We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hike - Average Cave”

Timpanogos Cave National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the sites in Utah for cave exploring.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Hike - Average Cave”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We are in good shape and found this hike not to be as strenuous as claimed. We did it in 1 hour without drinking much water and it was a very hot day. The views are spectacular, but I did not find the cave to be very inspiring. I've been to better and more interesting ones. The tour presented by the Park Service focused on education, "what are the 'ingredients' in a cave?" This was a Saturday and it was super busy here. I recommend reservations.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DuluthMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    64
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hike and cave tour”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The water fill station at the base of the trail was so worthwhile--we drank it up fast during our hike up to the cave. The views are breathtaking along the nicely paved trail. Amazing how quickly you are ascending and looking out over the pass to more mountains. Our guide was very fun and loved her job--all ages were entertained by her enthusiastic tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss it !”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wonderful piece of history..Great hiking location with amazing views..Park ranger staff is very energetic and resourceful. Had great time with friend.. Hiking trail is very stiff but its paved with benches for rest..recommend to carry water and some energy bar..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PPatel_401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome cave with a great guide”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our family took a tour of the cave with Nancy. She was fantastic! Enthusiastic, engaged the kids, and really knew her stuff. The tour was about an hour, and she made it so interesting. She asked the kids questions to keep them involved as well. The cave itself is beautiful, and I would say it is one of the better cave tours I have taken. Do be aware that there is a vey, very steep 1 1/2 mile climb to the mouth of the cave so it might be tough for really young kids, older folks, or people who have heart or breathing problems. Once inside the cave, you mostly walk upright, but there are a few tight squeezes. A great experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalakeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun trip for the family”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It's ar real fun place to take the family on a nice warm afternoon. IT's really cold inside the cave, so definitely bring a hoody or something lite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timpanogos Cave National Monument also viewed

 
Provo, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Timpanogos Cave National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing