We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, but currently hidden (2013)”
Review of Trinity Church

Trinity Church
Ranked #30 of 110 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Newport church where George Washington once attended.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,946 reviews
894 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 957 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but currently hidden (2013)”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Trinity Church is a gorgeous structure that sits right in the middle of downtown Newport, RI. It's tall white steeple is distinctively on display for all to see, and it's interior has been home to services since the 1600s. However, if you decide to visit, you should know that this exterior of this attraction is currently under "remodeling," with scaffolding covering almost the entire exterior of the building. I do not know when this is to be completed, but you will not enjoy the full view of the church until the scaffolding is removed. Still, it is a wonderful sight, and the services should still be running uninterrupted.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    32
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackstone, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A step Back in Time”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The little area around the church was great! There were old brick roads and old fashioned lamps for street lights. We walked through the cemetery, fascinated by how old some of those gravestones were! It was just interesting to take a step back in time for a while and view the beautiful old church.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
455 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“one of the oldest churches in new england”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Right on the main strip, yet centuries back in time.

Really nice cemetery on the premises followed by some awesome displays and history provided by volunteers who proved to be very knowledgeable and passionate about the church, it's history and the benefit it brings to the community.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank canadian_investor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west central Georgia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“simply beautiful!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A friend and I visited Trinity Church recently and found it to be lovely. The couple who gave tours obviously love their church and were so friendly to us as we toured. Many people know all about the mansions in Newport, but Newport has so much more to offer! This beautiful, historical church is one of the charming extras of Newport. A donation is greatly appreciated but not expected. However, once we made a donation, we received a booklet about the church. I felt that I received more than I gave!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frugal-Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

From our boat tour of the harbor we saw a beautiful white steeple and couldn't wait to go see what church had such an impressive steeple. We were pleasantly surprised to find this almost 300 year old church to explore

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Trinity Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing