We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, great service, local atmosphere”

The Blue Dog Saloon and Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great service, local atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a wonderful meal! My husband and I heard good things about the Blue Dog Saloon from friends and decided to take a little drive. Less than 10 minutes from downtown La Plata, the restaurant comes up quick right off the road -- look for blue lights at night!

We were greeted immediately by a hostess who asked if we'd like to sit in the dining room or on the bar side. Both were inviting with local decor and Maryland-themed items, and we immediately loved the ambiance. It was busy on a Friday night with families and groups celebrating special occasions, but the noise level was not bad at all.

I ordered the cream of crap soup as an appetizer with the bison burger for dinner, and my husband got the prime rib. He savored every morsel and boxed up what little remained for a "snack," but he barely got home before wanting to eat the rest! I loved my coleslaw and burger, which was cooked perfectly. The soup was amazing and loaded with fresh crab.

Our server was very nice and friendly, and the entire staff seemed attentive and interested in how we were doing. Our drinks and food arrived quickly and correctly. The chef entered the dining room as we were leaving, stopping to ask how we enjoyed our meal, thank us for coming and wish us a happy Thanksgiving. We really appreciated the gesture!

Loved the local flavor, the food, the ambiance and service. No complaints at all! We will definitely be back and highly recommend a stop. A little off the beaten path for some folks in Southern Maryland, but worth the drive. We'll go back for drinks or dessert in the near future . . . the sweets all sounded amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarylandCupcakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Crossing at Casey Jones used to be are standard special occasion restaurant in the Southern MD area, but in recent years has not been up to par. Recently a friend recommended that we try The Blue Dog Saloon in Port Tobacco. What a pleasant surprise. From the beginning when we tried the Chicken Bean Nachos, to the Crab Cakes and Scallops Risotto everything was wonderful. It was the extra things like plenty of warm chips to go with the chicken bean chili. to the pipping hot bread pudding plenty for two people. My one recommendation is that you call ahead for reservations. The location is not large, and due to the local popularity if you do not want to wait, I recommend you call for reservations. Great place to go when you want top notch food, but do not want to travel to DC to get it. Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimbe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crab cakes are awesome!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very nice, quaint restaurant. Not too big inside so I recommend reservations. We ordered crabcakes, prime rib, chicken,rockfish and filet mignon at our table and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal. It's a little expensive so can't afford to go weekly but very nice for a special night out. They do have weekly specials which takes a nice chunk off the regular price. Will definitely go back again soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvl_eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice local favorite”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

For a small local tavern / restaurant - this is a hidden gem. We are fairly new to southern MD, so we are still learning about the best places to eat. Apparently this place was a bit of a dive bar until they hired a new Chef and turned the place upscale. It is quaint and has a great historical ghost story.

We now go there about once a month. My most recent favorite meal was the Nanjemoy Sea Bass - which is a more appealing name than its real name: snakehead. The fish is firm, thick, and tasty. The service is good, but they tend to get busy on many nights, so be prepared to wait a bit.

On the bar side, they have live entertainment on some nights. We have enjoyed the food and entertainment several times, but if you want a quiet dinner - pick a night without music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best Prime Rib dinners in So. MD”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

For a place in the middle of nowhere, the Blue Dog does very well. You will notice this because the parking lot is often packed during the week because of their daily specials. Thursday night is Prime Rib night and they don't disappoint. Where do they keep all this beef with such a small kitchen? It's best to go after the early crowd departs, usually by 7-7:30 pm, but hopefully they will still have beef left.
When your meal comes out, the a large piece of beef will be draped over vegetables, like asparagus and accompanied with a baked potato. There's something about the merging of the potato, the skin and the succulent juices that makes the potato skin very good. Can you believe I'm reviewing the potato skin? A very flavorful experience! I'll be back!
The only negative is that it can get crowded, and if you have children, they won't be able to sit at/near the bar while you wait. But they do their best to get you to your table, even if people linger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Czajka_Madness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Dog Saloon and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Dog Saloon and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing