We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect quiet hotel, close to all attractions”
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet hotel, close to all attractions”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have stayed at this wonderful hotel for only one day while we were in the city but definitely will stay there again next time. Loved the decor and especially the rooftop breakfast the serve. Its family friendly and romantic at the same time. The hotel is very clean. The staff was accommodating and genuinely friendly. They do provide a complimentary parking for guests - great feature!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Convev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    163
    68
    32
    17
See reviews for
91
321
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Arriving at this small hotel you are greeted by a building that holds all the charm of it's previous life as a mill. Upon entering you are fast forwarded to an eclectic, modern atmosphere. Staff was welcoming and helpful, offering a parking space for the day and some helpful hints on sights. Later on at check in, a bell hop escorted us to our room and gave us a tour of it's amenities and how to operate them. Later on housekeeping introduced themselves with a treat and inquired about turn down service. The harbor view roof top lounge/breakfast area was a nice touch. In the morning it was used for continental breakfast. A decent selection of baked goods, cereal, fruit, yogurt, eggs and beverages are provided. Our room was on the first floor, it offered a king size bed, sitting area and bathroom. The room has specialty lighting, which creates ambiance, however, it was a bit dark. I loved the exposed brick walls and restored wood beams throughout the hotel space. Our room was fine, and would definitely stay there again. Two things get in the way of me giving this property a five star rating; 1. in our room there must have been recent lighting/fan modifications, due to that, there were 2 holes in the ceiling. 2. Shower must have been converted to handicap accessible, there was no lip between the shower and the bathroom area which caused large amounts of water to flow onto the floor, creating a bit of a hazard. Other than these two small concerns, the property is lovely offering a great location, intimate atmosphere and good service. I will be recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small walk out balcony which is a nice feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannago_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron R, General Manager at Mill Street Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
We appreciate your kind words about your stay with us as well as the notes about what could have been better in your room. We're always looking to improve our facilities and services so any comments are truly appreciated. We hope to see you on your next visit to Newport and hope you get to try one of the Townhouse Suites with the great private balconies next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Clean, attentive, comfortable. The Inn has a casual european charm. Walkable to harbor but far enough from the bustle to feel like a local living in the charming neighborhood. Breezy, cozy, quiet. Best nights sleep I've had in years! I would recommend this place for couples looking to escape the loud more family-oriented hotels of Newport. Definitely staying here the next time I'm in town! Thank you to all the staff for making it a lovely part of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great location for walking to restaurants, shopping and the Newport mansions. Quiet road. Very nice staff but a bit laid back for my taste. The bathroom was very tiny and not in great shape, the shower curtain was ripped and moldy, very disappointing, but the rest of the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was typical continental and if the weather is nice it is offered on the roof patio which is lovely. Overall a nice small hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron R, General Manager at Mill Street Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We've tried to add some things you wouldn't normally expect on a continental breakfast like our smoked salmon platter as well as a couple egg choices in addition to fruits, yogurts and the more traditional cereals and baked goods. We welcome ideas on what else our guests might be looking for as we also change it up a few times a year. We appreciate your comments on the bathroom as well. Only two of our bathrooms have shower curtains while the rest offer a glass partition. We were very surprised to hear about the condition of the shower curtain as those are brand new and that is something we've addressed immediately. We hope you'll try us out again next time you're in Newport and that you get to try a another room as every room in the inn is laid out a bit differently so you might enjoy one of our other options even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Mill Street in has a perfect location for exploring Newport. The rooms have a European feeling to them and were comfortable. I noticed dust in some areas that indicated less than complete cleaning, but the rooms overall were fine. Breakfast on the roof is very pleasant with nice views of the harbor. My biggest complaint is the (I feel) misleading indication that parking is available for people staying at the inn. After arriving back at the Inn one evening from a day kayaking we were informed the lot was full. The night manager admitted that there were fewer spaces than rooms. The proposed solution was for us to try to find parking on the street (impossible due to the number of areas which require resident permits) or to park at a public lot overnight. So, I had to park blocks away and walk back late in the evening at an additional charge of $25. I think an inn that costs as much as the Mill Street Inn should find a way to accommodate the guests, and should have offered to reimburse us for our expense. (Which they did not.) Unless you plan to only walk to your activities you may wish to consider an alternate place to stay. I know we will.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I made our first visit to Newport this past weekend for a late birthday celebration and stayed two nights. We have recently vacationed at some beautiful larger and boutique 4- and 5-star hotels and, in comparison, we both agreed that while nice, the Mill Street Inn was simply too expensive for what it was. We had a first floor suite that overlooked the parking lot, and agree with others who said that the rooms seemed a little worn. The parking is quite tight, though the location is great. Staff at the front desk was certainly very responsive to any question or request we had, and breakfast was lovely, but overall, at $480. total per night, we would try other places with more amenities or services to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkerinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mill Street Inn in late July. This was our 4th time staying at the Mill Street Inn and it is one of our favorite destinations for a quick couples getaway. Pros: Great location within easy walking distance to the main shopping/tourist areas; small boutique hotel feel; charming mix of contemporary and historic design; great complimentary breakfast; rooftop sitting area with a beautiful view of the harbor; overall laid back, casual, peaceful vibe. Cons: Just minor ones: the furnishings in the rooms look a little tired; front desk staff not always knowledgeable re: where to go and what to do.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if that is important to you then best to stay on the first floor. Some town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Property: Mill Street Inn
Address: 75 Mill St, Newport, RI 02840-3147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Street Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing