We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night Out”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My girlfriend and I are Newport residents, booked here for a night out on her birthday. We were surprised to find such a great place having lived in Newport all of our lives and never hearing about it! The place was very modern on the inside with an awesome roof deck with a great view of the harbor. You can also bring dinner up there to use tables that are already set up for you! Service was excellent, the rooms were great, and we were lucky enough to get a room with our own private deck in the back of the hotel. Great place to stay in Newport! Great location for a short walk to the downtown area!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to book a room with our own private deck. Towards the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this little gem of a hotel located in the heart of Newport within a couple blocks of most restaurants and shops. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. The room includes a continental breakfast which offered a variety of breakfast foods, coffee, tea, and juice. Definitely enough to get you through until lunch or an early dinner. On nice mornings, the breakfast is served on the roof deck which has a decent view of the harbor. They also serve coffee, tea, and cookies in the afternoon for a light treat. The hotel is in a great location that is 2 blocks from all the action on Thames Street and a short walk to Broadway or Bellevue. It is a modest walk, but we were able to walk to First Beach, the Cliff Walk, and the Mansions. We'll definitely return to the Mill Street Inn the next time we stay in Newport.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so request a first floor room if you have a lot of luggage or have trouble clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved the Mill Street Inn it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in during a 5 week visit to America. The hotel is well located walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops & a short drive to other attractions. The room was large and well appointed and there was an attention to detail missing in a lot of other hotels. The wifi worked well & we loved the quirky collection of books on the coffee table!! Parking is free and breakfast included which was on the roof terrace with great views to the water.
Staff were very helpful as well...a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: First floor as there are no lifts. There are no room safes either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 79suzannem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for a weeding weekend. Location Great, Staff (Tiffany,Siren) very eager to please with a calm smile and can do approach! We stayed in a one bedroom suite #109 very nice. There is not an elevator so we requested 1st floor. Our 25 yr old son stayed in the main room on a sleeper sofa with a feather top added. Head of bed in master is right next to bathroom so any night time users woke up others in bed. Great blackout shades! No tub- robes- not a place to hold hand and wash towels. Free parking on property but VERY TIGHT. Breakfast was very nice just enough...fruit, mini quiche,oatmeal,cereal,breads.Also an afternoon tea with great pound cakes, cookies, fruit, tea and coffee. They put fresh water in your room daily. We walked everywhere from hotel! Don't miss the cliff walks!! Would stay again!!! VERY CLEAN!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary. We had a great time the staff was spot on especially the breakfast crew. They pay attention to detail and made our stay memorable. Love the townhouse room with the balcony thanks again Ms Rivera and your team. Special mention to the Red Parrot for a delicious lunch try the wraps.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMUNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Central located in Newport. Modern very nice rooms. Don't go for the suites. They have 2 floors and we did not use the living room and the balcony. There is a wonderful terassen that is so much better with much better wiews. Very nice beds, bathroom and robes. No safe box in the room. This hotel has no elevator, a lot of stairs, fine with us. Afternoon tea and quality coffee is served from 3 to 6 pm. Complimentary breakfast was served on the terrace. Very friendly staff! Free parking.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank R_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I really loved the Mill Street Inn. The décor is a perfect mix of old and new and the bed was heavenly. The breakfast was so much better than most places and I just loved the fresh squeezed orange juice, the generous bowls full of berries and the good coffee (a little difficult to come by in the USA). The desk staff were efficient and helpful. All in all, Mill Street Inn is very good value and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glendaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £118 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing