We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Bad View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Bad View”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Luckily I'm not expecting a good view in downtown Buffalo. Overlooked the flat roof with a lit skylight right outside the window. Curtains did a good job to block out the light, though.

Room was very nice, well appointed, bathroom was large, place was clean and quiet and bed was comfortable. Furniture was nice and actually felt like just being in my bedroom. With that said, the value wasn't so good. $200+ for a Tuesday night in downtown Buffalo seems steep. Not much going on and downtown Buffalo is really dead, especially during the week. Not sure why they would charge that much for a room. The $20 valet was a bit much as well. It's not like it's downtown Chicago or New York or San Fran where there isn't much room for parking. The entire city is a parking lot. And for $15 to self park, it makes no sense to NOT valet. Money grab, in my opinion. If you really want people to come and stay downtown in a city that's really hurting, I'd recommend giving people more of a reason to do so. Dinging people for things like valet, internet and such doesn't make sense. Luckily as a Diamond Member, I get internet free, but $15 for internet for a day? I don't get it.

Anyway, it is likely I'd find someplace else next time in town even though I'm a loyal Hyatt customer. Better value to be found elsewhere, I'm sure. If the price was like $150 and not additional charges, I'm sure that I'd feel better about staying here considering the room was actually nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    607
    270
    116
    95
See reviews for
438
436
81
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently stayed there for a conference held at the conference center. No flaws. Great place, nice bar. Very nice stay as the room was large and comfortable. The front desk service and the valet were great. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Israel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We all work together very hard to make sure that every guest has a exceptional stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer Monge
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night after a visit to the Falls. Very nice stay as
the room was large and comfortable. The staff is professional and courteous.
We will definitely stay here the next time we travel in upstate New York. Easy
access to highway to the airport.

Room Tip: Eat at E B Green's, the steaks are very, very good and the service is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rp-yp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We all work together very hard to make sure that every guest has a exceptional stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer Monge
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were just passing through Buffalo and just needed a place to sleep for the night. We didn't use any of the amenities. The front desk service and the valet were great. The room was a little noisy, the walls must be pretty thin and we could hear the family in the room next to us. My major issue is that the room was very stuffy/warm. You have very limited control on the temperature of the room. If we could have at least cracked the window it would have made a big difference. Neither of us slept that well because it was so warm (even though the heat was off).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelchiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel room was a quite a good size and looks ok. The bed is rather comfortable and wallpaper behind the bed makes the room looks cosy. However, the walls between rooms are extremely thin. My neighbor was clearly having a party even after 12am and I could their laughter and loud chats. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to prepare ear plugs.

The toilet definitely needs some updating. The shower tap was extremely old and a little difficult to operate. There is only wifi in the main lobby so it is quite inconvenient.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Serene536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online survey. Our hotel does have an 11pm curfew for noise. At anytime if your stay is disrupted by noise, we ask that you contact the front desk and we will send security up to address the situation. I do apologize that the noise was disruptive to your stay. Regarding the Internet, your concern is understandable and I appreciate your comments regarding the fee for wireless Internet at our hotel. Just like with the telephone in your room, there are costs associated with providing Internet service; from hardware to Internet availability and support services. Since this service is optional, like that of pay movies, telephone etc., the cost would not be appropriate to be included in the overnight room rate. Full service hotels such as Hyatt, Marriott, Hilton and Westin charge for Internet on a per-use basis. We consistently compare the price we charge for wireless Internet in the guest rooms with that of our competitors to ensure we remain competitive. Gold Passport members do receive this service free and our Business Plan package includes complimentary Internet.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer
Executive Assistant to the GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a conference as it was adjoining the Conference Centre.

First stay at a Hyatt and left a good impression. Warm welcome when we booked in and although the room was not ready we were looked after.

Had lunch in the Atrium restaurant and it was a nice light meal.

The rooms were large and comfortable and not a lot of noise. Bed was comfortable enough and we maintained.

The only observation is that valet parking is expensive when they are parking your car in an open parking lot opposite the hotel. No security apparent and there is an undercover garage also opposite.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Mckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have no idea why this is not ranked the highest in Buffalo. I travel there periodically and this is by far and away, the best experience. Beautiful rooms and the staff is awesome. Courteous, friendly and gave all the right advice. The guy who checked me, Jimmie, has worked there for ten plus years and that was the type of feel - came across as management was committed to its people and those were people were definitely committed to making our stay great.

Dollar for dollar, this place stands alone.

Room Tip: Just trust the staff - tell them what you want, and they will do whatever is possible to make it hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you had a first class stay with us! We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. We all work together very hard to make sure that every guest has a exceptional stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer Monge
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,787 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Property: Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Address: 2 Fountain Plz, Buffalo, NY 14202-2290
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing