We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is located in a very unique, historic building. It's worth it for the interesting architecture alone. Conveniently located (with parking!)-it's easy to walk downtown to shops, restaurants, etc. They came by our rooms at night with little candies and a sheet of recommendations with what was going on in Newport that week. Everything was clean and well cared for. We had an excellent stay. I heard they do breakfast on their roofdeck, but I didn't get a chance to check it out. It was definitely a little pricey (and they charge you if you have an extra person!) and would be better if it had a pool, but overall, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

It was so lovely to stay here and I heartily recommend it. The service was super (Jessica was so chatty and welcoming) and the breakfast was superb. The receptionists couldn't go enough for you and the room was immaculate . Best hotel of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was our last location following a tour of N.E. and we spent two nights at the Mill Street Inn. We were travelling with our two children (boys 15&16) and booked a family room. The suite was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the Inn well located. Breakfast was great, particularly if the weather was good and you could enjoy eating it on the roof terrace. We did experience an overcharge on the bill which I spotted before departing. It related to having children in the suite as they used the sofa bed. The rate for them had been doubled. It took a little while to pin down the error but when identified it was immediately rectified. We would be happy to go back.

Room Tip: If you want to lay in late (we didn't) then you may not want to be in the room below the roof te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowdown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we were very happy with the hotel.We arrived on time and the room was ready.The receptionist Jo was very friendly and helpful.Since there is no elevator we requested help with our bulky luggage.Tim provided service with a smile very quickly. The room was clean and cozy and the bed was very comfortable. ..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elor132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Went for anniversary with our Australian Cattle dog. Had dog water bowls and a bed ( that was too small for his size). Dogs are allowed in all areas of the hotel, it was nice to eat breakfast on the roof with our dog and watch the July fireworks with our pooch! The a/c did not feel very strong in the room, but that week was also extremely hot and humid. It was nice to have off street parking, but the parking lot is a very tight squeeze if you don't get parking in the first 5-6 spots. The location was wonderful, about 5 minute walk to waterfront, shops, parks and nightlife. The room, bathroom and communal areas were all very clean and the bed was VERY comfortable. I would love to say we would stay there again, but per night its quite pricey, but as they say "location, location, location!".

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcess7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. All the appointments were there except for a couple of things. The bathroom shower stall had either mold or dirt in between the tiles next to the wood seat. (needs clorox). Second the candy at night was not very appetizing. All else, the room, and breakfast buffet was good. Bed excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and i had a wonderful stay at the Mill Street Inn--so wonderful that we ended up extending our stay and stayed an extra night. Our first 2 night were in the town house suites-beautiful, spacious clean and by far one of the most comfortable beds we had ever stayed in! truth be told-we didnt even end up using the downstairs living area...the bathroom and balcony were upstair so thats where we were. Our 3rd night we stayed in just a regular studio room--my advice to all-- the studio is less expensive and just as beautiful and comfortable--and if you do Newport right-you won't be in the room much anyway. Overall- friendly staff, excellent location--Thames Street was less than a min walk away! We will absolutley be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £124 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing