We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed was like falling into a dreamy cloud”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I really loved the Mill Street Inn. The décor is a perfect mix of old and new and the bed was heavenly. The breakfast was so much better than most places and I just loved the fresh squeezed orange juice, the generous bowls full of berries and the good coffee (a little difficult to come by in the USA). The desk staff were efficient and helpful. All in all, Mill Street Inn is very good value and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glendaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

My fiancee and I recently stayed overnight at The Mill Street Inn. We were extremely happy with our stay. The accommodations were immaculate and the service was wonderful, we will be back very soon. It's location is ideal and within short walking distances from all the wonderful restaurants and shopping locations. Siren made our stay extra special for our engagement and made us reservations at The Mooring where we were treated like royalty. We are planning another stay this summer so we can enjoy the rooftop breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We recently planned a trip through New England with a two-night stopover in Newport. We decided on the MSI because of the positive reviews and overall value. It turned out to be the best two nights of our vacation! The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms were spacious and comfortable...I loved the rain-head shower! The continental breakfast was perfect and I enjoyed the afternoon tea, espresso and snacks! The free parking is a definite plus. The hotel is located within walking distance to all shops and restaurants. We also liked the evening turndown service. All of these special little touches helped make our stay even more enjoyable! We will be returning!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SusanMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have been to Newport numerous times, but this Inn was my all time favorite. The location is great! A very pleasant walk through historic streets to shops and restaurants. The staff were pleasant and accommodating. Our room was as described on website. Spacious, comfortable. The bed was very comfortable, slept well. We were in room 109. The only problem was when the people in the room above us where moving around at 8:15am, the floor above was squeaking. the continental breakfast was perfect; the coffee delicious. Nice view from the rooftop! Free parking was a plus also. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgem050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If there was such thing as perfection, this inn comes very close. Our entire experience was just wonderful! Our room was large, lovely, and comfortable. The front desk and other hotel staff were amazingly helpful. We loved the complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea. The hotel is located right in the middle of all the Newport action, but it's a bit tucked away from the noise and traffic. The free parking and Wifi were very helpful too. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poochiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were very impressed with the Mill Street Inn, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, modern place to stay in a great location in Newport. We got a great last minute deal on our room, and were very pleased with it for the price (about $150/night, including taxes & fees). Our room was on the second floor, and was very quiet. We loved the charm that the exposed brick walls and beams gave, and the bathroom was gorgeous and recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable, and we got a great night's sleep. We loved the rooftop deck overlooking the harbor and other rooftops - what a great feature, and a beautiful place to pass a quiet afternoon! We thought the breakfast selection was plentiful - during the summer, it is served on the rooftop deck, but off-season it is served in a room in the basement/lowest level.

Hands down, the best feature of the Mill Street Inn was the staff and service. The front desk staff greeted us pleasantly, and since our room wasn't ready due to our early arrival, they gave us recommendations on where to eat lunch, and even offered us umbrellas because it was raining. When we returned to check in, we were greeted by name and our keys were ready. When I was booking the room, I had mentioned that we were going to Newport as a belated anniversary trip. We were surprised to find a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room after check-in, with a lovely card wishing us a happy anniversary - what a great touch! The following night, when we were headed out for dinner, the front desk staff asked us if we were heading out for our anniversary dinner. We just loved the personal, friendly service!

We would not hesitate to recommend the Mill Street Inn to friends visiting Newport, and we definitely plan on returning!

Things You Should Know:
- There is no elevator, so be prepared to do some stairs or request a room on the first floor.
- Parking is tight, but it's free, and the hotel is walking distance to all of the shops, restaurants, and bars on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandermom321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location cannot be beat. Close enough to main drag for a leisurely stroll to restaurants etc. Also, the cliff walk is a 20 minute or so walk away, so not too far as well if you want to walk there. By car, it is less than 5 minutes away. The front desk staff were helpful and discreet, not overbearing. The breakfast is plentiful, although a bit basic. Coffee is wonderful. Parking is tight, but free and so convenient, For the price, the rooms are a good deal for Newport. We had a townhouse unit with a deck which had an amazing view of the waterfront and rooftops. This is certainly not the Ritz. However, the location is very comfortable, as are the rooms. If you want glitzy accommodations, go the Forty 1 North or the Vanderbilt where you will pay double the room cost. We were extremely happy at the Mill Street Inn and will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linkakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £124 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing