We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three Times As Nice, Slept Like A Baby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Three Times As Nice, Slept Like A Baby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We went to see Bruce Springsteen and stayed at the Comfort Suites Buffalo. We had been there in 2003 for a different Springsteen show and what a difference the new amenities made! It wasn't like the same hotel-very modern and comfortable contemporary feel. We enjoyed the room and bed a lot-slept like a baby and highly recommend.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    215
    70
    29
    26
See reviews for
155
187
48
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

If I tried to book a room in New York City like the one at Comfort Suites in Buffalo, it would have cost me hundreds, if not thousands of dollars. This was a top-notch suite! The hotel apparently just finished renovations and they did a smashing job - I was beyond impressed. The suite was a true one-bedroom suite with a living room/work area and separate bedroom. The living room/work space was large and also included a nook with fridge, microwave, and coffee/tea maker. All the counters were marble and the room had nice earthy tones that made it feel very relaxing. There was tons of functional work space as well as relaxation space on comfortable chairs/sofas.

The bedroom was superb. It was connected to the living room via small french doors. The bed was very comfortable with a nice comforter. There was also a little sitting area that connected you to the bathroom. You could also access the bathroom from the living room via separate door.

Both rooms had TVs, which I was pretty surprised were OLD SCHOOL when I walked in. They worked, but they didn't fit with the rest of the ultra modern and chic decor. I asked about this and it turns out US Customs has held up the shipment of flat screens. Some rooms have flat screens, but the remainder were held up for lack of paperwork. That stinks because those TVs are the final link to a complete and very VERY well-done renovation that had me wishing I could stay at a Comfort Suites like the one in Buffalo everywhere I travel!

And the BEST part was that this hotel was inexpensive. It was the cheapest I found in downtown that still offered free airport shuttle and even breakfast (a delicious buffet with eggs, ham, cereal, waffles, juice).

My only recommendation for improvement is the airport shuttle. It was OK, but my main gripe is that they were not on time. They picked me up almost 20 minutes late and on the day I returned to the airport, left almost 15 minutes after the stated departure time. This is not OK; it is way too cold to be waiting outside for a shuttle at the airport for that long. And on the way back to the airport, I had left plenty of time, but if I was cutting it close, those 15 minutes make a big difference. I would recommend the hotel work on this - the shuttle should really run like clockwork.

And a note to TripAdvisor: the old pictures of the rooms should be removed and replaced with the newer pictures that have been submitted. The old pictures no longer represent the type of experience to be expected at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovinItCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 18 January 2010
Thank you so much for the Great review. We are very proud of how the renovations turned out. The 42" HDTV's have been held up and we anxiously await their arrival. At that point, we will add a DVD player to all the TV's. We will also work on the promptness of the free shuttle. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

It's true that this hotel is undergoing renovations -- the bathroom in the lobby looked like it had just been finished that day. But the renovators hadn't got to the room I stayed in, nor the one I'd rejected because of a poor Wi-Fi signal. The rooms are poorly lit, with dark 80s-vintage decor and haphazardly placed light switches. The king-size bed was comfortable enough, and the bathroom clean, but I found the overall feel of the suite dingy and depressing. The flat-panel TV in the living room was new (though some kind of no-name brand), but the one in the bedroom looked to be 20 years old. Oh yeah: and the Wi-Fi didn't end up working with my iPhone even when there was a signal.

On the positive side: the Comfort Suites is about as central as you can get, right on the tram line, a block away from the nightclub district. There's a Starbucks two blocks away, which makes up for the so-so buffet breakfast included in the room rate. Parking is in a garage about a block away -- but it's very close, and not as much of a hassle as it seems. And, again, it's included in the price.

I might stay here again if the price is right, but not with any pleasure, at least not unless I get a renovated room with some light.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 21 December 2009
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am surprised to read about some of your comments unless you stayed several months ago and are now just commenting. You mentioned not being in a renovated room because it looked dated and dingy. All rooms have been renovated with brand new carpet, drapes, wall vinyl, furniture, bedding, artwork, lighting and appliances (micro/refrig unit, coffee maker, alarm clock). The new 37" TV will soon be joined with a second 42" TV to replace to "very old" one you saw. TV's were backordered. All guestroom bathrooms were completely renovated too(only the lobby bathroom needs updated now). Hope you will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Hotel was just renovated. Beautiful lobby, Rooms and Beds comparable to 4 star hotels. "Continental Breakfast" far exceeds the minimum standards most Comfort Inns provide. Nice exercise room, incredibly convenient to downtown Buffalo. Front desk service is very responsive and attentive. Though 20 minutes from the airport, hotel runs a free shuttle service if you arrange 24 hours in advance.

Negatives: Rooms facing commuter train in downtown gets street noise, though not enough for me to request an inner room (though many are available).
Parking is provided, but requires a short 1 block walk....not a significant issue for me, though I usually take a cab. Room service is provided by TGI Fridays located in the same building. Caution: for 10 years in a row, this TGI Friday's has consistently delivered poor food quality and service...maybe one of the worst in the TGI Friday's chain, which I like.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djscruggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

visiting friends and family in buffalo with my partner we want a hotel in downtown close to the action. Surprised how close to was to the bar strip and the cable car. The hotel even has a TGI Friday in it. Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, unsure what our room would look like after going up a well used lift and outdated hallway, we enter our room and are surprise how big and beautiful it was. The room had its own living room, microwave, fridge, big bathroom and a big kingsize bed with tv in both the bedroom and livingroom. The room was not only spacious but very clean. In the morning we enjoy a free buffet breakfast with a great spread, anything from bacon, to waffles, to cereal, toast, fruit and juice. Would recommend the king bed room to any couple want to get away.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, Genral Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Thank you for the positive feedback. The hotel is truly in the "Heart" of downtown Buffalo's theater and entertainment district. You are correct about the "lift" (elevator). It is the last piece of renovation not completed. It does operate but we will be putting in new flooring and wall panels in the next 2 weeks. All public areas including lobby, fitness room, business center, corridors and guestrooms are now completely renovated. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Loved my stay in this newly renovated hotel in downtown Buffalo. Very efficient staff, delicious breakfast, all day coffee and tea, free Internet, and conveniently laid out rooms. I felt very safe with the card only access to rooms and appreciated the free daily newspaper. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isabellalenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel not by choice (we were bumped from The Adams Mark due to overbooking) but it was a pleasant enough experience. The hotel was recently renovated, and the suites relatively modern. Our living room had an old T.V., but the bedroom had a new flat screen. Front desk personnel were very attentive, and helpful. A few pros & cons:

Cons:
Internet access in lobby
Elevator keys rarely worked
Bathrooms grungy (our sink didn’t drain properly); skimpy bathroom amenities
Hotel signage not very visible, taxis couldn’t find hotel (we had to tell them it was where TGI Friday’s is)
Pull-out sofa bed was horribly uncomfortable

Pros:
Free continental breakfast was not appetizing (Dunkin Donuts/Starbucks few blocks away)
The hotel provides a shuttle to/from the airport
TGI Friday’s restaurant is inside the building
Easy walking distance to restaurants
Modern décor
Microwave, fridge, coffee/tea in room
Water & coffee station in lobby
Large TV in lobby perfect for football-watching

This was a good hotel for the price ($99), however I would probably try the Hyatt or Hampton Suites or Adams Mark next trip to Buffalo.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Thank you for the feedback. All the guestrooms have been renovated and both TV's will be new. The "old tv" will soon be a 42" tv in all rooms. Will look into the bathroom drainage issue. Even though the entire bathroom was also renovated there are still a few items that get overlooked. I'm sorry the free breakfast was not what you were looking for. It always has hot items, a waffle station, cereals, breads, yogurt and fruit but we will look into menu. We just added some more access points for the internet. Thanks again and I hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.7 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Address: 601 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1488
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing