Only bad thing about the city was the cabs. Always wanted a flat rat usually around $15-20 to go less than a mile. Very shady. Rather walk even when drunk or tired.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Overall good hotel, not the best breakfast but they have waffles so I was happy. The elevator is quite annoying though. I had family on seperate floors and was unable to access them by elevator, I could only take the stairs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank audriag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I had to stay at this hotel for several weekends as my son was in the hospital. Staff was very welcoming, friendly and caring. Rooms were very clean, breakfast was very good. Hotel was in a perfect location. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casalv51896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
1.1 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#12 of 25 in Buffalo
1,821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western - On The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western - On The Avenue

Address: 510 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-1304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: £98 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western - On The Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western - On The Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn - On The Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Buffalo
Buffalo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing