We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in downtown Buffalo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in downtown Buffalo”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel while attending the National Preservation Conference with my husband. Its a great downtown location (convenient to Shea's Theater and the Convention Center) and our suite was very nice and spacious. Complimentary breakfast was fine. Staff did very well, especially considering the masses of people in Buffalo that week attending the conference.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you for the nice comments. We were very honored to have so many in Buffalo visiting Buffalo's architectural gems. Hope you will return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    216
    70
    30
    26
See reviews for
158
190
48
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

it sucked the worst they charge our card 150.00 extra for deposit and never told us about it and caused checks to bounce. what a bunch of thieves poor business people did not even tell us how wrong is that

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Della Corsi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
I am very sorry that you did not realize that as a hotel there is a $150.00 hold on debit/credit cards for incidental charges. After checkout your bank releases that hold usually within 72 business hours. We do mention that there is a $150.00 hold on our website, on hotel collaterol and on the registration card that is signed at checkin. If you have any further questions please contact me at 716 854-5500 and I would be happy to explain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western NY
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were very pleased with our accommodations at the Comfort Suites in downtown Buffalo. We saw a show at the Shea's Performing Center and it couldn't have been more convenient. We were able to check in, eat and then walk to the show. The suite was fine with a nice living area and the bed were extremely comfortable. Parking is not on-site, but it was an easy walk to get to the garage and the parking was free. The complimentary breakfast the following morning was good and well stocked. The staff is friendly and willing to help, if needed. For a business person, the location would be excellent too. The transit line is right there on Main Street and on Sunday morning we took the train to the waterfront, and then enjoyed a walk back, looking at the superb architecture that was along the way. Just up the street from the hotel is the visitors' center and we found maps and guides there. We will stay again when we come to Buffalo for a show.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan&David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. We are indeed in a great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I have been a guest at your hotel for the past two weeks as I am on business in Buffalo. One of your guest service personnel, Gwen, has been so wonderful to me. She takes care of the breakfast area in the morning and has been very friendly and accommodating. She makes sure the area is clean and well-stocked. Please make sure you recognize Gwen for her excellent customer service. I will continue to stay here because of her great attitude as it makes my stay here very pleasant.

Alan Turczynski, Room 722

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cturczynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for the nice comments! I have already commended Gwen!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Very quiet and clean. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Carpet, walls, ceiling, furniture all in good condition. My initial concern about parking to walk a block after dark proved to be no worry. TGI Friday Restaurant next door and Dunkin' Donuts a block away is convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhizAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Very glad you enjoyed your stay! There are indeed alot of coffee choices. Bedsides our free coffee at breakfast there are 5 places within walking distance - Dunkin Donuts, Tim Horton's, Spot Coffee, Coffee Culture and Starbuck's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chesterfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Location, great. Along the theatre district, close to great shopping and great clubs/bars. Area is up & coming. Parking is included at this location and is conveniently located just a block from the hotel. The hotel is decorated with modern and trendy updated style. The fitness room is a good size and breakfast buffet, included with your hotel night is generous. A lot of choices for every lifestyle. Our room was on the 3rd floor, rm 307. Walk in and notice how updated it is, granite topped wet bar with coffee maker. Living room with pull out sofa, beautifully decorated curtains. French doors opened to the bedroom. Walk through dressing area to the typically sized hotel bathroom. Great lotions, hairdryer and lots of towels. Impressive to us were the contant reminders to save energy and costs by reusing towels. I love that. The black out curtains on each window a definate plus. The hallways in the hotel were maintained and brand new carpet was installed. The even floors had ice mahcines and the odd floors had vending machiens and a washwer and dryer. This hotel is a great place to stay with family or long term. It definately has all the comforts of home. We were there for pleasure, the Buffalo Bills vs Patriots game and found it extremely easy to get to Bill's stadium. The staff, and Michael were very professional and very accomodating to our requests and needs. Nice to be handed a nice ice cold bottle of water at check in as well! I own a travel agency, Mojo Travel so I really inspect everything in a hotel from hotel elavator cleanliness to microwaves, to fitness equipment and ths hotel definately passed every inspection! Great job! Lisa Fitzgerald, CTA www.gomojotravel.com

Room Tip: The King room is amazing, the beds are so comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you! It is very nice to receive a review from someone who does as much traveling as you do and who has been to many, many hotels and knows what customer service is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I recently stayed at the Comfort Suites on Chippewa St. in Buffalo on a Saturday night. I was a bit skeptical because of it's being located on the end of a "party street" because we had to be up by 7am the following day to go to a Bills game. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the noise level was was at a minimum and we had no problems whatsoever geting any sleep.
This was a great hotel with very proffesional staff that were all very accomodating. I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in town for any reason. We will certainly stay there again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing