We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Revolutionary War History a worth while Stop”

Thomas Stone National Historic Site
LaPlata, MD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you like Revolutionary War History a worth while Stop”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

They have a visitors center with interesting pictures, Drawings and historical information. House is a short walk away and is restored. Park staff at house dressed in period outfits and have interesting talks. Very informative.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tomrealest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Tobacco, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, interesting and overlooked historical site”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I have been visiting the Thomas Stone National Historic Site for many years and highly recommend this interesting and beautiful site. The guides are knowledgeable and accommodating and the visitor center is interesting. The short walk to the Stone home is delightful at any time of the year. Very much overlooked are the beautiful fields and gorgeous woods which provide hours of walking. I encourage individuals and families to take some quiet time, walk, listen and learn.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The guide was just not a good guide. Long walk from visitors center to the house. It was okay, but have seen better. It is free.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,445 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,509 helpful votes
“House tour”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We took a tour to the Thomas stone's house. The ranger was very knowledgeable about Thomas Stone's life and it was very interesting. We learned a lot about him and about the house.
I highly recommend that you walk from the visitor center to the house and stop in the cemetery. It's a nice walk, less than 5 minutes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Isolated, relaxing and lovely site”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My fiance and I have made several trips to Thomas Stone National Historic Site, which houses Haberdeventure, Stone's family home. Owned by the National Park Service, rangers are on hand to direct you around the property, and ranger-led tours of the home are very interesting. Plenty of parking at the visitor's center, which is very modern and clean (with restrooms!). Everyone there is very friendly and helpful.

From the visitor's center, it's a bit of a walk down to Haberdeventure (likely 10 minutes or so, depending on your speed!), but lovely on a nice day. I find this place very relaxing and interesting, and it's great to have a piece of American history so close to home. It's a fun property to explore, too.

If you're a photographer, definitely have your camera handy -- there are beautiful old barns across from Haberdeventure that just beg to be photographed, and part of old Maryland history -- tobacco -- was on display there on our visit last spring.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MarylandCupcakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas Stone National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Thomas Stone National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing