We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved the location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

the location is great, staff very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The hotel has a great atrium bar where everyone gathers and has a good time. Would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat! We also asked them for a breakfast restaurant and they sent us to a local place called The Towne...what a great breakfast we had!

Room Tip: we asked for a room by the elevator and even though the ice machine was right there, we didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    576
    251
    107
    93
See reviews for
402
417
78
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lindenhurst, New York, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was in town for business and spent two nights at the Hyatt. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a pedicure at the spa and it was very nice although wildly overpriced. The receptionist did offer to get me a glass of wine from the bar so that was a lovely perk which I appreciated. The room was a little dated and the wallpaper in the bathroom needed a good scrubbing but everything else was very clean and well appointed. The food at the lobby restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. I would definitely stay again should I come to town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryEllenB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing an online review of the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. We really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable to us and helps us to improve where needed.

Spa Alexis is a privately owned business that works out of the Hyatt, so we are not able to do their pricing. I am pleased to hear that you did have a good experience while you were there.

Our hotel was renovated in 2009, but we are currently gathering feedback from all of our guests on things they would like to see improved or changed for our next renovations. So your feedback is very helpful.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Very average hotel- perfectly sufficient for what we needed. We stayed in a suite, and while not luxurious, was very spacious and afforded us a second bathroom. Bedroom itself was quite spacious, but rather dark and decor was very ordinary.

Rate included breakfast. Buffet was good with an emphasis on fresh produce and locally sourced food. Made to order food was very slow on each day of our stay.

Location was fine for those who need to be close to downtown Buffalo. Chippewa street is clearly up and coming, but as we weren't here on business, we might choose a different location.

Parking on street was not a problem- free on weekends, and $1/hr during the day on weekdays, but with a 2 hour max. if you're parking all day during the week, you'll want to park in one of the nearby garages.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing an online review for the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. We really appreciate all feedback that we receive from our guests. It is very important to us as well as other guests that are looking to visit the area. All the feedback that we receive we review carefully and will make any necessary improvements where we may need them and share all the comments with our staff.

I would like to apologize for the room feeling a bit dark. We are currently implementing new lamps in the rooms because we have had feedback from our guests regarding this issue. Our breakfast buffet does offer a wide variety of breakfast choices and makes for a quick quality meal.

We are located in the heart of downtown which is up and coming in the next couple years. There is a lot of construction for many new businesses that are relocating to the area. Whether your hear for business or pleasure there is always something to do. Niagara Falls is also a short drive away and a must see! We also have an amazing Waterfront Harbor and a nearby hockey complex that is being built in front of the First Niagara Center where the Buffalo Sabres play. This will be the home for many hockey tournaments and a buzz for many tourists.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

There are not a lot of choices for great hotels in Buffalo. The Hyatt is the best. Great staff, excellent location, wonderful buffet breakfast (ask server for your eggs "your way"). Stayed here many times en route to destinations. Will definitely go back. Valet gives you complimentary bottles of water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whamzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing an online review of the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. We are so pleased that you chose Hyatt as the best hotel downtown. We are centrally located and a short, free rail ride to many events. This summer there is a lot of great events happening at Canal Side for everyone. Also, take an opportunity to see our very own Buffalo Bison's play a baseball game at Coca Cola Field.
Our breakfast buffet that is available in the Atrium Bar & Bistro located off the lobby has a wide variety for breakfast and YES you can order eggs just the way you like them. You will not leave on an empty stomach.
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Room was clean and tidy - however, as we had stayed in much nicer hotels during our week long business trip, this hotel room felt a slight let down.
After getting over that initial disappointment, there was nothing to really fault other than our particular taste.
We only had one night here, so were not able to fully take advantage of everything it had to offer. I recall the beds were extrememly comfortable and the bathroom adequate for our needs.
Yes, I would consider this hotel again if staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing an online review of the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy your short stay with us. The next time that you are in town I hope that you have time to take advantage of some things in the hotel as well as Buffalo. You should definitely have dinner at EB Green's Steakhouse located in the hotel and is rated #2 in the Country. Also, the hotel is centrally located downtown and walking distance to the entertainment district as well as a short drive to Niagara Falls.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer Monge
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

i've stayed at this property 5 nights (3 nights for the first trip to westny and 2 nights the 2nd time) in the last 2 months and it almost feels like home. very comfortable and well-designed property that uses its space very well.

i was in buffalo for work and never really took much advantage of the pool or the gym, but did make myself indulging in the icecream box by the registration table in the lobby.

buffalo is such a small city that anywhere you may be is only like 5-10 min car ride or walk away from where you need to go, but the location seems to be very central in the city. both times i stayed, they had huge groups come in - for weddings, hockey games, marathon etc.

i'm sure i'll be staying here again next time i'm in westny for work.

both times i stayed in the corner room which faces the main street and they start their work on that railtrack at like 6am with really loud banging and clashing noise...just fyi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I checked in early even though a big convention was going on. I was staying solo so the staff assigned me to a woman/family only floor. I felt safe due to that feature. The room also had special features (yoga mat, slippers, beauty products). I felt special. I wish more hotels did this. Staff was helpful in recommending their fav food options and local tips. The salon was nice as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jazzy13172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Property: Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Address: 2 Fountain Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing