We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Discount Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Buffalo
London, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average Discount Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here one night when coming back from Boston. Clean comfortable room for a reasonable price. The hotel is old and dated but this is an economy hotel. Good for one night .Pleasant staff ample parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    61
    39
    14
    13
See reviews for
47
47
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Irwin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here for one night, and were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and roomy. No complaints about the bed. Like a few other reviews, the room had a cleaning smell when we first arrived, but it disappeared when we turned the AC up some and were out of the room for a while. Only one minor problem was a sink drain that was somewhat clogged. We notified the front desk when we checked out in the morning. The big plus was the Warehouse, a sports bar a couple hundred feet or so from our room across the parking lot that had good food and very reasonable prices. I still have family in the area, and we will stay here on return trips depending on whom we are visiting. Typically, the Amherst area is more of a central point for us. What was nice was a much lower price than the Red Roof Inn's in the area. This is not the Hyatt, but for less than $100 a night including taxes, it's a deal. The 2 queen size bed rooms on the first floor are extremely roomy. The speed of the free WiFi in the room was also fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irwin_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here last weekend with family. The place was renovated, the large room was spacious, very clean. Parking space was not big enough, had to park a little far at night. When checking out, they did not give any extra time. It is fair enough but I can always use some extra time with the packing and getting kid ready! Breakfast was ok, more choices would have been better. I would still rate this place very high for its cleanliness, ease of check in and out, spacious rooms.

Room Tip: The Large room is only about $25 more than a 2 occupancy room, but it's a lot better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellwisher_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I arrived at this hotel on August 2, 2014, and the overpowering smell of what may have been very dirty carpet cleaning solution hit me at the door. I had to immediately leave the door open while bringing items in from the car. From there, I left the fan system running all night, instead of the A/C. The smell was really tough to get through all night long. However, the rest of the room was clean.

Be aware that this is more of a motel than a hotel. The so-called continental breakfast should barely be called that. Here are your choices: poppy seed muffins, bagels, English muffins, pre-packaged honey buns, coffee, maybe 1 type of cereal, and apple or orange juice. They didn't even have a pitcher of water! Pretty rough accommodations overall. However, if you just want a place to lay your head, go for it.

Room Tip: If the room stinks to high heaven, ask for another one. Please read my next review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo9361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buffalo hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A quick visit into Buffalo required just one night away from home. We chose a non-smoking room and were pleasantly surprised that it didn't have any smoky smell. The room was #225, just at the top of the stairs on the second floor, on the restaurant side of the building. We were able to sleep comfortably with no headlights or truck noise. The other side of the hotel is for large truck parking so we requested the restaurant side. The bed was in good condition, as was the bathroom area. It was pretty clean, the towels were fresh and clean, and the tub/shower was clean. The walking was a little tight in the room because the bed and dresser with TV were very close together but it was manageable. The carpet was a little dirty, nothing a good cleaning wouldn't fix. There was 1 small chair and a luggage stand, two end tables, with reading lamps, and wall sockets easily assessable for plugging in various cords. There was a coffee pot, with coffee packets available in the room, but no microwave or refrigerator. It was just a basic room, excellent for a one night stay. The breakfast is served in the office building which is separate from the actual hotel. Breakfast consisted of Dewey Egbert coffee, pastries, cereal, 2% milk, apple and orange juice, oatmeal, and bagels with cream cheese or peanut butter; three small tables, 2 chairs each for seating. We were not charged a deposit, but the front dest stated they would charge $150.00 extra if anyone smoked in the room, because they would have to clean up the smell of cigarettes. Overall, we were happy with our service and stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mefohiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were in Buffalo for one night and wanted a basic room, something inexpensive, reasonably clean, with safe parking and easy access. The Econo Lodge South fit our needs well. Staff was friendly. Room was reasonably clean although the carpet felt a little damp. Shower worked well and was equipped with soap, shampoo and towels sufficient for two adults. Be careful when in the shower if a neighbor flushes a toilet. Without warning your shower water will jump into the extremely hot, close to scalding temperature range.

Breakfast is in the office and consists of coffee, juice, oatmeal, bagels, cereals, and some pastries. It was good, filling and plentiful.

Should we return to Buffalo for another short stop, we'd stay here again. If looking for lengthier accommodations we will also check out other places, too.

Room Tip: Second floor on the restaurant side (opposite side from 18-wheeler parking lot) is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

If it weren't for myself reading the fine print, I would not have known about the 100 dollar security deposit, AT AN ECONO LODGE?! Anyway, it doesn't end there. Not only did they not inform me about my security deposit, but they ran my security deposit twice and charged 200 dollars. I recommend spending a little extra money to rather stay at a doubletree by Hilton, or comfort suites.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rency C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buffalo
7.1 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 25 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Galleria Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Property: Econo Lodge South
Address: 4344 Milestrip Road, Buffalo, NY 14219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Hotel Buffalo
Econo Lodge Buffalo
Buffalo Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing