We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Challenging hike but well worth the effort and views.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timpanogos Cave National Monument

Timpanogos Cave National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the sites in Utah for cave exploring.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Challenging hike but well worth the effort and views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just finished the 1.5 mile hike to Timpanagos cave and while it was a challenging walk - elevation change of 1,000 feet - the tour of the cave was awesome. The National Park guide was very informative and engaged all 16 people (maximum possible on a tour). Would highly recommend you book an early tour as the temperature at mid-day or later may make the hike more difficult. Remember to bring water.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    64
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Day, nice cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great hike up to the cave with a good paved trail. It's a 1000+ foot increase in elevation in 1-1/4 mile so you need to be in a little bit of good shape, bring water and a camera. Cave is nice and cool, about 50 deg F. Bring a lunch to eat when you are done, go directly across street from the ranger station and enjoy the nice tables outside. It was a great day with the family.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cswee1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hike up 1100 vertical feet in 1.5 miles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It helps to be in shape, but the hike at your own pace to the cave entry is worth it. Up paved trail, which allows most people to make the climb. Great views all along the way. Reserve tickets days in advance! Or if you're like us, we got lucky and got tickets at the ticket window at ranger station. They told us our time to hike was at 10:30a, and it would take 1.5 hrs to reach cave entry, and then another 2-2.5 hrs to tour cave and descend back to lot, but my wife and I did the whole thing in 2 hrs. We're in our mid 40s.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fascinating Cave Formations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The rangers recommend 1.5 hours to walk to the cave entrance. Take the whole time to stop and look at the beautiful canyon views! The pathway to the Cave entrance is paved, well marked and maintained. We took the 11:45 am Introduction to Caving and the 2:30 pm Cave Tour. We were the only two on the Introduction tour and had the guide to ourselves. We were provided a hard hat and miners headlight. We explored a part of the cave that is not included in the Cave Tour. We had the chance to ask our experienced guide lots of questions and gained an education. Well worth the time. Following the Intro to Cave tour we took a 30 minute break and ate our lunch which we brought with us. There are portable bathrooms at the top of the trail. Then we took the regular Cave Tour. We appreciated all we learned in the introduction because we had a deep appreciation of this tour. The rangers are enthusiastic, knowledgable and patient. This is a great days activity for anyone who can make the trek up the hill. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dunn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard hike, but worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Bring water and a jacket. It is a nice cave with a paved path. It is just very steep.
I remember doing this hike as a kid, and my own 4 year old made it just fine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timpanogos Cave National Monument also viewed

 
Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Timpanogos Cave National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing