We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, decent room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service, decent room”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The Hyatt gave us wonderful customer service. They didn't have our discount voucher on file as the reservation rep assured me, but they let us settle in our room and we got a call about 10 minutes later from the manager to confirm all was taken care of. I was confident that any issue we had would be addressed quickly and to our satisfaction.
The room was less than stellar with a sticky substance on a towel and a small tear in the duvet, but we had enough other towels and the bed was still comfortable and warm.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank munchkinkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online survey of our hotel. I do apologize for the confusion with your reservation but I am pleased that we just checked you in and then took care of the situation. I do apologize for the housekeeping issues that you experienced. This is not the Hyatt Standard and I have contacted our Housekeeping Manager so that she can address this with the staff member that was responsible for your room. We will make sure that your next stay is top notch. Please feel free to email me and I will make sure that this happens. We really appreciate your valuable feedback and it is through your comments that we are able to improve.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    599
    262
    113
    95
See reviews for
426
429
80
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kangaroo Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel as our base whilst visiting Niagara Falls. Wonderful stay great pool great gym and loved the breakfast buffet. Friendly staff - big thanks to Rachel our waitress she was so helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Larkins4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us. I am glad that you were able to use some of the facilities during your stay. Rachel in our Restaurant is a great asset to our hotel. She goes above and beyond in her position. We are a short drive to Niagara Falls and I hope that you enjoyed your experience there. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned today from staying at the Hyatt. It was really nice. The rooms are nicely done and the beds are very comfortable. We had tickets to an event at the Niagra centre. There's a free trolly ride that takes you down. The desk staff gave us full directions and restaurant recommendations.

We parked across the street for about $10 a day.

There's a Starbucks in the lobby.
There's also a nice little restaurant where we had a great breakfast. Not too pricey.

I admired the fact that there were signs in the hallway asking guest to respect noise levels.

The only downside here was I awoke to the sounds of construction at 7am. The hotel is surrounded by blocked roads and machinery at the moment.

I tend to be a little fussy when selecting hotels. I'd stay here again if need be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ayearOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give the Hyatt Regency Buffalo a review. We really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable to us and helps us to improve where needed.

I am pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. We are centrally located downtown with a short walk or metro rail ride to many area events. We do offer several parking options and our valet service offers in/out privileges for all of our guests. Our concierges are always ready and willing to assist our guests with any questions that they may have during their stay.
We do have a noise policy so that every guest has an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family stayed 2 nights at the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. It is a very decent business-oriented hotel. The rooms have been recently renovated with new furniture, flat screen TV, accent wallpaper, bathroom tiles and granite counter. Overall, the rooms were comfortable and pleasant. My pet peeve in the room and this is a little nip picking is the hotel left some original unchanged. For example, the phones are still the Teledex phones from 1998, the doors are painted brown on the outside but either white or wood-panel on the inside, worn brass knots, light switch or old wallpaper. It appears they did a 95% renovation in the rooms.

The hotel did have an excellent level of service. Starting from the moment you arrive, there is valet parking and bell hop. Then the front desk can offer you razer, comb, slippers, and tooth brush. Those are above and beyond the normal bathroom accessories. Very nice touch.

There is a small swimming pool on the 11th floor. The pool is inside a glass enclosed area that overlooks the city and can see as far as the lake.

We tried the breakfast at the Atrium Cove. The buffet was typical of American buffet breakfast.

Overall it was a decent stay and is probably one of the best hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truthfu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing an online review for the Hyatt Regency Buffalo. We really appreciate all feedback that we receive from our guests. It is very important to us as well as other guests that are looking to visit the area. All the feedback that we receive we review carefully and will make any necessary improvements where we may need them and share all the comments with our staff.

Although the pool is not overly large, the view of the city from that area is amazing. I am pleased that you had an exceptional stay with us and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
340 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Here is a hotel that works very hard to compensate for the fact that are not the newest or freshest hotel in town. The are not old enough to be a classic so they have improved and managed to get as much out of a dated facility and provide you with a "Fresh and Comfortable Atmosphere".

Example : Front of the hotel is very limited when you pull up to check in - They offer excellent Valet parking service - $ 23.00 per day but it was worth it.

Front Desk : Charming and warm greeting - efficient check in and check out - No issues with reservation or unexpected charges.

Rooms: Adequate size - Quite - efficient AC - Bathroom was small - door seemed to be in the way wherever you stood. Towels - plentiful and soft Bed Comfortable. Special lamps with receptacles to enable you to plug in numerous chargers.

Rates were quite competitive - but they don't offer free wi-fi - Okay I carry a mobile hot spot -
I wouldn't be happy to spend $ 10.00 to connect per day. My room 743 lacked a view, not a real issue in that part of town.

Location: It seemed quite convenient to enable me to get around - no traffic late on Friday - Saturday and Sunday.

Summary: Front Desk - A+ Staff A+ Doormen A+ Room B+ Location A

I'd stay there again if I had another reason to be in Buffalo -

Room Tip: Halls were long - you might want to be closer to the elevator. Ice machine is very noisy - stay aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I always stay at the Hyatt whenever I am in town for business since the office is located downtown within walking distance. Since it renovated a few years ago, the hotel is very nice and modern. Staff is always friendly and each time, they make my stay a good experience. Rooms are decent in size and clean. The only draw back is the surrounding area, especially south of the hotel which can be seedy due to the depressed downtown area. If you venture 2 blocks north, there are more bars, coffee shops and restaurant venues .... although the hotel restaurant and adjacent EB Green's are very good as well.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from ice/vending machine and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank German F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After reading other reviews about noise, I asked for a room on a higher floor. Though I could hear neighbors coming and going, overall the room was quiet. The Hyatt also makes an effort to maintain quiet by posting reminders near the elevators. My room was very comfortable, too.

Every staff member was helpful and friendly. They were accommodating when I needed to check out a little late (less than an hour). I had a couple of hours between check out and my flight, and it was fine to stow luggage while I walked around the city.

If you're staying here and looking for food close by, try Chippewa Street, which is just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, select a higher floor if you have concerns about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george1ai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Property: Hyatt Regency Buffalo
Address: 2 Fountain Plz, Buffalo, NY 14202-2290
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing