We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isolated, relaxing and lovely site”

Thomas Stone National Historic Site
Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Isolated, relaxing and lovely site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

My fiance and I have made several trips to Thomas Stone National Historic Site, which houses Haberdeventure, Stone's family home. Owned by the National Park Service, rangers are on hand to direct you around the property, and ranger-led tours of the home are very interesting. Plenty of parking at the visitor's center, which is very modern and clean (with restrooms!). Everyone there is very friendly and helpful.

From the visitor's center, it's a bit of a walk down to Haberdeventure (likely 10 minutes or so, depending on your speed!), but lovely on a nice day. I find this place very relaxing and interesting, and it's great to have a piece of American history so close to home. It's a fun property to explore, too.

If you're a photographer, definitely have your camera handy -- there are beautiful old barns across from Haberdeventure that just beg to be photographed, and part of old Maryland history -- tobacco -- was on display there on our visit last spring.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MarylandCupcakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanjemoy, MD
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A piece of history close to home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a small, simple park; however, it packs a big punch in feeling a true sense of our nation's history. It's a must see especiallly if you are a local - we drive by it all the time and need to stop more often. Lots of room for little ones to burn off energy too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank madmag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go back in time a visit the home of a signer of the Declaration of Independence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

See what life was like for the only Catholic signer of the Declaration of Independence. Walk through the extensive grounds and imagine what life was like for all the residents there, both those in the house and the slaves who worked the land.

The visitors center has a fascinating exhibit on religion in Maryland.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank ditravels1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Thomas Stone's Home - signer of the Declaration of Independence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Interested in a short trip from Washington, DC? Thomas Stone is one of four Maryland men that signed the Declaration of Independence, and you can visit his home and grave for free in a short 40-minute drive from the Washington beltway.

Thomas Stone was born in 1743, and began a career in law in 1765. In 1774 he became a member of the Charles County Committee of Correspondence, and in 1775 was chosen by Maryland as a member of the 2nd Continental Congress. In 1776, Thomas Stone voted in favor of the Declaration of Independence, signing it with his fellow Marylanders, Charles Carroll, William Paca, and Samuel Chase. Thomas helped to draft the Articles of Confederation. Stone continued in Maryland politics up to his death in 1787 shortly after his wife died.

The Thomas Stone National Historic Site is located a few miles north of Port Tobacco, a few miles west of MD 301 (west of La Plata, MD), and about 25 miles south of the Washington Capital Beltway (6655 Rose Hill Road, Port Tobacco, MD 20677, [--]).

The Thomas Stone National Historic Site is a few hundred acres of property. The park includes Stone’s home, Haberdeventure (built in 1771, and reconstructed in 1997), his grave along with his family’s graves, a horse barn, a tobacco barn, a corn crib, and a tenant home. There is a small visitor center.

We visited the site on a very nice spring day. The rangers at the visitor center were very friendly and steered us into watching an 8-minute film on Thomas Stone. The walk from the visitor center past Thomas’ grave to Habredeventure is about a 300-400 yard walk (but it is possible to drive right up to the building). We walked over and went into the home. There was nobody there, so we had the full attention of the ranger. The home has two side buildings that are connected to the main home by rooms know as “hyphens”. The tour of the interior only took about 30 minutes (including our peppering of the Ranger with questions). The ranger gave us some great information on the history of the structure, details on its construction and restoration, and a wealth of detail on the historic furnishings. A highlight is Stone’s writing desk. We walked past the outbuildings and were able to peer into them, but they are not open (with the exception of the tobacco barn). There are also some “woodsy” trails, but we didn’t try them.

Our total time at the site was about 1.5 hours. The site is convenient, quiet, and no crowd. While Thomas Stone is a rather obscure signer of the Declaration, the tour was free and very informative (a big thanks to the great National Park rangers).

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank pabl01neum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas Stone National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Thomas Stone National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing