We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite hotel stays!”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotel stays!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I took the opportunity to spend 1 night here on my way to Martha’s Vineyard as I love Newport & was so happy that I chose the Mill Street Inn. It was possibly my favorite hotel room ever – a well-designed duplex that was so cozy & welcoming with an adorable balcony. The beds are so soft & comfy too.

Dog friendly! They deliver dog kits to your room with comfy beds, treats, etc. & there was no trace of another dog staying in the room beforehand or of an inferior room type.

Before checking out, we thought we would grab a quick bagel from the breakfast buffet…only to discover one of the best breakfast buffets, which added an extra hour onto our morning! Breakfast is served in a beautiful setting on the roof & includes quality bagels w/lox, premium coffee, greek yogurt, etc.

All in all, a fantastic value & experience. On my next trip to Newport, I will undoubtedly stay here.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are accessible by elevator, so this may be a problem if you have difficulty with stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberta_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    162
    68
    32
    17
See reviews for
91
318
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I spent our first wedding anniversary weekend at the Mill Street Inn in early December. The staff are wonderful, the location is fantastic, and the rooms are comfortable. We appreciated the front desk staff's pleasant demeanor, professionalism, and willingness to help. The little things - bottled water, fresh oranges, a dish of chocolate covered raisins, and welcome notes - really helped set the Mil Street Inn apart from others. When we checked in, for example, and were asked what brought us to Newport, we were happily surprised that they would deliver a bottle of red wine and two glasses to our room to help us celebrate our anniversary (it even came with a hand written note!). And though we didn't take advantage of it, we heard about the fantastic breakfast spread available in the morning.

Two things to note: 1 - while parking is free, there is not a ton of off-street parking. You can park on the street with the parking pass the Inn gives you, but be sure to take notice of the parking signs on the street. 2 - We stayed on the first floor facing Mill Street, and could hear our upstairs neighbors talking (though somewhat muffled) and walking around in their room. I imagine this has to do with the age of the building... If you're worried about overhead noise, you might ask for a room on the second floor.

Overall, a wonderful stay. We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awesty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I and our two children stayed at the Mill Street Inn over the Thanksgiving Holiday. THe Inn is in a great location within walking distance to almost everything. You can even walk to the mansions if you are a little more adventurous. The room was very nice and had two separate rooms which was great for our family. There is turn down service at night with notes left for the family. We will be back over the Fourth of July Holiday to experience Newport in the warm weather. Easily had the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Last week, after having read TripAdvisor reviews, we spent two nights at the Mill Street Inn.What we found here truly exceeded our expectations and provided us with a primer on the ABCs of hospitality:
A: Amiable staff, who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful; ;
B: Bountiful breakfasts, offering a wide range of options from fresh fruits,yogurt, bagels and lox,
to a variety of cereals. Did we forget to mention the delicious coffee?
C: Comfortable rooms, featuring down bedding, luxurious towels and spacious shower.

We definitely recommend this oasis to our family and friends and look forward to seeing more of Newport while staying at this most convenient and welcoming inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeefans95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I made a last minute reservation for a night at Mill Street Inn and my only regret is that I didn't get to spend more time there. The location is fantastic and the free off street parking is great. This is my favorite type of hotel - small with great attention to detail. The rooms were well appointed with nice little touches. The bed was very comfortable. They offer a great breakfast option included in the price of your room. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful with my needs.

I highly recommend the Mill Street Inn, and I hope to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathmul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Mill Street Inn provides a convenient location to the Newport waterfront, Washington Square, and Bellevue Avenue. All are within comfortable walking distance. The Inn provides off street parking which is a plus in the area. Rooms are compact and spartan, but contain all the amenities for your comfort. We stayed in a townhouse suite which featured a gas fireplace and rooftop balcony. A very substantial buffet breakfast is served each morning, and refreshments are provided in the afternoon. Staff are helpful and courteous. We were celebrating a birthday, and were given a complimentary bottle of wine to enjoy. Rates are very reasonable for the quality of lodging. This is a great place to consider when planning a visit to Newport.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My stay at the Mill St. Inn was amazing! The inn is beautifully decorated. The exposed brick and vaulted ceilings were incredibly charming. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I was blown away by the friendly staff, turn down service and yummy breakfast! It is in a perfect location and within easy walking distance to the waterfront, shopping and dining and the charming historic area of Newport. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessG317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Property: Mill Street Inn
Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Street Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing