We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ordeal ever”
Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Brook Park
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst ordeal ever”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We checked into this hotel about 5:30 p.m. and went to dinner with family in the area. When we got back, our room was occupied by other people. Our key didn't work and then the door opened from the inside. There were 2 other people in our room, laying on the beds, with our luggage and belongings in the room. The front desk didn't feel we should be angry or upset about this. They gave us another room, right next door to the original one, and that key didn't work. We then had to go back to the office, which is not attached to the hotel, once again to have them reactivate the keys. After all this, we decided to go stay somewhere else because we felt that something may happen to our vehicle. The front desk person was not helpful and didn't understand why we were upset. This was to be for my 30th anniversary. I would NEVER stay here again. They didn't even offer to discount our room when we were still willing to stay there. All we got was a hard time and a threat to call the police because we finally were yelling. The front desk person kept interrupting while we tried to talk, then told my husband that he couldn't even finish a thought. He told her if she didn't interrupt 6 times maybe he could. She then interrupted him again and laughed about it. Totally unprofessional. Save your money and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    65
    40
    16
    13
See reviews for
50
50
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Big clean rooms pleasant staff. Close to Ralph Wilson Stadium and shopping. I would recommend this motel to anyone. Right off the I90 Lots of places to eat. Sports bar next store, but quite at night, I will stay again for the next game

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I chose this hotel based on other travelers' reviews and the price. I can't believe these prices around Buffalo, especially in what seems like off-season. When first I drove in, I realized that my wife and I had stayed here about 10 years earlier, and I asked myself "Oh, why did I reserve this place?" But I was pleasantly surprised to find a nice clean room. Apparently the room had been upgraded recently because the carpet was in excellent condition, and there was new wallpaper throughout. The wallpaper was a surprise to me for a relatively low-cost hotel. I never understood why anyone would put wallpaper in a bathroom with all the damage that moisture can do.

My room was very small. It was OK for one person, but because I reserved the lowest priced room, I can't really complain. It would be a real challenge for a second person because with someone sitting at the desk there was no space to walk between the bed and the desk chair. There was also minimal counter space at the wash basin, which I found less than convenient. As if this room wasn't small enough already, I asked for a refrigerator, which barely fit into the room. They didn't even plug in the refrigerator, and I had to move it slightly so that the cord would reach the outlet.

Overall, I'd stay here again because of the price if I had to be in the Buffalo area and couldn't find any other reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELLWOOD CITY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Definitely not a fancy place but very nice for the money. Clean, comfortable, and a breakfast too. This hotel is very handy to major highways with easy on and off access. There are many eating establishments in the area as well as shopping malls and movie theaters. We find ourselves making reservations here regularly when we travel north especially to Niagara Falls. Being only an hour away, it is a great stopover.

Room Tip: No pool or extra activities but this is a great sleeping place for the price. We stay here often on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTHONY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gta
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Even if desperate staying overnight in vehicle a better option. Even though our room was non smoking it smelled of smoke. One bed was unmade, bathroom dirty, toilet was not cleaned, garbage not emptied. Only redeeming quality is the sports bar next to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buffalo hotels

Right here
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed there for one night. When we walked into the room, we were hit by a musty, sweaty odor. It seemed to be coming from the AC unit. We sprayed it with Febreeze and set out some air fresheners to cover it up. The carpets were dirty. I noted a pile of bugs under the headboard (see pictures). I guess the vacuum doesn't reach under there. Cob webs all over. The toilet overflowed and flooded the bathroom floor. Fortunately, I did not see any evidence of bed bugs.

We definitely got what we paid for. A cheap, dirty hotel. I will NEVER stay there again!

Room Tip: Want a good room...go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SP692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for just a shopping trip to Buffalo. The hotel is about 15 minutes drive from the Galleria Mall. We chose it because it was the cheapest we can find last minutes over a weekend in July. It worked out to be around $75 (including taxes) when booked directly with the hotel.

We checked in late but the staff were very happy to greet us. The location was quite but we can occasionally hear our neighboring guests walking down the hall (the walls are not the thickest).

In the bathroom, we noticed both of our shower towels were dirty! It has some sort of yellow stain on them..... when we asked the front desk for replacement, they showed us that they had no more bath towel and gave us two hand towel. It did the job but surely didn't leave us with a good impression.

The breakfast the next morning was served from 6-9 and the staff filled the breakfast area until way past 9AM. There were however only 3 tables to sit in the breakfast area so most guests had to take their food and return to the rooms. The breakfast only included bagels, muffins, pastry, coffee, juice (apple and orange), and oatmeal.... there's nothing more (not even milk).

So bottom line, if you need a cheap place to crash and don't expect the most quite room, the cleanest towels, nor a great breakfast, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammiBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buffalo
7.1 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
1,793 reviews
7.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
7.9 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
3.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Property: Econo Lodge South
Address: 4344 Milestrip Rd, Buffalo, NY 14219-2030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Buffalo
Econo Lodge Buffalo
Buffalo Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing