We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, but not overly welcoming...”

IYRS School of Technology & Trades
Ranked #54 of 114 things to do in Newport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the oldest American yacht in existence and school where students restore classic yachts.
Rye, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not overly welcoming...”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I am interested in old wooden boats and in fact own one, so when in Newport recently It was a no brainer to call into the IYRS to have a look round. It was good to see the Coronet build. I think build is a more suitable word than restoration, as the entire construction is new! She may end up with some of the original interior and a few fittings, but hardly a restoration! The actual workshop building is interesting, having a gallery that you can watch the students working on various projects. It would have been really good if someone had welcomed us and perhaps discussed what was happening in more detail. So on the whole, an interesting visit, but could have been friendlier...

I would visit again, just to see how the Coronet is progressing. She's going to be a lovely vessel!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Wall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
469 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Must see for anyone interested in restoring boats - awesome!”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

They are restoring a boat from the 1800s and it is awesome to see. It only takes a few minutes to go through (and it’s free although they ask for a donation). They have boards that tell you the history of the boat they are restoring. Well worth seeing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We went to look at this as my husband loves anything to do with boats I'm normally not that interested but it was great to see the Coronet an old sailing ship being restored piece by piece I wish more places would do more restorations great to teach people new skills too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PBTHOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you are a sailing junkie, gotta visit IYRS!”
Reviewed 2 October 2010

My husband is a sailing junkie so we had to visit. The Coronet restoration is unbelievable and worth the time. It was free, didn't take too much time, and interesting - it also put hubby in a better frame of mind for the mansion tours!

Helpful?
Thank loribates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Acres of restored yachts”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I will admit my wife and I are ga-ga over beautiful sailing yachts especially the gorgeous older wooden ones like Herreshoffs and the like. The IYRS is dedicated to teaching wooden boat apprentice courses and at any one time they have examples of the most treasured older boats in their shop being taken completely apart and refitted back to their full glory. Most of the physical plant is sprawled over several acres of waterfront and is climate controlled. There are catwalks on the second floor of buildings to allow visitors a bird's eye view of the undertakings on the premises. And then there is Coronet! She is about a hundred feet of racing yacht from the days of the Vanderbilts (launched 1885) and indeed represents the gilded age of Newport itself. She is in her own building! Her complete restoration seems almost an astonishing ambition once you view her dismantled hulk which at this time is being evaluated before she is remanufactured. I understand funding is so immense a "white knight" has come to her rescue in the form of a businessman with personal finances brought to bear in seeing her place in history brought back for future generations to look at her in wonder. What a beautiful place doing beautiful woodwork of the highest order on historically significant boats from America's past. Worth a visit. If you are crazy about wood boats you simply can't afford to miss this exhibit.

Helpful?
1 Thank PoshHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IYRS School of Technology & Trades also viewed

 

Been to IYRS School of Technology & Trades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing