We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Wildwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff great location”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was really pleased with room and the location of hotel and liked that Dino BBQ was a three min walk from hotel i did not like the fridays food was pretty bad but hotel was Great and a hotel employee a Driver named Dan was so helpful and went above and beyond to make our familys stay amazing i would come back just because of his effort and kindness! Great Place!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabres83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and that the location was convenient for your needs. We are certainly very excited for the addition of the Dinosaur Barbecue to Downtown Buffalo and its proximity to the hotel. Dan is certainly a great asset to our team and I am thrilled to hear he provided you with outstanding service that really made your stay. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to him. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to your next visit to Buffalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    220
    71
    31
    26
See reviews for
160
194
48
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our room was very nice, roomy and clean. It was great that they had DVD players in the room and even two separate TVs. They have free WiFi and apparently you can borrow movies from the front desk.

The hotel was pretty quiet when we were there, but there was lots of construction going outside the next morning. No pool in the hotel.

The parking is a couple blocks away, but they let you park in front while you unload and then make you move your car. Didn't cost anything to park there during the week but I think it costs something on the weekend. There were a bunch of one way streets, so it was harder to load up afterwards (we decided to just cart all of our stuff to the car in the garage instead of moving our car to the front of the hotel.)

It was a great location for events at the First Niagara Centre... Just a short walk (30 minutes?) down one street. There wasn't much else to do around the hotel, though. (Apparently you could also take the streetcar, but we opted to walk.)

They had a good complimentary breakfast at the hotel (between 6:30-9:30 during the week) with warm food as well as the usual cereals and toasts.

There is a TGI Friday's attached to the hotel.

We have contacted the hotel a couple times upon returning home since we forgot something in the room (which we know we left there by accident), but they have yet to call or email us back about our inquiry, so we aren't super impressed with that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrivingPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad to hear you found our suites spacious and clean as well as our location convenient for your needs. We are pleased to be able to offer a TV and DVD player in both the bedroom and living areas in each suite and you are correct we do provide free DVD rentals at our Front Desk. We are certainly lucky to be located close to the First Niagara Center which is only a trolley ride or walk away. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast in the morning. I do apologize that we have not followed up with you regarding your missing item. Our housekeeping department is pretty good about calling if we were able to locate the item. Please feel free to contact me directly, Matt at 716-854-5500. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel was wonderful. some complain about the parking but unless you lose breath in a walk that is not much farther than where you would park for any mall, then its not a big deal. there is room to load/unload at the lobby area. there is FREE PARKING! near by and it was easy to Navigate downtown. many restaurants near by, as my wife and I did the DDD(Diners, Drivins, and Dives) tour basically of the city. the train is literally a trip and fall out the front door of the hotel, and to get to the Arena it was again FREEEEEEEEEE. compared to other cities that my wife and I were in on this trip (Detroit, Toronto, Niagara Falls, NYC) there is no place that has that. The work force in the hotel were great, knowledgeable and were an immense help for us (we had never been to Buffalo before) and as we checked out we couldn't help but notice that we wished we were able to stay another day or two. We were there for a Hockey Game and we wore the opposing teams garb, we got some fun jeers but the people in Buffalo were the Classiest Fans we came across on this 4 game 4 city trip. one more thing ..... there is a TGIFridays in the lobby area, also nice people there.... spirited ribbing for us Red Wings fans but Classy none the less.

Room Tip: Higher in floor the better to me ... but keep the windows closed at night or you will be awakened by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for such an outstanding review. We do try to make the most out of the limited parking in downtown Buffalo by including it with your stay Sunday-Thursday. I am glad to hear you were able to explore Buffalo and check out some of the great local eateries. I am thrilled that our Front Desk was able to provide you with outstanding service and directions. We are certainly fortunate to be located right next to the above ground subway system which is free and allows easy travel through downtown Buffalo as well as underground towards the college campuses for a minimal fee. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We look forward to your next trip to Buffalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olean, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location in the Theater District in Downtown Buffalo. Has a TGI Fridays on the main floor which is really nice. The place is clean and the staff is really friendly. There is plenty of room in all the rooms...even for a family of 5 like ours :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear our location met your needs, we are lucky to be located in the heart of the theater district so close to numerous venues and restaurants. We are pleased that you found our accommodations spacious, clean and comfortable. I hope you enjoyed your show and will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed for a brief business trip. Very clean and newly furnished suite with all modern amenities including refrigerator and microwave. Great location to all downtown federal buildings. Free offsite parking during weekdays. Would definitely stay here again. Only negative comment is about the scummy TGIF attached to the hotel, but even that was convenient for a quick meal or drink.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunForristRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay. We are certainly pleased to offer amenities such as microwaves and mini fridges in each room. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided you with great service. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. I'm very pleased to hear our location was convenient for your needs and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for the NCAA basketball tournament and it was the perfect location. We were able to walk out the hotel property and walk 40 yards to the free train that transports you directly to the arena. It couldn't have been any easier!

We also enjoyed the room. Spacious and clean rooms. Loved the double doors that separate the bedroom from the living room. Gave the bedroom privacy. Nice frosted glass too. Two TVs, which came in handy. And loved all the firm and soft pillows on the bed. Slept really well. We heard the train travel by but it didn't deter from our enjoyment of the room. Sensitive sleepers may want a room away from Main St.

All employees that we dealt with were professional and courteous. Breakfast is the typical Comfort Inn food but it was well stocked and plentiful. They even had a over-flow seating area for the busy times.

The parking situation wasn't a put-off at all. It was a quick 4 minute walk. At check-in, we took all luggage up to the room then moved the car about a half hour later.

There were several restaurants of all levels within walking distance. Anything from really expensive steak dinners to fast food and everything in between. Check out Dinosaur BBQ on Franklin St.

My only complaint would be the bathroom needed some touch-up painting and plaster work from water escaping the shower. Other than that, we were quite happy here. I would recommend this hotel and I would certainly stay here again. Absolutely.

Room Tip: Light sleepers ask for a room away from Main St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a comprehensive and amazing review. We enjoyed having basketball fans from all over and are certainly fortunate to be located right on the Trolley line which provides easy access down to the arena. I am pleased to hear that you found our accommodations spacious and comfortable. It is certainly a pleasure to be able to provide each of our guests with a good night’s sleep! I will be sure to pass your kind words regarding our customer service and breakfast along to our staff. I will also have our maintenance man take note of any and all bathroom issues experienced in each room.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

It's nice to visit a hotel that has staff that realizes they are in the hospitality business. From my first contact with Erin on the phone, To my check in and check out with Cliff, I was treated as a valued customer. All other contact with the staff was exceptional. Free bottles of water are a nice touch.

The hotel is conveniently located in the Theater District right on the free Trolly line that goes through Downtown to the First Niagara Center. A TGI Friday's is attached to the lobby and there is a Dunkin Donuts right across the street.

Pros:
Great service
Location
Room size

Cons:
Parking is free (small charge on weekends) but it is about a block and a half away from the hotel - no valet

Neutral:
Free breakfast is just ok - not much variety and the eggs are pre-made and chewey. We ended up going to D&D most mornings.
Rooms were excellent size, very clean, but a little dated.

Overall a great 4 night stay. I would recommend and would stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank UCONN_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I'm so glad to hear our accommodations met your needs and our location was convenient for you. We are certainly fortunate to be located on Main Street with the above ground subway system making it an easy trip down to the First Niagara Center. Thank you for all of your kind words regarding our staff, especially Erin and Cliff. Customer service continues to be a top priority of ours. I am sorry to hear our breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
1,793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing