We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western - On The Avenue
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Good value for the price. Convenient to Buffalo State College. Twins College trip budget friendly. Last minute trip planning. Worked well for a family including an infant. Staff very friendly and supportive. Breakfast was also good for the price as we were in town College Open House. Location perfect to get around town with rental car as well as public NFTA also easy to get at location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Although it looks clean from the outside and upon entering your room if you look close enough you'll see its DIRTY! We requested a nonsmoking room but I didn't know we had to request a nonsmoking floor too. Our room and things stunk like smoke from the other guests. The room next to ours was a smoking room and the smell came through. It was horrible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Every time I have stayed at the Best Western on the Avenue I have had excellent service, friendly staff and a nice, clean room. The breakfast has been very good with tasty fresh food and polite, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We did not have a reservation - we were with a family member at Buffalo General Hospital and the weather was not conducive to a long trip home. The desk clerk told us he had one room left on the first floor that hadn't been rented out in some time since it hadn't been renovated yet. He showed it to us to make sure we were going to be ok with it - the room was clean and just what we needed and he was kind enough to knock a few bucks off. He also gave us toothbrushes, toothpaste and a comb since we weren't prepared for an overnight stay and had no luggage. Bed was super comfy and breakfast was varied and delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I booked a top hotel in Buffalo that advertised that they accepted dogs. When I arrived with my sweet greyhound, the manager turned white and said, "Too big!" I had just drove in from Allentown, Pa., a 6 hour drive. I was there for a week. I was not happy. The manager suggested a place near by down Delaware st., the Best Western. It was not fancy, but they gave my greyhound a loving greeting, and I was very happy. In the lobby was a parrot who was very interested in my dog. Everyone was so sweet. The manager petted my dog each morning and suggested a beautiful park nearby. We both loved our stay. Sometimes friendliness is more important than the shape of the carpets.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmgordonphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The staff was extremely helpful, from the front desk workers to the cleaning staff. They went of their way to assist my friends and I in finding stores, bus routes, etc. Breakfast was great, waffles, orange/apple juice, cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs. Great way to start the morning. 24 hour concierge gave us great information on where to get food at 2 am in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ragu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here for the NCAA tournament in late March, when other hotels closer to the center of town were going for a lot more money.

The location of the hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the restaurants and bars downtown, or a short cab ride. The Anchor bar is a 10 minute walk away as well. There is a Tim Hortons across the street, and that is about it. The parking lot is small, but this is a small hotel and we didn't have any issues, even on a busy event weekend. Each evening there was a security guard downstairs at the lobby, which while nice to see, makes you question the neighborhood. Also the elevator required your room key to operate, at all hours of the day.

Checkin was easy and we were given two rooms next to each other which was great. The staff was able to accommodate our request for a roll-away bed in a room with 2 queen beds with no problem at all.

The rooms are pretty basic but what you would expect for a hotel in this class. Most importantly it was clean. The bathroom area was a little cramped but everything worked fine, the towels were actually really thick and fluffy and felt new. Brand new 32'' HDTV with mostly just the local channels in HD. The HVAC was quiet, almost too quiet but looked very new.

Breakfast was pretty basic: bagels, cereal, fruit, yogurt with paper plates and the cheapest plastic silverware you can buy. The only hot food was Oatmeal packets and a small waffle maker that was used by nearly everyone. But it was about what you would expect for a place like this.

One negative is that someone stole our gel ice packs that were placed outside the fire escape door stairway landing outside. Who steals ice packs? We spoke to the hotel staff and security but they didn't know anything or see anyone that night. Can't really fault the hotel for that, but still disappointing.

We didn't have any problems with staying here and it worked just fine as a clean, safe place to stay for a lot less than further downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
1.1 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#11 of 25 in Buffalo
1,820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western - On The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western - On The Avenue

Address: 510 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-1304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: £98 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western - On The Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western - On The Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn - On The Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Buffalo
Buffalo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing